Isla Fisher biography

Nocturnal Animals

Isla Fisher

Date of Birth: February 3, 1976

Because of her father's job as a banker for the United Nations, Isla Fisher, who is of Scottish descent, was born in the Middle Eastern country of Oman. A few years after her birth, the family moved to Australia, where she grew up in Perth. At the age of nine, Isla began working as a professional actress, starting first in TV commercials. By the time she was 17, she was playing regular roles in hit Australian TV series such as Paradise Beach and Home and Away.

Isla took a break to study acting in Paris, then moved to London where she appeared in stage productions, on television and in film, making her debut playing "Australian Girl #1" in the small budget movie Out of Depth (2000). Back in Australia, she played Mary Jane in the major American motion picture Scooby-Doo (2002), starring Sarah Michelle Gellar. On the basis of her work in the film, Fisher landed an American agent and moved to Los Angeles.

She progressively found herself getting larger roles in I Heart Huckabees (2004) starring Mark Wahlberg and Naomi Watts, Wedding Crashers (2005) with Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn, Definitely, Maybe (2008) opposite Ryan Reynolds and Abigail Breslin and finally, the lead role in Confessions of a Shopaholic (2009). She provided a voice for the animated features Rango (2011), starring Johnny Depp and Rise of the Guardians with Hugh Jackman, Alec Baldwin and Chris Pine. She also appears in The Great Gatsby (2013) alongside Leonardo DiCaprio. More recently, she was seen in films such as The Brothers Grimsby (2016), Keeping Up with Joneses (2016), Tag (2018) and The Beach Bum (2019).

The author of two bestselling novels, "Seduced By Fame" and "Bewitched," Isla is currently working on her first screenplay. She divides her time between in London and Los Angeles and lives with husband, actor Sasha Baron Cohen, and their three children: Olive, Elula and Montgomery.

Isla Fisher Filmography


Nocturnal Animals

Genre:  Drama, Thriller
Running Time:  116 min.
Release Date:
November 18, 2016 (limited) - Toronto
November 25, 2016 - Vancouver, Montreal

December 9, 2016 - Wide
DVD: February 21, 2017
Blu-ray: February 21, 2017
Digital: February 7, 2017
Netflix: February 1, 2019

Current rating: Rating: 3.13
based on 68 votes and 21 reviews
Rate Movie | Read all user reviews

Cast: Amy Adams, Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Shannon, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Isla Fisher, Karl Glusman, Armie Hammer, Laura Linney, Andrea Riseborough, Michael Sheen