The Whale - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.50 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.5

Based on 20 votes and 9 reviews


  • User rating: 3.5 40.00%
  • User rating: 3.5 10.00%
  • User rating: 3.5 20.00%
  • User rating: 3.5 20.00%
  • User rating: 3.5 10.00%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 9 of 9

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2023

This is an incredible film if you can get past your own judgements. It is not a film about obesity. If you are a deep thinker and empathetic you need to watch this for the performance and the story.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2023

Excellent and strong acting. Story conveys a message that everyone has feelings. Pros and cons about religion and we have no right to judge. Walk in my shoes for a better understanding. This film is on the dark dark side of life.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2023

It tries to make you sympathize with fat people.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2023

A film about family disfunction, addictions, love and redemption. A serious film with great acting.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2023

A must see movie. Maybe people will become a little more compassionate and think outside themselves. There are a lot of struggling people out there. Please show them some love.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2023

Performances by all were excellent. Brendan Fraser deserves the Oscar for his performance. He’s been overlooked for too too long

User review rating: 2 January 02, 2023

Story very dark

User review rating: 2 December 29, 2022

I generally like Aronofsky movies but this one is super mean. He always goes with bizarre kinda artsy themes with his own views on religion spiced in. There is always a grotesque sex scene (ie Jennifer Connolly in Requiem for a dream on the table with another prostitute). There is a really nasty scene to start the movie on a “shock/disturb “ you level. It’s gross but I understand he is showing you the life of Protagonist. It’s hard to like any of the characters save the woman who medically checks on the whale. Otherwise, they are dim and sad character arcs. I respect the effort but it’s more a disturbing inside view of despair than an uplifting movie. That said, I would watch it way before any comic book movie/talking dog or cat movie/ or much of the brain dead Hollywood productions that get made. This is a movie for adults. Again the Aronofsky sex scene is nasty. I will leave it at that.

User review rating: 3 December 08, 2022

"The Whale" offers a lot of darkness. It’s a soaring character study of a man wrestling with the enormity of his regret, the duty of fatherhood, and the feasibility of goodness itself. It's a story about transformation and transcendence, one man’s odyssey into himself and out of his body, a journey through the depths of grief towards the possibility of salvation. The film is based on the play by Samuel D. Hunter. Any concern about the possible insensitivity of the title is quickly dispelled as well, once it's understand that Moby-Dick factored prominently into the show, both literally and thematically. Charlie and Ahab are not so unlike, underneath it all, both men caught up in the pursuit of a dream, intoxicated with the could-have-been, obsessed with the fantasy of another future. In some ways, "The Whale" is a hunt, a search to grasp the slippery nature of compassion, why we need it and why we push it away, when we can give it and when we can’t. But the audience also experience the thrill of it blooming in the course of the story’s construction. In the midst of re-examining trust and it's boundaries. And while there are many causes of obesity, a multifactorial disease affecting over 40% of Americans, the film drews a direct link in this case between excess weight and unaddressed feelings. Myths about obesity abound. Despite being an extremely common disease, it’s also highly individual in it's make-up, with aspects of genetic, metabolic, environmental, and psychological dimensions all contributing to the way it affects a person. Three million people are diagnosed with obesity every year, and yet the stigma against it remains rampant. This is reflected in the lack of honest representation of people with obesity in film and TV, and even more so when it comes to leading characters. Written by Gregory Mann

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2022

can't wait.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: