Jim Sturgess biography


Jim Sturgess

Date of Birth: May 16, 1978

Jim Sturgess grew up in a small town just outside London England. He was interested in performing at a young age and in 1993, joined the National Youth Music Theatre, where he got the opportunity to perform a variety of roles.

In 1994, Sturgess made his professional screen debut in the British film The Browning Version, starring Albert Finney. He then went on to become a graduate of the University of Salford's School of Media, Music and Performance. In 1999 his career began to heat up with appearances in two episodes of The Scarlett Pimpernell, followed by a series of appearances on other shows, including a regular role on the TV series The Residents.

He played opposite Ellen Page in Mouth to Mouth (2005), as members of a cult. But his big breakthrough came in Across the Universe (2007), featuring the music of The Beatles and co-starring Evan Rachel Wood. The movie was a hit, especially among the younger crowd, and Sturgess suddenly began to find himself in demand, with four 2008 releases under his belt: The Other Boleyn Girl with Natalie Portman; a lead role in 21, also starring Kate Bosworth; Crossing Over with Harrison Ford and Sean Penn, and Fifty Dead Men Walking opposite Ben Kingsley.

He then starred in One Day (2011), alongside Anne Hathaway. In 2012, he starred alongside Tom Hanks and Halle Berry in the sci-fi film Cloud Atlas. He then starred as the lead in Upside (2013) alongside Kirsten Dunst. Most recently, he appeared in Geostorm (2017).

Sturgess lives in London, England.

Jim Sturgess Filmography



Genre:  Action/Adventure, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Thriller
Running Time:  109 min.
Release Date: October 20, 2017
Digital: January 2, 2018
DVD/Blu-ray: January 23, 2018

Current rating: Rating: 3.29
based on 160 votes and 50 reviews
Rate Movie | Read all user reviews

Cast: Gerard Butler, Jim Sturgess, Abbie Cornish, Alexandra Maria Lara, Daniel Wu, Eugenio Derbez, Amr Waked, Andy Garcia, Ed Harris, Robert Sheehan