Hunger Games: Mockingjay to be split in two

Lionsgate announced this past Tuesday that Mockingjay, the final installment in The Hunger Games trilogy, will be split in two parts. This follows the same pattern as the Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hobbit films, meaning that the movies will be released a year apart. The first part is set to be released November 21, 2014 and the second November 20, 2015. Jennifer Lawrence, who plays the lead female role as Katniss, as well as the rest of the cast are eager to work with director Francis Lawrence who is replacing director Gary Ross. In regards to the new director, Lawrence commented, “I really like his take, which is a lot of what I liked in Gary Ross. It’s the realistic grasp of the story instead of all the details of the imaginary things.” The filming of the second movie in the trilogy, Catching Fire, is set to begin this fall. ~Isabelle Khoo

Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. Sparky • July 11, 2012 @ 5:39 PM

    Figures, let just milk the public for all we can take!

  2. Dividis • July 11, 2012 @ 7:31 PM

    Hunger Games ripped off a Japanese movies called Battle Royale!!

  3. Callie • August 6, 2012 @ 4:08 PM

    Everyone says hunger games is a rip off of a movie called Battle Royale, but if you watch Battle royale or read the book or manga it’s only similar cause kids are trapped somewhere and forced to kill oneanother. Their have been plenty of movies with children killing eachother the release date of the hunger games just happened to be close to the release date of the english version of battle royale.

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • Dwayne Johnson stars in Skyscraper. What's your favorite Dwayne Johnson movie?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu