The Da Vinci Code - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.51 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.51

Based on 63556 votes and 2163 reviews


  • User rating: 3.51 27.41%
  • User rating: 3.51 34.73%
  • User rating: 3.51 16.64%
  • User rating: 3.51 4.21%
  • User rating: 3.51 17.01%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 2001 to 2050 of 2163

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

THIS MOVIE KICKED SOOOOOOO MUCH BOOTY...but honestly this movie is for people who love the book...like me...not for people who are looking to go to a theatre on a friday night ~Shabz

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

This is a good movie. I wish we would stop comparing it to the book, it is not always possable to fit the entire book into 2&1/2 hours. Also, how strong are your religious beliefs if they are threatened by a movie, there is no possile way a movie can change what I believe. I wish people were more open minded. We are not saying the movie is true, we are trying to get people to think in more than one direction. For those people who just don`t get it, maybe you should stick to cartoon network where things aren`t so confusing.

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

Makes you think. Great acting, but very predictable at times. The ending was obvious from 1/3 of the way through the film. Good value for your dollar though.

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

meh

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

There was so much in the book that would make a movie on it certainly difficult to make, so I praise how the movie turned out. Good work!

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

We felt it was too long and drawn out. You could fall asleept half way through and wake up not missing anything. Usually Hanks can carry it on his own but not this time. Borders on ridiculas............snorrring!

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

It was pretty close to the book minus certain details. It`s actually better if you read the book first, there are some things you didn`t catch the first time. Overall i loved it, another good showing by this all star cast.

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

There are so many problems with this movie. There is absolutely no "chemistry" between the two lead characters. The only interesting acting was portrayed by the character of Silas and Sir F. Teabing. The flashback scences were hopelessly ineffectual and would confuse people who had not read the book. All information that would have been important to understanding the film was so glossed over that I`m surprised anyone understood a thing at all. The directing was too safe in a film with such a controversial theme. Very disappointing!

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

This movie is amazing. After reading only a portion of the book I fully understood what was going on. I loved the way it challenges everything that the church believes in. Overall one of the best movies I have seen in al very long time!

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

I spent only $6.00 to see this movie, and came out of it thinking a fast food combo would have been a better purchase. The movie jumps around so abruptly, and so often that after a while you just wish you had a seat closer to the door.

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

Fiction...? Even Dan Brown, Ron Howard and Tom Hanks can`t save a movie/book from imploding on itself. Think about it...the Last Supper...if Dan Brown is correct (which he is painfully not)the Last Supper should contain 14 persons (Jesus, the 12 apostles and Mary Magadlene) and most humans can count until 14...so, take the time and you`ll see that there are 13 people in Leornardo`s painting...the blind leading the blind...

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

My husband and I thought the movie was very good... It kept uu both interested until the very end... You should go see it!

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

I thought the movie was great and very entertaining! I am glad I "never" listen to those critics who thinks they decide for everyone! I haven`t read the book maybe thats why I liked it...

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

Not bad, 4 stars

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

VeryGood movie... if you read the book. Followed it almost explicitly. Those who didnt like it most likely did not read the book and would have easily gotten lost or may have been overwhelmed with the info. Most book to movie makes are a poor representation, but this was great. I really enjoyed it. Im not sure what the critics were complaining about. It kept me interested from start to finish.

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2006

Not bad, but not great. Ron Howard has relied too heavily on hype to make the movie work, instead of good directing.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

I think it was great. AO

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

I was disappointed in this movie. I have read the book, and I found it ironic that the information in the movie was presented so quickly, and yet the movie itself was painfully slow. I loved the book as a creative work of fiction, however it simply and obviously does not translate into film. It is also worth mentioning that I fell asleep for a bit! I was really excited to see it, and was hoping for something better....

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Very dull and boring...Ian McKellen is the only half decent performance.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Alright, perhaps we can read some reviews from people who know how to spell. The "Da Vinci Code" was a good movie. Not great, not bad, good. Tom Hanks is at best an average actor. He`s had his moments no doubt played some brilliant roles, this was not one of them. Sir Ian stole the show, theres an actor who can play any role! The movie had a slow opening a very strong middle and an average end. At the end of the "Dei" the "Da Vinci Code" was one of those movies you enjoyed but was it really worth the ticket price?

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

very bad movie. very slow paced. dialogue sucks and is pretty lame. Overall, looks like a movie made to exploit catholicism and make a buck out of it. very incorrect portrayal of facts and actual theology as well. would definitely not suggest it to be watched by a catholic or anyone who likes to watch a quality movie with good acting and real thought provoking matireal. Overall, I will give it a 1.5 out of 10. the 1 being for the imagination (if actually not copied from already existing books) of the theories and 0.5 for the trailer.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

poor.... poor performance andfilmography.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

I really enjoyed it. Beautifully filmed, thoughtfully done. I do think it helps if you have read the book.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

great movie! they were able to put all the book into it!!

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Wow! I`ve never seen anything like it! The last 3 minutes were a little abrupt but otherwise a very well done movie! You will love it.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

OMG I NEVER NEW THAT IN THE PICTURE OF THE LAST SUPPER THGERE WAS A WOMEN IN IT TILL TODAY OMG THANXS BUT I DONT GET THE MOVIE IT KINDA WERID IN SOME PLACES

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

i watched the "THE DA VINCI CODE" today with my friend and her parents i tought the movies was really good but i didn`t really get it i guesse i would have to read the book frist " so the only thing i would have to say is if your going to watch it read the book first befor you watch it ok " there were some parts that were kinda boaring but.... i like it alot but agina i will say it agian i didn`t get it but what ever i guesse i will ask some who did ???

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

this movies is excellent. it is exactly the same as book. i like it very much.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Wow... Gotta love movies that make you think and question things. I thought this movie was Awesome!!! The suspence... some action... storyline. Wow. It is a must see!!! By the way, do not rate this movie based on the book. That is unfair... No book matches exactly what the movie does and vice versa. To be honest, I did not read the book and I loved this movie based on being a great movie!!!

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Good goood and good

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Great movie. Fine performances by Tom Hanks and Audrey Tautou; however, the real stars are Sir Ian McKellan and the brilliant Paul Bettany. His Silas was creepy and haunting ... but still vulnerable and (even though he`s a killer) I ended up caring for him, just like I did in the book. Worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

5 stars

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Fact or Fiction, the movie was too long and confusing in some parts. I prefer Indian Jones flicks.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

I just didn`t think it was all that great.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Seems to me that there is someone on this message board posting over and over. You`re totally giving yourself away with the OOOOOOOOOOOOMYGOD and WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW and Tom Hanks is the best actor ever, best movie of the year ditribe. Seems to me you and your "friends" are the only ones who like this movie. I saw it last night, it was ok I guess, not as good as the book though. I don`t see why some people are gaga over this movie.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

This movie started out well enough. Almost believable. However by the end it was just plain dull.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

2 tumbs up!!!!

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Apparently, falling asleep in the movie means you should have read the book first, so you could "get it". This might explain why OPIE blew it this time.You shouldn`t need the book first!Also it seems that Christians don,t want to "get it". It`s a fictional story about a fictional story, created by a few good story tellers about 1800+ years ago. Let`s face it,"Its the "GREATEST STORY EVER SOLD" Look it up!There are over 2,000,000 web references about this best seller. Now that would be a real movie. This one was not. 2*

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

This movie is amazing. I can`t think of a better cast of Tom Hanks for this role, he is SUPERB!

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

everything was much more confusing and much more boring than in the book.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Great movie,

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

The movie was amazing. It disapointed me, how the movie was skipping alot of the parts. Its way different from the book, and honestly the book was waaayy better. It was going way to fast at the beggining, but it got better. If you haven`t read the book, don`t read it then watch it. Watch then read, and see how different the book from the movie is.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Really Good Movie. Makes you wonder.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

If you`re like me and haven`t read the book, you`ll love this movie!!!

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

****Very well done. I was expecting to be disappointed, due to all the hype,also early reviews, but instead was pleasantly surprised. The movie, if not riveting, certainly keeps your attention all the way through. I do not understand all the controversy - it is a work of fiction. And the Roman Catholic church has certainly been defiled before by many factual occurences. All in all, recommended viewing. Be prepared for graphic violence.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Very well done. Followed the book almost exactly. I would almost go watch it again.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

Would have thought the movie was 5 stars if I had not read the book. It was hard to enjoy it as much, since I knew what to look for and what to expect. The acting was excellent and the characters were well developed. For all of you `protective` people, please understand that even though the movie is fiction and the story is fiction, the history and the facts are essentially true or at least very credible theories.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

i think it was a very good movie. people need to calm down it`s just a movie it`s not the end of the world. Ron Howard did the best that he could in making the movie. it was a very complicated plot. but they did the best possible job in explaining it.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

hated it, the book was awesome, but just hated the movie

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2006

its a greate movie, should see i wouldnt mind seeing it again..

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: