The Aviator - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Aviator Movie Poster

3.85 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.85

Based on 6177 votes and 159 reviews


  • User rating: 3.85 66.45%
  • User rating: 3.85 3.47%
  • User rating: 3.85 2.67%
  • User rating: 3.85 3.53%
  • User rating: 3.85 23.88%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 101 to 150 of 159

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2005

reality of flight scenes amazing depictions of mental delusions very convincing entertaining

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

The cinematography was amazing, the script fabulous, the acting A-1. I highly recommend this movie. The story line is engrossing, and offers a well-balanced view of this tragic figure (Howard Hughes), studying his genius as well as his battle with mental illness. Leonardo`s acting is brilliant, but what really grabbed me was Cate Blanchett`s rendition of Katherine Hepburn.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

I had hopes in the movie, at least from the commercials. I had hope that there was more of a story than howard hughes. A story about a good pilot? No. A story about a plane? No. When I lost all hope in the movie (around the 90min mark) I began to look for a love story. But no. I began a silent prayer that it would end. Unless you`re a historian in love with Howard Hughes, this is a slow movie that was designed to punish it`s audience. I can`t even say it would be worth watching on television (with commercials it would be 5 hrs). Naturally people will love the movie because of it`s cast and portrayl of Howard Hughes. Somewhere in the world is

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

Absolutly brillant! I`ve seen most of the Oscar contenders already and so far, I`d say the Aviator deserves Best Actor (DiCaprio was wonderful and moving), Best Supporting Actress (Blanchett was spot on as Hepburn), Best Director (Becuase he deserves it by now) and for sure Best Picture because as good as all of the other contenders are this was by far the best all-around film. Go see it and you`ll understand.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

Execellent story of...what was his name? oh yeah, Howard Hughs! lol. It was friggin excellent. It`s the way of the future.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

A PHENOMINAL MOVIE, DICAPRIO HAS REALLY MATURED AS AN ACTOR. THE FINEST PERFORMANCE I`VE SEEN FROM HIM IN A LONG TIME, HE`S GOT A GREAT SHOT AT AN OSCAR THIS YEAR.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Leo did a fantastic job. True he is ageless, that however says nothing of his acting abilities. For a 3 hour movie to speed by says a lot. As an avid movie goer I do have to say that this is without a doubt an Oscar contender. Good luck Leo on obtaining the statue that you very much deserve!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

hmmm. I was disapointed to see all these ppl so excited to see such an awful movie, i felt like i had been punished its too bad i had to see that horrible ending when i could`ve seen somthing at intrest horible one star

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Loved it

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

Leonardo seemed to embody the character - we were very impressed with his performance and believe it`s Oscar worthy. The characterization of Hepburn, by Cate Blanchette, initially seemed a little over the top, however I felt it was explained later when Hughes told her to `..stop acting Kate` - which she did, revealing a more `real` Hepburn. Jude Law as Errol Flynnwas wonderful, but Jean Harlow`s (by No Doubt) was nothing like Harlow.. bad casting. The set designs and costumes will definitely be nominated, and likely will earn Scorcesse a nomination. It was a little long - but overall worth the effort.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2005

Why the Oscar buzz? The movie is long, boring - a shallow and one-dimensional account of Howard Hughes. It focused too much on his obsessive complusive behaviour. There is no point to this movie. What a disappointment. This being said though, the sets and props were excellent.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2005

I though it was fantastic. I am a Flight Attendant for a major airlne and going through bankruptcy. I think Mr Hughs would be so so sad to see the airline industry today. The way they fought over the two airlines. And as it is they both are gone today (Pan Am and TWA). It touched me personally so, I think it was great. Leo is definatly a versatile actor. His baby face is still there, but look beyond that. He will win the Best Actor Award for this role of Howard.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

awful and boring! i felt myself going crazy watching this. wasted 3 hrs watching it... do yourself a favour and watch something else instead.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

Loved the era! Loved the clothes! Loved the story! Loved it!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

Excellent depiction of Howard Hughes in his early years. Leonardo was quite believable as Mr. Hughes as was Cate in her role of Katherine Hepburn. We enjoyed it immensely and rate it one of the best movies that we have seen for quite some time.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

the acting was great but the story was average. A little too much time spent watching him go crazy!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

BORING! HATED IT!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2005

The first time Cate Blanchett as Katherine Hepburn laughed I cringed. Horrible. I thought maybe it was supposed to be a really broad comedy for a moment there. The director should have asked her to do it more believably.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

The ending ruined the whole thing for me...

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

this movie was insightful, heartbreaking and winning at the same time. It made me want to be alive at that time in the world- the actors did such a good job of conveying that era. Awesome! I`ll be pulling for it at the Golden Globes.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

As grand, sweeping bio pics go, this is a huge disappointment. Didn`t buy Leo as Howard Hughes FOR ONE SECOND. Cate Blanchett is astoundingly awful with her broad characterization of Katharine Hepburn. Kate Beckinsale as Ava Gardner gives it some zip. Jude Law is fabulous as Errol Fynn but he`s in it for all of 2 minutes. There`s a magical scene where Leo & Cate fly thorough the night sky to the strains of "Moonglow". If the whole movie could`ve been like that, it would`ve been something. Beautifully shot but soulless & empty.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

the acting was incredible.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

I went out of a pure guilt trip, and ended up enjoying this movie tremedously. I was not a huge fan of leonado, but i found myself so focused on him, he gave a hell of an amazing performance, i sure hope he gets the oscar for this one, he truley blew me away.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

excellent movie...very interesting man

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

Great movie, this one should get an Oscar for best picture, and Leo should get an best actor award.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2004

The movie is too long, because they left the less important scenes too long and the important ones, those scences based on fact, too short. Due to the fact that there is more history of Kathern Hepburn (played by Kate Blanchet) then of Howard Hughes (played by Leo DiCaprio), I found that I was more interested in Kate`s. Leo`s acting was good but the writing was what brought the character alive. Blachet`s acting was far better even though her lines were not written as well. Most of the support cast were excellent both in acting and the writing. The animation was cheap! The story line was lacking due to the above reasons, but the idea of who wa

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2004

We enjoyed The Aviator immensely. At times it did seem slow and long but overall, the film moved along at a reasonable and interesting speed. Leonardo was excellent as Hugh. Cate was outstanding as Kate Hepburn. I am sure that this movie will spark renewed interest in this unique individual who contributed so much to the American aviation industry. We leave many movie theatres and never speak again of the film we have just seen. That is not the case here. We are both keen to find out even more about Mr. Hughs and continue discussions begun at the theatre. And isn`t that the point of every film?!?!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

Story-wise this was a pretty good movie, but the acting and editing were terrible! And I HATED the ending.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

The best movie I have seen this year and one of the best ever. Scorcese has done a great job and DiCaprio is sure to get a nomination for Oscar. Even though I am familiar with the history, I was riveted throughout.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

Great movie. Leonardo DeCaprio was wonderful in his portrayl as was Cate Blanchet. Would highly recommend this classic portrayl of Howard Hughes.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

This movie was EXTREMELY boring, mainly because there is NO climax in the film ... a typical Scorsese`s film: unnecessarily long, boring, and a waste of time ...

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

Great movie. It started out slow at first... I was looking around the theatre (Signs of being bored). Though as it went on I became more captivated. HATED the ending. Overall 4 Stars. Leo is always great in these types of roles. Startin` from Titanic, Catch Me if You Can, and now the Aviator. I can`t imagine him playin` a modern day role. PS. I`ve had an erge to drink more and more milk ever since I watched the movie. It`s quite refreshing.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

I had a hard time with this movie. I knew I was in trouble when I started looking at my watch, then looking a the people in the theatre, etc. I was bored at times. It dragged. I didn`t get the connection with his father. Some flashback that didn`t work....even the thing with his mother was weird and never really worked either. I would have had a better understanding of his mental illness if I would have seen more of his actual relationship with the parents. I, too, felt like I was watching a documentary. Many of the scenes were too long.....I didn`t have to see Hughes face a zillion times every time he thought about something or makin

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Very good film if it`s 100% based on a true story. It gives me some knowledge regarding to US airline history and the legend Howard Hughes. Great performance by Leo, but I must say his baby face and young voice are not very convincing for this role. Just a reminder, go grab a drink or snacks, cuz the film is 3 hours long. 4 stars. Film Lover- Leon

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

This movie was EXTREMELY boring, mainly because there is NO climax in the film ... a typical Scorsese`s film: unnecessarily long, boring, and a waste of time ... however, I have to say Leonardo deserves an oscar nod on this one

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

I LOVED this movie! It was wonderfully made, with exceptional performances, especially from Leonardo Dicapro. WOW!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

It was okay.. It`s not as great as everyone made it seem. Definatly not oscar-worthy. It was somewhat boring, and it seemed to drag on.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

leonardo was so great/deffinately oscar winner/

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Not a horrible movie, but I have definitely seen better. I was a little disappointed, and I don`t think I would recommend it to any of my friends.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Leo should get an Oscar! His performance is amazing. The movie is a little long but well worth it! Great job and everyone should go see this movie!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

I thought the movie told us a lot more about the genus of the man. All we heard was that he was a reclose. Leonard should get his award. Done great.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Great film significantly diminished by waiting through the 30 minutes of non-stop commercials. If I wanted to see commercials I can sit at home in my surround sound and watch them for free. SilverCity take note: Stop abusing your customers with all the advertising.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Interesting throughout. Would have liked to know where he got his money from and what happened to TWA and Hughes Corp. and his death. Maybe in the sequel. The Hepburn character is true to life and just as annoying. DiCaprio really looked like Hughes with the moustache, later in life. Good film.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Long..Boring..and not very interesting. Terrible movie.BB

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2004

A very good movie. A little "long" in some places, but well worth it. Excellent performances by all.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2004

Majority of the movie is boring and moves way too slow. 3 hours to sit through this movie is way too long and painful.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2004

A good film, somewhat overrated. A B.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2004

The Aviator definitely did NOT live up to all the hype. It was a decent film with brilliant actors, but the length made me lose interest. DiCaprio deserves recognition for his role though.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2004

Pretty good,though I had trouble with Leo. He still has a baby face

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2004

one word: WOW!!! this movie is amazing! through the whole movie i was thinking "wow leonardo dicaprio deserves a oscar for sure! his performance was flawless! it was mind-boggaling the way he captured his feelings, during the movie i watched his eyes and noticed how much he got into this charicter! wow! and the plane crash scene was astonishing! i felt so sorry for him during the sad parts of the movie. and this is DEFINETLY one of the years best! OSCAR WORTHY FOR SURE! even better than jamie foxx in "ray" if he dosent win than i sware ill go crazy! AMAZING MOVIE!

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: