Denzel Washington to receive Cecil B. DeMille award at Golden Globes

Denzel WashingtonDenzel Washington, 60, will receive the Cecil B. DeMille award at the 2016 Golden Globes.

The actor – who has won a number of awards including two Golden Globes, a Tony, a BAFTA, a Grammy and two Oscars during his distinguished career – will be honored at the ceremony in Los Angeles in January.

Lorenzo Soria, the President of the Hollywood Foreign Press Awards, explained they had chosen the actor because: ”Washington’s long and storied career is earmarked by his countless roles in front and behind the camera.”

He added: ”It is the HFPA’s privilege to honor his contributions to the entertainment industry with the Cecil B. DeMille Award.”

The award is chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors and Denzel follows in a long line of stars who have previously been honored.

George Clooney was the 2015 recipient while others who have won the award include Woody Allen, Jodie Foster, Morgan Freeman, Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Robin Williams, Michael Douglas, Al Pacino, Harrison Ford and Barbara Streisand.

Denzel will be honored at the 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards on January 10, 2016, hosted by Ricky Gervais.

Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. There are no comments yet, why not be the first?

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • Who is your favorite People's Sexiest Man Alive?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu