Melissa Leo biography

Olympus Has Fallen

Melissa Leo

Date of Birth: September 14, 1960

Melissa Chessington Leo, aka Margaret May II or Margaret May is an Academy Award-nominated actress best known for playing the tough-minded Detective Sgt. Kay Howard on the award-winning TV series Homicide: Life on the Street from 1993 to 1997. She has also been a regular on All My Children and The Young Riders.

Feature films she has appeared in include A Time of Destiny (1988), Last Summer in the Hamptons (1995), 21 Grams (2003) and The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (2005). In 2009, she was nominated for the Best Actress Oscar for her performance in Frozen River (2008). She won a Golden Globe and the Oscar for Best Supporting actress in 2011 for The Fighter , in which she played Mark Wahlberg's mother, even though she's less than 11 years older. She followed this up with a starring role alongside Denzel Washington in The Equalizer (2014). More recently, she starred in the ensemble financial drama The Big Short (2015), the sequel London Has Fallen , reprising her role as Ruth Macmillan; and the political biopic Snowden (2016) starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt. She played the Reverend Mother in the film Novitiate (2017) and reprised her role as Susan Plummer in The Equalizer 2 (2018).

Melissa Leo Filmography


Olympus Has Fallen

Genre:  Action/Adventure, Drama, Thriller
Running Time:  120 min.
Release Date: March 22, 2013
DVD: August 13, 2013

Current rating: Rating: 3.75
based on 218 votes and 83 reviews
Rate Movie | Read all user reviews

Cast: Gerard Butler, Aaron Eckhart, Morgan Freeman, Angela Bassett, Robert Forster, Cole Hauser, Ashley Judd, Melissa Leo, Dylan McDermott, Radha Mitchell, Rick Yune