Schitt’s Creek leads Canadian Screen Award nominations

By Alexandra Heilbron on March 30, 2021 | Leave a Comment

The Canadian Screen Award nominations were announced by The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television this morning.

For the third year in a row, the comedy series Schitt’s Creek led the nominations. The Toronto-filmed show, which gained attention from the U.S. when it won two Golden Globes earlier this year and swept the 2020 Primetime Emmys, was nominated for 21 awards this year, including best comedy series, and best writing and best direction for a comedy.

Dan Levy and his father Eugene Levy both were nominated in the best lead actor in a comedy category, while Catherine O’Hara and Annie Murphy received nods for best lead actress.

Tied for 15 nominations each are the crime/drama series Cardinal and the mystery/drama Trickster. Ironically, all three shows are no longer in production. Schitt’s Creek concluded last year after six seasons, while Cardinal ended its four-season run last year and Trickster was canceled earlier this year after only one season. Beloved Canadian actor Christopher Plummer received a posthumous nomination for his supporting role in the drama series Departure, filmed in Toronto.

In the movie categories, Blood Quantum received the most nominations at 10 (although not Best Picture), while Deepa Mehta’s Funny Boy received nine, including Best Picture. There are 141 categories in film, television, and digital media categories. We include a list of the nominees in the main categories below.

Canadian Screen Award nominees for 2021:


Best Motion Picture
Funny Boy
Nadia, Butterfly
The Nest
Underground / Souterrain

Achievement in Cinematography
Maya Bankovic – Akilla’s Escape
Marie Davignon – Beans
Michel St-Martin – Blood Quantum
James Klopko, CSC – A Fire In The Cold Season
Stéphanie Wiber Biron – Nadia, Butterfly

Achievement in Direction
Deepa Mehta – Funny Boy
Pascal Plante – Nadia, Butterfly
Sean Durkin – The Nest
Brandon Cronenberg – Possessor
Sophie Dupuis – Underground | Souterrain

Performance By an Actor in a Leading Role
Saul Williams – Akilla’s Escape
Michael Greyeyes – Blood Quantum
Alex Wolff – Castle in the Ground
Lance Henriksen – Falling
Joakim Robillard – Underground | Souterrain

Performance By an Actor in a Supporting Role
Thamela Mpumlwana – Akilla’s Escape
Ronnie Rowe, Jr. – Akilla’s Escape
Stephen McHattie – Come to Daddy
Colm Feore – Sugar Daddy
Jesse LaVercombe – Violation

Performance By an Actress in a Leading Role
Michelle Pfeiffer – French Exit
Carrie Coon – The Nest
Carmen Moore – Rustic Oracle
Rosalie Pépin – Vacarme
Madeleine Sims-Fewer – Violation

Performance By an Actress in a Supporting Role
Amy Groening – Bone Cage
Agam Darshi – Funny Boy
Mary Walsh – Happy Place
Micheline Lanctôt – Laughter | Le rire
Felicity Huffman – Tammy’s Always Dying

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary
The Forbidden Reel – Ariel Nasr, Sergeo Kirby, Kat Baulu, Annette Clarke
Stateless – Michèle Stephenson, Jennifer Holness, Lea Marin, Anita Lee, Joe Brewster, Sudz Sutherland
Wandering: A Rohingya Story | Errance sans retour – Mélanie Carrier, Olivier Higgins
A Woman, My Mother | Une femme, ma mère – Claude Demers
The World is Bright – Ying Wang, Jian Ping Su, Jordan Paterson


Best Drama Series
Burden of Truth
Cardinal: Until The Night

Best Comedy Series
Baroness Von Sketch Show
Kim’s Convenience
Schitt’s Creek
Workin’ Moms

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series
Peter Mooney, Burden of Truth
Billy Campbell, Cardinal: Until The Night
Roger Cross, Coroner
Hamza Haq, Transplant
Joel Oulette, Trickster

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series
Kristen Kreuk, Burden of Truth
Karine Vanasse, Cardinal: Until the Night )
Vinessa Antoine, Diggstown
Crystale Lightning, Trickster
Melanie Scrofano, Wynonna Earp

Best Supporting Actor, Drama Series
Evan Buliung, Departure
Christopher Plummer, Departure
Jonny Harris, Murdoch Mysteries
Joel Thomas Hynes, Trickster
Kalani Queypo, Trickster

Best Supporting Actor, Drama Series
Tamara Podemski, Coroner
Sharron Matthews, Frankie Drake Mysteries
Anna Lambe, Trickster
Georgina Lightning, Trickster
Gail Maurice, Trickster

Best Lead Actor, Comedy Series
Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience
Jared Keeso, Letterkenny
Daniel Levy, Schitt’s Creek
Eugene Levy, Schitt’s Creek

Best Lead Actress, Comedy Series
Jean Yoon, Kim’s Convenience
Annie Murphy, Schitt’s Creek
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
Dani Kind, Workin’ Moms
Catherine Reitman, Workin’ Moms

Best Supporting Actor, Comedy Series
Andrew Phung, Kim’s Convenience
Chris Elliott, Schitt’s Creek
Noah Reid, Schitt’s Creek
Ryan Belleville, Workin’ Moms
Peter Keleghan, Workin’ Moms

Best Supporting Actress, Comedy Series
Emily Hampshire, Schitt’s Creek
Jennifer Robertson, Schitt’s Creek
Karen Robinson, Schitt’s Creek
Sarah McVie, Workin’ Moms
Juno Rinaldi, Workin’ Moms

Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series
Be Afraid: The Science of Fear
Pass The Salt
She Walks with Apes
Striking Balance
Takaya: Lone Wolf

Best TV Movie
Christmas Jars
Glass Houses
No Good Deed
The Sanctuary

Best Reality Show/Competition Program or Series
Battle of the Blades
Canada’s Drag Race 
Dragons’ Den
The Great Canadian Baking Show
Wall of Chefs

Best Lifestyle Program or Series
Carnival Eats
Mary’s Kitchen Crush
Property Brothers: Forever Home
Restaurants on the Edge
Scott’s Vacation House Rules

Comments & Discussion

  1. There are no comments yet, why not be the first?

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Canadian Screen Awards 2021: Beans, Blood Quantum win big

May 21, 2021 | Leave a Comment

Tracey Deer’s film Beans won best film at the ninth annual Canadian Screen Awards Other winners included Schitt’s Creek, Kim’s Convenience and Blood Quantum.

Canadian Screen Awards 2021: News, Documentary, Lifestyle and Reality

May 18, 2021 | Leave a Comment

On Monday night, the Canadian Screen Awards announced the first set of winners in News & Documentary and Lifestyle & Reality. Check out the list of winners.

Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary nominees

March 31, 2021 | Leave a Comment

The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television has announced the nominees for the Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series.

 Change Location