Canadian Screen nominations announced – Room leads with 11 nods

Room movie poster starring Brie Larson and Jacob TremblayThe nominees for the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards were announced today – and they include Oscar nominees such as Room and Brooklyn. Room leads with 11 nominations, including best motion picture, best screenplay and nods for the stars: Brie Larson (Best Actress in a Leading Role) and Canadian child star Jacob Tremblay (Best Actor in a Leading Role).

Paul Gross‘s latest feature film, Hyena Road, earned eight nominations, but only in the craft categories, though Hyena Road star Rossif Sutherland was nominated for his lead role in the indie film River.

The CSA nominations in 132 categories (24 film, 101 in television and 7 in digital media) were announced today at simultaneous press conferences in Toronto and Montreal.

The Canadian Screen Awards will be hosted by funnyman Norm Macdonald and will air live on CBC-TV, March 13, at 8pm (9 AT | 9:30 NT), from the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto, Ontario.



Nominees in the Film categories:

Best Motion Picture
My Internship in Canada
The Demons
Félix & Meira
The Forbidden Room
Our Loved Ones/Les êtres chers
Sleeping Giant

Lenny Abrahamson – Room
Philippe Lesage – The Demons
Maxime Giroux – Felix and Meira
Anne Émond – Our Loved Ones
Andrew Cividino – Sleeping Giant

Adapted Screenplay
Emma Donoghue – Room
Josh Epstein, Kyle Rideout – Eadweard
Wiebke von Carolsfeld – The Saver

Original Screenplay
André Turpin – Endorphine
Philippe Falardeau – My Internship in Canada
Anne Émond – Our Loved Ones
Benjamin August – Remember
Matt Hansen – Zoom

Actor in a Leading Role
Christopher Plummer – Remember
Rossif Sutherland – River
Jacob Tremblay – Room
Maxim Gaudette – Our Loved Ones
Jasmin Geljo – The Waiting Room

Actress in a Leading Role
Brie Larson – Room
Leah Goldstein – Diamond Tongues
Hadas Yaron – Felix and Meira
Karelle Tremblay – Our Loved Ones
Céline Bonnier – The Passion of Augustine

Actor in a Supporting Role
Waris Ahluwalia – Beeba Boys
Tony Nardi – Corbo
Irdens Exantus – My Internship in Canada
Nick Serino – Sleeping Giant
Patrick Hivon – Ville-Marie

Actress in a Supporting Role
Joan Allen – Room
Cynthia Ashperger – The Waiting Room
Balinder Johal – Beeba Boys
Mylène Mackay – Endorphine
Christine Beaulieu – The Mirage

Art Direction / Production Design
Louisa Schabas – Felix and Meira | Félix et Meira
Galen Johnson, Brigitte Henry, Chris Lavis, Maciek Szczerbowski – The Forbidden Room
Ken Rempel, Kathy McCoy, Erik Gerlund – Forsaken
Arv Greywal, Steve Shewchuk, Larry Spittle – Hyena Road
Ethan Tobman, Mary Kirkland – Room

Yves Bélanger – Brooklyn
Sara Mishara – Felix and Meira
Rene Ohashi – Forsaken
Karim Hussain – Hyena Road
Danny Cohen – Room

Costume Design
Joanne Hansen – Beeba Boys
Judy Jonker – Corbo
Christopher Hargadon – Forsaken
Katelynd Johnston – Hyena Road
Arabella Bushnell – Songs She Wrote About People She Knows

Nathan Nugent – Room
Renee Beaulieu – Adrien
David Wharnsby – Hyena Road
Mathieu Bouchard-Malo – Our Loved Ones
James Vandewater – Sleeping Giant

Catherine Beaudoin – Anna
David Scott, Trina Brink – Backcountry
Gail Kennedy, Rochelle Parrent, Jojo Preece – Forsaken
Jayne Dancose, Debra Johnson, Charles Porlier – Hyena Road
Sid Armour – Room

Music – Original Score
Stephen Rennicks – Room
Michael Brook – Brooklyn
Michel Corriveau – Anna
François Dompierre – The Passion of Augustine
Chris Gestrin – Songs She Wrote About People She Knows

Music – Original Song
Peter Katz, Karen Kowsowski – 88 – “Where the Light Used to Be”
Martin Léon – Our Loved Ones – “Red and Yellow”
Noah Reid – People Hold On – “People Hold On”
Jenny Salgado – Scratch – A Hip-opera – “C’est aujourd’hui que je sors”
Kris Elgstrand – Songs She Wrote About People She Knows – “Asshole Dave”

Overall Sound
Sylvain Brassard, Arnaud Têtu, Pascal Van Strydonck, Olivier Léger – Adrien
Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Daniel Bisson, Jean-Charles Desjardins, François Grenon – Endorphine
Lou Solakofski, Ian Rankin, Joe Morrow, Russ Dyck, Graham Rogers, James Bastable, André Azoubel, Don
White, Jack Hereen – Hyena Road
Lou Solakofski, Kirk Lynds, Kristian Bailey, Don White, Jack Heeren, Rob Coxford, Peter Caristedt – Into The
Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Daniel Bisson, Claude La Haye, Benoît Leduc – My Internship in Canada

Sound Editing
Benoît Dame – Adrien
Sylvain Bellemare, Claire Pochon, Jérôme Décarie, François Senneville – Endorphine
Mark Gingras, Jill Purdy – Forsaken
John Gurdebeke, David Rose – The Forbidden Room
Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Martin Gwynn Jones, Barry Gilmore, David Evans, Dave Rose, Brennan
Mercer, Ed Douglas, Kevin Banks, Goro Koyama, Andy Malcolm – Hyena Road

Visual Effects
Darren Wall – Borealis
Alain Lachance, Eve Brunet – Endorphine
Phil Jones, Sarah Wormsbecher, Eric Doiron, Anthony DeChellis, Lon Molnar, Geoff D.E. Scott, Nathan
Larouche, Mark Fordham – Hyena Road
Eric Doiron, Sarah Wormsbecher, Nathan Larouche, Anthony DeChellis, Geoff D.E. Scott, Jason Snea, Joel
Chambers, Kaiser Thomas, Lon Molnar, Rob Kennedy – Remember
Marcelo Alves de Souza, Paulo Barcellos, Adams Carvalho, George Schall, Luis Dourado, Emerson Bonadias,
Diego Moreira, Luciano Santa Barbara, Thiago Sá, Luis Dreyfuss – Zoom


Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. There are no comments yet, why not be the first?

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • Which is your favorite horror film to watch for Halloween?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu