Will Ferrell wins Mark Twain Prize for humor

Comedian Will Ferrell, 44, was awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor — the top comedy award in the U.S. — Sunday night at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Former recipients of The Mark Twain Prize, first introduced in 1998, include Tina Fey, Steve Martin, Bill Cosby, Richard Pryor and Billy Crystal. When Ferrell went on stage to accept the award, he told the crowd he’d turned it down 13 times but finally accepted it because of the prize money involved (there isn’t any), joking that he knew the event would be broadcast on PBS and would therefore be seen “by hundreds of people across this country.” Conan O’Brien, Jack Black, Matthew Broderick, Ben Stiller, Molly Shannon, Tim MeadowsPaul Rudd and Andy Samberg were onhand for the ceremony, which will be broadcast on PBS October 31st.

Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. C-Dub • October 25, 2011 @ 6:41 PM

    Well deserved. This is just my opinion. VERY funny guy and if you don’t think so, then watch Anchorman. Really pay attention. Great movie taking chauvenism (spelling?) of that era to the extreme and making it hilarious from start to finish.

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • Besides Joker, which Marvel or DC villain deserves their own movie?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu