2018 Canadian Screen Awards – second night winners!

The cast of Schitt's CreekThe second night of the 2018 Canadian Screen Week continued on Wednesday evening at Toronto’s Westin Harbour Castle, hosted by award-winning actor Andrew Phung of the CBC series Kim’s Convenience.

Sponsored by Technicolor and Thunderbird Entertainment, the Gala honoured Excellence in Creative Fiction Storytelling, with 41 Canadian Screen Awards presented to Canada’s finest in writing, guest performance, supporting roles, casting, animation, and youth and children’s programming.

Veteran actor R.T. Thomson, who years earlier played the stuttering Jasper Dale on the CBC series Road to Avonlea based on the books by L.M. Montgomery, won for his role as Matthew Cuthbert in the new CBC/Netflix series Anne, a dark re-imagining of L.M. Montgomery’s bestselling novel, Anne of Green Gables.

Series based on the Anne of Green Gables books have been popular in the past year, with YTV also producing TV movies based on the novels. Teen actress Ella Ballentine won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Performance, Children’s or Youth for her role as Anne Shirley in the YTV televised movie L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire & Dew, while director John Kent Harrison also won for his work on the movie.

Martin Short, who hosted the inagural Canadian Screen Awards in 2013, won Best Performance, Animation for his voice performance as the title role in The Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About Halloween!

This year’s host, Andrew Phung, won the award for Best Supporting or Guest Actor, Comedy for his performance on Kim’s Convenience, while Emily Hampshire (pictured above with the rest of the Schitt’s Creek cast) won Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy for her work on Schitt’s Creek.

Critically acclaimed CBC/Netflix series Alias Grace won four awards, while Orphan Black won two, but more awards for these shows are expected during the ceremonies to come later this week. ~Alexandra Heilbron

Check out the full list of last night’s winners:

2018 Canadian Screen Awards Creative Fiction Storytelling Category Winners

Best Supporting Actor, Drama
R. H. Thomson, Anne (CBC/Netflix)

Best Supporting Actress, Drama
Allie MacDonald, Cardinal CTV (Bell Media)

Best Guest Performance, Drama Series
Steven McCarthy, Mary Kills People – The Judas Cradle Global (Corus Entertainment)

Best Performance, Children’s or Youth
Ella Ballentine, L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire & Dew  YTV (Corus Entertainment)

Best Performance, Animation
Martin Short, The Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About Halloween! Treehouse TV (Corus Entertainment)

Best Supporting or Guest Actor, Comedy
Andrew Phung, Kim’s Convenience – Cardboard Jung, Resting Place (CBC)

Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy
Emily Hampshire, Schitt’s Creek – New Car, The Throuple (CBC)

Best Pre-School Program or Series
PAW Patrol – TVOKids (TVO)
Laura Clunie, Ronnen Harary, Keith Chapman, Scott Kraft, Toni Stevens, Patricia Burns, Jonah Stroh

Best Animated Program or Series
Sponsor | Spin Master Entertainment
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – YTV (Corus Entertainment)
Lesley Jenner, Mark Evestaff, Steven Denure, Kirsten Newlands, Ken Faier, Asaph Fipke, Josh Scherba, Rick Mischel

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series
Odd Squad – TVOKids (TVO)
J.J. Johnson, Blair Powers, Matthew J.R. Bishop, Stephen J Turnbull, Tim McKeon, Mark De Angelis, Adam Peltzman, Paul Siefken

Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute
Jay Switzer

Best Photography, Comedy
Gerald Packer, Schitt’s Creek – Grad Night (CBC)

Best Photography, Drama
Steve Cosens, Cardinal CTV (Bell Media)

Best Picture Editing, Comedy
Mike Fly, Jeremy LaLonde, Baroness von Sketch Show – It Satisfies on a Very Basic Level (CBC)

Best Picture Editing, Drama
Teresa De Luca, Cardinal CTV (Bell Media)

Best Live Action Short Drama
Lee Filipovski, Fluffy

Best Animated Short
Matthew Rankin, Julie Roy, The Tesla World Light

Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction
Arv Greywal, Alias Grace (CBC)

Best Costume Design
Simonetta Mariano, Alias Grace (CBC)

Best Achievement in Make-Up
Sponsor | M•A•C Cosmetics
Stephen Lynch, Orphan Black – To Right the Wrongs of Many Space (Bell Media)

Best Visual Effects
Vikings – On The Eve History (Corus Entertainment)
Bill Halliday, Dominic Remane, Michael Borrett, Paul Wishart, Ovidiu Cinazan, Jim Maxwell, Kieran McKay, Isabelle Alles, Thomas Morrison, Leann Harvey

Best Achievement in Casting
Jon Comerford, Lisa Parasyn, Cardinal CTV (Bell Media)

Humanitarian Award, supported by MLSE
Bell Let’s Talk

Best Sound, Animation
PAW Patrol – Mission PAW: Quest for the Crown TVOKids (TVO)
Richard Spence-Thomas, Tim Muirhead, Kyle Peters, Patton Rodrigues, Ryan Ongaro

Best Sound, Fiction
Vikings – The Reckoning History (Corus Entertainment)
Martin Lee, Ian Rankin, Daniel Birch, Brent Pickett, Dale Sheldrake, Steve Medeiros, Brennan Mercer, Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Goro Koyama, Yuri Gorbachow

Best Original Music, Animation
Steffan Andrews, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – Bacon Girl YTV (Corus Entertainment)

Best Original Music, Fiction
Todor Kobakov, Cardinal CTV (Bell Media)

Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy
Baroness von Sketch Show – It Satisfies on a Very Basic Level (CBC)
Carolyn Taylor, Meredith MacNeill, Aurora Browne, Jennifer Whalen, Jennifer Goodhue, Monica Heisey, Mae Martin, Zoe Whittall

Best Writing, Comedy
Jacob Tierney, Jared Keeso, Letterkenny – Relationships CraveTV (Bell Media)

Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series
Sarah Polley, Alias Grace (CBC)

Best Writing, Drama Series
Graeme Manson, Renee St. Cyr, Orphan Black – To Right The Wrongs of Many Space (Bell Media)

Best Writing, Children’s or Youth
Adam Peltzman, Tim McKeon, Odd Squad – Drop Gadget Repeat / 20 Questions TVOKids (TVO)

Best Writing, Animation
Sean Jara, Mysticons – Sisters in Arms YTV (Corus Entertainment)

Margaret Collier Award, supported by Halfire Entertainment
Denis McGrath

Best Direction, Animation
Charles E. Bastien, PAW Patrol – Mission PAW: Quest for the Crown TVOKids (TVO)

Best Direction, Children’s or Youth
John Kent Harrison, L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire & Dew YTV (Corus Entertainment)

Best Direction, Variety or Sketch Comedy
Yael Staav, Baroness von Sketch Show – It Satisfies on a Very Basic Level (CBC)

Best Direction, Comedy
Sponsor | Cinespace Film Studios
Jacob Tierney, Letterkenny – The Election CraveTV (Bell Media)

Best Direction, Drama Program or Limited Series
Mary Harron, Alias Grace (CBC)

Best Direction, Drama Series
Sponsor | Playback
Holly Dale, Mary Kills People – The River Styx Global (Corus Entertainment)

Best Sketch Comedy Program or Series
Baroness von Sketch Show (CBC)
Jamie Brown, Carolyn Taylor, Meredith MacNeill, Aurora Browne, Jennifer Whalen

Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. Janice • March 10, 2018 @ 6:58 AM

    The Anne YTV movies are cute. But that series is awful. Not like the books at all. The books are uplifting. Whereas the series is depressing.

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • Ad Astra releases this week. What's your favorite space movie?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu