Toby Jones biography

The Messenger:The Story Of Joan Arc

Toby Jones

Date of Birth: September 7, 1967

Born in Oxford, England, Toby Jones is the son of Freddie Jones, a British character actor who has appeared in many films and TV shows. Toby's mother also comes from a theatrical background.

Toby trained at the Ecole Internationale du Theatre in Paris under Jacques Lecoq and began his career on the stage. Although he would make the leap to film and television, he returns to the boards frequently, including appearing on Broadway in the hit play The Play What I Wrote in 2003 after winning the 2002 Laurence Olivier Theatre Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his performance in the London production.

Toby made his motion picture debut in the period piece Orlando (1992) starring Tilda Swinton. Small roles in a variety of films followed, including playing the doorkeeper in Les Miserables (1998). In Ever After (1999), starring Drew Barrymore, he was at his scene-stealing best as the Royal Page.

He went on to appear on TV in productions such as the critically-acclaimed A&E/BBC mini-series Victoria & Albert (2001) and the HBO/Channel 4 production Elizabeth I (2005) with Helen Mirren and Jeremy Irons, as well the feature films Finding Neverland (2004), Mrs. Henderson Presents (2005) and Infamous (2006), in which he played his first starring role as Truman Capote. He also provided the voice of Dobby the house elf in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002) and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I (2010).

Other projects include the role of Claudius Templesmith in The Hunger Games (2012) and Coll, one of the dwarves, in Snow White & the Huntsman (2012). He has also appeared in The Man Who Knew Infinity (2016), Alice Through the Looking Glass (2016), Kaleidoscope (2016) and Atomic Blonde (2017), alongside Charlize Theron. His latest roles are in the WWI drama Journey's End (2018) and Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018). He also provides the voice of Owl in the Disney film Christopher Robin (2018).

Toby lives in London with his wife Karen, who is a criminal lawyer, and their two children.

Toby Jones Filmography


The Messenger:The Story Of Joan Arc

Genre:  Drama
Running Time:  140 min.
Release Date: November 12, 1999

Current rating: Rating: 4.15
based on 619 votes and 11 reviews
Rate Movie | Read all user reviews

Cast: John Malkovich, Faye Dunaway, Dustin Hoffman, Milla Jovovich, Kevin De La Noy, Desmond Harrington, Tcheky Karyo, Toby Jones