Cineplex Cinemas Amherst (Paramount Cinemas)

Amherst Showtimes

Cineplex Cinemas Amherst (Paramount Cinemas)

47 Church Street Amherst, NS, B4H 3A7 (902) 667-7791

General Ratings

General Experience

3.0 user rating

Concession

3.2 user rating

Cleanliness

3.4 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.7 user rating

Customer Service

3.8 user rating

26 Reviews for Cineplex Cinemas Amherst (Paramount Cinemas)

Sort by

Sound from other theater too loud

I took the kids to see the new Aladdin movie last night and they both loved it! It was a great movie - although I had a moment of confusion. I did not realize that there was a giant angry reptile inhabiting Agrabah. A “whole new world” indeed - flying carpets and a massive rage frenzied reptile. More like 🎵 a whole new *angry roar*, a new fantastic *roar* 🎵 Godzilla was louder than all the palace guards combined! My three year old son even leaned over and asked me where the dinosaurs were hiding at? But I’m going to look at it positively - I got a two-for-one experience. I got to watch a movie based on one I grew up on and listen to a really long and loud Godzilla podcast at the same time.

Reviewed on: 06/03/2019

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Best popcorn in Amherst, can't watch the movie without my large popcorn and extra butter .

Make it to a movie a couple times a month. Would love to go more. Great workers at Cineplex in Amherst and Marlene goes out of her way for my walker and my friends.

Reviewed on: 08/20/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Can't get any better popcorn than Amherst Cineplex.

Always fresh and lots of butter. The staff are always great. Because of my walker if I need extra help. Couldn't ask for any one better than Marlene. She will help special when I'm by myself. Can't handle walker, popcorn and pop.

Reviewed on: 08/20/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Longest wait time to purchase tickets

I want to patronize our local theatre but lining up behind 20 people to simply purchase a ticket is ridiculous. There were 3 employees behind the counter, why not have a line for those wanting to purchase tickets only, without having to wait for everyone to purchase food.After waiting in line for over 20 minutes there isn't anyone at the door to take your tickets anyway. Good thing most people are Honest!

Reviewed on: 05/09/2017

Overall Rating

1.25 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Reviews - POSITIVE CRITICISM WORKS BEST

To the person who submitted the May 16, 2016 review titled "Horrible Ticket/Concession Service" - I believe he/she has clearly demonstrated why they should not be posting reviews on small market movie theatres. First off, I think he/she should read the review dated 03/03/2015 titled "Shut Up and Be Grateful" Yes, there are legitimate complaints that can be (should be) raised, but why not do so in a less harsh manner. Most small business operators deal with long hours, staffing problems and other issues and obstacles that make it difficult to earn a reasonable living.

Reviewed on: 03/24/2017

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Horrible Ticket/Concession service

Some years ago, the Amherst cinema decided to combine it's ticket office into the concession area, forcing you to wait in long lines just to get a ticket or redeem one you paid for online. The building is old and decrepit, with only 3 screening rooms. One of which can't even be called a screening room because it's more of a cramped, dirty, whiplash room. I can appreciate trying to make the best with what you have, being a cinema in a smaller town, but the Amherst Cineplex has made changes to it's operations that have just made it worse. It's a wonder they haven't completely gone out of business. Any sane person who can afford it usually just takes their business into Moncton, an hour's drive to avoid that dump.

Reviewed on: 05/16/2016

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Great little theater

This is a great little theater. If given the choice in most cases I choose to go here rather than the big bow of Halifax or Moncton. The staff and management are great the theater is older but clean and I enjoy every visit.

Reviewed on: 03/27/2016

Overall Rating

4.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Needs Renovations

I'm all for a theatre in an old building but this theatre is in need of renovations.

Reviewed on: 03/19/2016

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

BEST THEATRE EVER

IT'S SO CHEAP AND WHILE THERE'S ONLY A FEW MOVIES PLAYING AT A TIME IT'S SO QUIET AND SMALL AND NOBODY GOES THERE EVER AND TUESDAY NIGHTS IT'S EVEN CHEAPER.

Reviewed on: 12/16/2015

Overall Rating

4.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

I love this theatre!

This may be a very small theatre but I love it. The people who work there are so friendly and greet you with a smile. Going to this theatre makes me happy and I feel at home here.

Reviewed on: 12/09/2015

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating