The Good Liar

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.42 / 5

User Rating User rating: 4.42

Based on 98 votes and 37 reviews


  • User rating: 4.42 68.75%
  • User rating: 4.42 12.50%
  • User rating: 4.42 14.58%
  • User rating: 4.42 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.42 4.17%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 37 of 37

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2019

Exceptional acting & wonderful suspense. Helen Mirren is always convincing & talented. Ian McKellen is a wonderful foil to her character.

User review rating: 3 December 04, 2019

An entertaining mystery story, with a heroine, especially appealing for women. The story strains credulity, but is competently presented. It was suspenseful for the most part. Worth seeing once.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

Great acting from two established pros .. Story has lots of twists to keep you guessing

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2019

Early on, I suspected that both lead actors were engaging in lying (but the German slant I never saw coming)! The film captivated my interest throughout.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2019

Well done!! Great acting and good plot!! Didn't expect the twist! We really enjoyed it!!

User review rating: 3 December 01, 2019

It moved slow and i would've liked to have seen more twists instead of one toward the end.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2019

Ahhhhhh quality acting at last. Refreshing to watch actors actually acting. Still. No school like the old school. Mirren and Mckellen were absolutely fantastic together.

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2019

The pacing was fantastic, the characters consistent throughout the movie, the plot was a wonderful mystery that slowly and methodically unfolded. A truly mesmerizing movie!!

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2019

Mirren and McKellen are excellent.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2019

Suspenseful, very well acted, somewhat of a surprise ending. We both really enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 3 November 28, 2019

Hmmm...not entirely sure how to rate this. Acting was excellent. I predicted the plot, but then there were some twists that were somewhat surprising but also disturbing. Not a feel good movie, but an interesting one.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2019

Loved the performances of all the characters. Twists and turns kept you guessing what might happen. Bravo!

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2019

Very good movie - I didn't see that coming.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2019

Great Story.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2019

I enjoyed watching this movie. Ms. Mirren was excellent. I liked the twists. It was nice to see once again Hollywood putting out movies showing blended families. The other most recent movie I saw showing a blended family (Last Christmas) was also set in England.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

This movie kept me guessing. I knew something was up, but there were surprising twists and turns. Enjoyed it.

User review rating: 3 November 23, 2019

Always find Helen Mirren to be excellent. McKellen was ok. I was expecting a bit more - found the plot to be very predictable. Enjoyed and would recommend.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2019

Kept me interested through the entire movie. Also love Helen Mirren.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2019

Such great fun watching the twists and turns. Interesting reality of World War II scene showing jealousy, greed, and revenge in the end. Even if you guess the end, a great entertaining way to spend a few hours with real actors instead of something generated by computers. Outstanding !

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2019

Great pairing of McKellen and Mirren . A nice twisty thriller , a little predictable but entertaining otherwise . Was not expecting how it ended with a nice little twist.

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2019

2 brilliant actors in a complicated sad movie. Enjoyed it !

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2019

Good movie or Boomers, mystery, historical type thriller, Mirren is always 5 stars!

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2019

Ridiculous plot, a predictable twist, and dare I say bad acting? A perfect example of a movie that promises to be good, based on the past successes of stars that we know and love. The Good Lie was the movie trailer that got me to purchase a ticket and sit through something much worse than advertised.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2019

Excellent actors and excellent story line!

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2019

Great movie! Great twists! Great acting! Worth watching.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2019

great acting. Wonderful plot twists.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2019

excellent cast very well done nice to see these two great actors on screen together

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2019

The movie was a great mystery full of twists and turns. Five friends went to see the movie and we all loved it.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2019

The movie was very good: interesting, good plot, intriguing and suspenseful. We thoroughly enjoyed this movie if you enjoy suspense movies.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2019

Justice was served. The was a bit surprising but satisfactory

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2019

Decent movie. Not star material but not bad compared to all the other movies out there.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2019

Screenplay, Direction & Performances

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2019

taut with character tension, and an unforgiving ending.

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2019

ending wasn't the best. Prior to that, very good movie

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2019

Very enjoyable movie with some interesting twists. Loved the online dating scenes at the beginning, very true to life. The movie keeps your attention with no periods where you're tapping your toes wondering when something is going to happen. I highly recommend it.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2019

The best movie we have seen in a long time. Don't miss it. Such a great story.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2019

Very good acting and entertaining, drawing your attention from beginning to the end. Worthwhile to watch.

Change Location
* required!
* required!