Barbet Schroeder biography

Barbet Schroeder

Date of Birth: August 26, 1941

Born in Teheran, Iran, Schroeder studied philosophy at Sorbonne University in Paris, and started his career writing criticism for the famous film journal, Cahiers du Cinéma. He then received an opportunity to work as an assistant trainee to director Jean-Luc Godard for the film, Les Carabiniers (1963). The experience led him to work on his own short black and white 16mm films, and establish his own production company, Les Films du Losange.

At his new company, Schroeder produced two films by director Eric Rohmer, La boulagère de Monceau (in which he also had a starring role) and La carrière de Suzanne. After producing, appearing in and assisting with several other films, Schroeder directed his first feature, More, in 1969.

Through the next decade, he became known not only in Europe, but in North America for his work on documentaries like General Idi Amin Dada (1976), and Koko, the Talking Gorilla (1977) as well as the feature films Le Vallée (1972), and the controversial Maîtresse (1976) starring Gerard Depardieu (he wrote the latter two).

He made his first film, Barfly, in the U.S. in the mid-1980s, which was a critical success. He solidified his directing reputation with an Oscar and a Golden Globe nominated film, Reversal of Fortune (1990), starring Jeremy Irons and Glenn Close. His name once again hit the media with his greatest commercial success in the 20th century, Single White Female (1992), a thriller that followed a disturbed woman who begins to adopt the persona of her roommate.

Barbet Schroeder Filmography



  • Murder By Numbers (2002)
  • Our Lady Of The Assassins (2001)
  • Desperate Measures (1998)
  • Shattered Image (1998)
  • Before and After (1996)
  • Kiss of Death (1995)
  • Never Talk to Strangers (1995)
  • Single White Female (1992)
  • Barfly (1987)
  • Perceval le Gallois (1978)
  • Koko, the Talking Gorilla (1977)
  • The Marquise of O (1976)
  • Phantom Ladies Over Paris (1974)
  • L'Amour l'après-midi (1972)
  • Le Genou de Claire (1970)
  • Ma nuit chez Maud (1969)
  • More (1969)
  • La collectionneuse (1967)
  • Paris vu par... (1965)
  • La boulangère de Monceau (1963)
  • La carrière de Suzanne (1963)

Barbet Schroeder Photo