Rooney Mara biography

Rooney Mara

Date of Birth: April 17, 1985

Rooney Mara's first credits were guest appearances on television shows such as Law & Order: SVU, Women's Murder Club and ER. She appeared in the indie films Dare and The Winning Season, both of which debuted at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival, and played Francesca in the 2009 Toronto Film Festival entry Tanner Hall, but none of these were released to theaters.

She finally made it to the big screen alongside Michael Cera in Youth in Revolt (2009). Mara also starred in A Nightmare on Elm Street and The Social Network, a film about the founders of Facebook. For her leading role in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011), she received her first Academy Award nomination. She starred in Side Effects (2013) and Her (2013) and more recently, she starred in Pan (2015) alongside Hugh Jackman and Carol (2015) with Cate Blanchett. For her work in the latter movie, in which she plays a young store clerk wooed by an older lesbian, Rooney received an Academy Award and Golden Globe nomination.

Rooney is the founder of the non-profit organization Faces of Kibera, which provides critical care and assistance to poverty-stricken orphans in Kibera, Kenya.


Ain't Them Bodies Saints(2013)
Side Effects(2013)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo(2011)
Tanner Hall(2011)
A Nightmare on Elm Street(2010)
The Social Network(2010)
Youth in Revolt(2010)
The Winning Season(2009)
Dream Boy (2008)

Rooney Mara Filmography


Rooney Mara Photo