The Woman King - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.68 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.68

Based on 176 votes and 61 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 63.64%
  • User rating: 3.68 2.27%
  • User rating: 3.68 3.41%
  • User rating: 3.68 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.68 30.68%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 61

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2022

Voila Davis did not disappoint. Great to see a woman be the leader of a movie. The co-stars were right on point. The scenario was so realistic and the story line was easy to follow. I've seen it 3 times. Totally rate this movie 5+ stars.

User review rating: 1 October 05, 2022

Orwellian dystopian nightmare.

User review rating: 1 October 04, 2022

It is ironic that a movie set with a people fighting against slavery is set historically in a people that perpetuated slavery even before white people did. This movie is propaganda and completely a-historical.

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2022

Strong....Powerful...People

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2022

This film is excellent in spirit and execution. Based on true historical events, The Woman King allows the viewer a glimpse of the Dahomey people's intense desire to remain free from being conquered and exploited during the early 1800's African slave trading done by both African and European slavers. The audience has an opportunity to realize what African people did to survive during those horrendous times. The all Woman defense force were called the Agojie (A-go-gee). I intend to view The Woman King again.

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2022

Viola Davis rocked it. Loved the entire movie from start to finish, with the exception of the dark arts, aka "Rocks" The rocks "LOL" not good.

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2022

awesomeness...all about woman power. Excellent cast, excellent costumes, and great comrades

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2022

This the best movie my group has seen. Thank You Galaxy Theater . We enjoyed your wonderful service. Thank for being so kind . We had large group & they want thank you as well.

User review rating: 1 October 03, 2022

How the authors are not ashamed of themselves? If they wanted a movie about African people they could use the Dahomey as the villains and some villagers they raided and enslaved as the protagonists who fight back/try to escape from slavery.

User review rating: 1 October 02, 2022

The worst woke garbage to ever hit the movie theater - and that’s saying something.

User review rating: 1 October 02, 2022

Unwatchable.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2022

Cheesy, overacted…!

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2022

Best

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2022

great story with great actors

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2022

if you're desperate for female empowerment, and willing to squint really hard to avoid grossly distracting, politically driven historical license taken in the name of ticking all the industry required boxes, then look no further. Just please don't engage in the soft racism/sexism of lowered expectations, by invoking race, and sex, in an attempt to deflect the much deserved criticism that men face when churning out crap only half this bad (see Pathfinder, 300, Gods of Egypt, Braveheart etc.),

User review rating: 5 September 27, 2022

I am here because I have to come back and see it a second time. It's so good. Beautiful casting, 🎥 filming, acting and .. over all incredibly done. Top ranking.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2022

Viola Davis was superb in movie - I give her A+++ acting but the movie story was a little boring B+++still enjoyed seeing it.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2022

Everyone should see this film. It is not meant to be a documentary, but a film about female empowerment and sisterhood. This film is entertaining and features artfully, beautifully choreographed action scenes. We often allow creative license to filmmakers with men leading films, but seem to hold women to a different standard. Let’s stop being so judgmental and become more curious and inclusive. Open our hearts to include all filmmakers/artists and not only a few select chosen creatives. Let’s support Viola Davis, Gina Prince-Bythewood and the entire amazing cast for bringing us a few moments of entertaining pleasure. It is about time that all young girls have the opportunity to see a plethora of black heroines on the big screen. Let us celebrate this accomplishment. Love this long overdue film and will see it again and again!

User review rating: 1 September 24, 2022

This movie is about as accurate as a blind man shooting long distance... Overrated and overblown, the storyline is weak the acting mediocre, not a fan of painting one of the worst group of people who ever lived as some heroic, feminist fantasy

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2022

Well done relying on good acting for emphasis not gratuitous cursing. The storyline kept my attention and a nice surprise well into the movie.

User review rating: 3 September 23, 2022

Acting by Viola Davis over-rated. The team of warrior women with her make the movie.. Yes, it based on true life but I was disappointed in the lead acting.

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2022

THIS FILM IS BEAUTIFUL. It is not intended to be WOKE or ACCURATE - AND if other films are allowed the deference of an aspirational and inspirational "semi-fictional" narrative - this one deserves the same! Pathologically - too often, we create crudely, pathetic excuses for oppressing, critiquing, and limiting Black women in film and in the world. We are willing to honor a film about anyone else whether fictional or not (Rosewood, Django, etc.) as long as a black woman is not the lead. This must change. This film is for EVERYONE.

User review rating: 5 September 21, 2022

The unity as a kingdom

User review rating: 1 September 21, 2022

I had to walk out of this... I knew it would be bad, but I couldn't really sit through anymore after having vomited allover myself.

User review rating: 1 September 21, 2022

Viola Davis is good as usual, but the film just felt like someone had a specific agenda in mind that doesn't sit well with everyone.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Davis’ performance is spectacular. The story line and the action was well balanced. This movie will leave waiting more. Hopefully their is a sequel.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Girl Power!

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

These female warriors exhibited power, strength, trust, and true family

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Love it Love it Love it Love it. This movie is a must 👀see

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Everything was totally awesome

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Action; motivation and Woman Power. We are getting ready to go see this wonderful movie again.

User review rating: 1 September 20, 2022

Typical Hollywood today. ReWriting history to push woke agenda. Absurd film.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

One of a kind production. I love this movie so much.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Best movie of all time!

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2022

Oscar winning cinematography

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2022

Everything from beginning to end!

User review rating: 3 September 19, 2022

Somebody goofed -- a woman is a queen, not a king. It's a decent movie, though. Probably would have upped my rating if I could have streamed it instead of being forced to see it in a movie theater.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2022

Acting was superb .

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2022

Outstanding motion picture. Best blockbuster movie to come along in years.

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2022

The movie was very good. The negative comment come from racists and weak people that are pretty much controlled and told what to do. I can tell you that these negative comments are similar to other comments on different movie sites. White folks that fall prey to propaganda because they feel the need to complain. These folks had family issues growing up.

User review rating: 4 September 18, 2022

Riveting, empowering, different and well acted! A must see

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2022

Do your home work if you want to comment. This movie is more than bout slavery. I found it to be a good movie.

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2022

Well done, don’t allow the negative feed back on it. It was well written and the actors / actress’s were superb

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2022

Excellent, well done from start to finish.

User review rating: 1 September 18, 2022

This is the most vile piece of propaganda I have ever seen. It tries to turn some of the most evil people who ever lived into heroes. The people who made it must be full blown racists in order to glorify a slave based empire. I am glad that a friend bought our tickets. i would have wanted a refund.

User review rating: 1 September 18, 2022

Propagandistic crap which tries to sell the evil Dahomey kingdom based on slavery (long before the whites came to Africa) as some empowering movie for black people. The irony is some of the actors in this movie are most likely grand-grandkids of Africans enslaved and sold by the Dahomey. Dahomey used female warriors because they lost too many of their male ones in constant wars and raids against the other tribes. Not because they cared about equality.

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2022

I really enjoyed this movie. Great fight scenes. Acting was good.

User review rating: 1 September 17, 2022

Viola is a good actress but the movie is a leftist hollywood woke nightmare of lies. Thought the action was good - Now if it had just been based on the facts - but it was a racist nightmare of liberalism and feminist hogwash

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2022

Contrary to the negative feedback based on limited knowledge of these people, this story is not about the Dahomey (modern-day Benin) people, it's about a female army who led the resistance against colonizers. It is not meant to be an "answer" to "The Black Panther." The "Black Panther" is make-believe; in fact, the fictional Dora Malaje of the Black Panther movie was inspired by the real life Agojie depicted in "Woman King." For those who insist upon holding the Dahomey's involvement in the slave trade as the reason that this movie should not be supported, be reminded that it can never be compared to the systematic and deliberately dehumanizing brutal brand of chattel slavery which economically enriched this and other countries for centuries. Lastly, do not be baited into supporting one or the other African American producers. Support them all. We are not a dichotomy (all one thing or the other). Go see the movie with an open mind. Ms. Viola Davis and all of her co-stars give stellar performances. Five stars, indeed.

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2022

Viola Davis is wonderfully fierce and bad-ass in every scene !!! She is beautiful. Africa is beautiful. This is history as we have never seen it before. It made me feel proud to be a Black woman. I cried.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: