A Man Called Otto - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.49 / 5

User Rating User rating: 4.49

Based on 152 votes and 64 reviews


  • User rating: 4.49 77.63%
  • User rating: 4.49 7.89%
  • User rating: 4.49 6.58%
  • User rating: 4.49 1.32%
  • User rating: 4.49 6.58%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 64

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2023

No blood or guts. Just a nice sentimental show.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2023

There was someone you know in many of the characters in this movie. Tom Hanks leads the way with his acting and timing.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2023

It was a real movie about things that really happen in real life. It was funny and true to age of characters..

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2023

I could personally identify with everything.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2023

Tom Hanks great acting once again. A grumpy old man dealing with real life issues, yet he takes time to help his neighbors all of them no matter who they are or where they are from. Good example of LOVE THY NEIGHBOR.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2023

It was funny!! It was deep! It was entertaining! It was emotional!! Yep I got teary Eyed!!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2023

The relationship between Marisol and Otto. Ups and downs, just like in real life.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2023

Themes of grief and caring are handled beautifully. Outstanding performances by Tom Hanks and Marisa Trevino.

User review rating: 4 January 30, 2023

The wife said Tom Hanks made a movie about me I'm flattered I think

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2023

The story line. It was factual and life like. People deal with their life’s hardships and good times in a variety of ways. There is no right or wrong. Great movie, I really enjoyed it!

User review rating: 4 January 29, 2023

I really liked this movie. I especially liked the character of Marisol. Marisol and Otto complimented each other nicely.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2023

I read the book years ago, thought it excellent and went to see the movie opening day. Again, excellent--Tom Hanks and Mariana Trevino (Marisol) were both outstanding. Our world is full of people with "quirks/flaws" yet they are kind and show compassion to others. This theme resounds throughout the book and movie and is a potential learning lesson for all of us living in these troubling times.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2023

I was looking forward to this movie but it’s a snoozer and down in the dumps feeling. Sad movies ok but extremely boring. Wasted my time with this junk.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2023

I would have never guessed what the real plot of this movie was from the trailer and if I did, I would have not gone to see it !This movie is depressing! A few one liners don't make a comedy! It is about illness, death, tragedy invasion of privacy, and greed. In fact there were 4 illnesses. Not sure what the man had, sitting appearing to be in a vegetable state. His wife was diagnosed with Parkinsons, but had no signs of it. Ottos wife dies of cancer and Otto dies of a large heart, which he probably would have died during the four attempts to kill himself in reality. Also not funny. Tragedy-death of a baby and the paralysis of his wife and who know how the rest the passengers in the bus faired? Not funny. It does not promote family, for the exception of marriage-but no friends, grandparents, parents, aunts, uncles, cousins, friends from work, friends from hobbies, organizations. I hate movies like this. Unless you are an orphan you have family and even an orphan will make friends. Do people isolate themselves, yes. hermits do this, excentricts, but a man is not neurotic who keeps a street clean by separating the trash bin and keeping the gate locked and shovels his sidewalk in the winter. Not really a neurosis, since these would be common concerns of any homeowners. Also, not really funny. I hate movies which promote the giving of ones wealth to new acquantenances who just happen to be nice and do not need it because they are employed. Also, this movie has another plot- developers who actually succeed multiple times or attempt to continue to destroy either the environment or peoples lives for new housing. Those were pretty nice townhomes. What year was this anyway? Oh, and HIPPA ACT, since when can a developer locate andaccess medical files on all of its tenants; ousting homeowners unlawfully. Really? I thought the El Salvadorian/Mexican lady was the best actor. This is also a low budget, amatuer knock off of Grand Torino by Clint Eastwood.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2023

LOVED the actors, story line and the cat! This movie made me crack up and burst into tears in the 2 hours it played. Loved it! I am going back to see it again. I had listened to the Books on Tape (A Man Named Ove) and didn't know they made a movie out of it. It was fantastic!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2023

Loved this movie. From start to finish it held my attention. Never read the book so didn't know what to expect. Tom Hanks is a great actor and deserves an award for his role. Not sure what movie all the negative Nellie's watched but their loss. I wanted to watch it again the second it was over.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2023

I don't understand the negative remarks as my husband & son really enjoyed this movie!! It had everything in it such as funny lines & characters, sad emotional lines, and most of all lots of life choices. I truly love Tom Hank's acting and the woman who played Marina (I think) was just right for the part with her pushy but loving ways and lovely accent. It was hard not to cry during some scenes. Go see this movie it will lift you up but will make you think about your life choices!!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2023

Made me laugh and made me cry. It was kind of a single version of Grumpy Old Men. Tom Hanks of course, is superb. Truman and Mariana were also great. Enjoyed this immensely.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2023

The film funny and yet has a deep meaning about community and not isolating oneself from others. I am not a big movie goer, but this film is worth seeing!!!

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2023

A great American adaptation of the Swedish book??

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2023

The 2nd half of the movie is partially about a transgender & Otto’s relationship with one. Otto also tries to commit suicide several times, but finds his neighbors, people need him & he has a purpose.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

Was a wonderful movie! Went to a Saturday matinee so the price was great. The theater was cold because there was no heat. We were told beforehand and we were already there decide to stay . We just kept our coats on. The show was well worth watching Management couldn’t have been more apologetic about the heat not working.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

I loved it and Tom Hanks is such a great actor!! It made me laugh and made me cry.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2023

this movie is excellent, we really enjoyed it, its so good to actually see a rrreally good movie, very happy, would watch it again,

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2023

The movie is excellent. However the prices are outrageous and my daughter and I were freezing in the theater. My advice would not go during this cold weather. We went at 3 o'clock on Saturday and there were only a handful of people there, I suggest that they turn the heat up, if they want return business. We did love the movie though.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

I went to the movie today; “ A Man Called Otto” the cast was Tom Hanks, Mariana Trevino, and several others. I laughed until tears ran down my face and cried like a baby in other parts. The movie was a bag of mixed emotions. As always, Tom Hanks was a superb actor as was Mariana Trevino. Would I watch it again, most definitely. It was a movie most of us at one time or other in our life will encounter.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

Great movie will see again.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2023

Best movie for me in a long time. I liked even better than the latest Top Gun.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2023

Bring tissues, great acting, funny too. Otto deals with grief, yet he helps all his neighbors while being a grumpy senior. Not award winning. Has a good heart.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

I read the book when it first came out and loved it! The movie was excellent. You laughed and you cried! Tom Hanks, as usual, was excellent. There are only "pros", no "cons".!

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

Excellent movie. The Hanks family did a great job. Tom Hanks, Truman Hanks and Rita Wilson.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

I loved the book a man called Ove, and this is a very good representation of it. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

What a heart warming and heart touching movie! Tom Hanks again at his best. Wonderful to watch too is Truman Hanks, great talent too. We saw it with friends and all were excited. The cinema has been almost full on a Wednesday, finally a movie for the audience over 40.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2023

It was so touching every body need to see it

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2023

Good movie. Funny and sad at the same time. Worth seeing it.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2023

Have been so excited about this movie coming out! The only funny parts were in the preview! Very disappointed. Mentally exhausting movie about a lonely man bent on committing suicide. Sure I laughed a handfull of giggles. The acting was good...was not at all what iI expected! Watch enough of this darkness in everyday life! Would not recommend...unless you like to be depressed.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2023

Actors were well chosen ,MO one better than Tom Hanks

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2023

I would give it an 8 out of 10 but the trailer definitely doesn’t show stuff that could trigger people with mental illness.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2023

M'eh.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

A mix of comedy and heart-wrenching.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

I read and enjoyed the book and loved the movie. A happy sad movie - laughed and cried. Acting was superb.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

It made me laugh and cry both.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

Deep and moving.. Loved it!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2023

Good laughs and tears

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

I loved the book, I loved the original in subtitles and I loved this adaptation as well. Beautiful story and message. Gives you a different perspective for when you encounter those grumpy people in your life.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed the storyline, the characters and the acting. Tom Hanks is superb, so is his son,Truman, playing the younger Tom Hanks’ character; so is the Mexican female neighbour. Frankly all actors were superb. This movie was taken from a novel which friends tell me was superb as well.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

Wasn't sure what to expect, but found a very good, heart felt movie! It will make you laugh and cry! As always, Tom Hanks is the bets at what he does!! Loved it!!

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2023

Loved this movie, lots of solid acting, no special effects but so well done!!! Be prepared to laugh and cry!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

A movie that explores deep grief and struggles and how a community can lift up others. You will laugh, of course with Hanks, and feel deep empathy. Well-rounded characters. I've read the book and seen the other film based on the book. I recommend this film if you like comedy/drama genre.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2023

A movie that explores deep grief and struggles and how a community can lift up others. You will laugh, of course with Hanks, and feel deep empathy. Well-rounded characters. I've read the book and seen the other film based on the book. I recommend this film if you like comedy/drama genre.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: