Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.40 37 votes and 33 reviews | Rate Theatre

325 Prince St., Sydney, NS B1P 5K6

902-539-3456 | View Map


2.40 / 5

User rating: 2.40

Based on 37 votes and 33 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.43243243243243
  • Concession User rating: 2.14285714285714
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.36111111111111
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.44444444444444
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.63888888888889

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service


Type the code:




Theatre Reviews

Showing 21 to 30 of 33

dirty and overpriced

November 08, 2014

This theatre is very dirty, the seats are filthy, floors are sticky, concession food is way overpriced...$25 for two adults to watch a movie is way overpriced. Bring your own snacks. Needs an upgrade asap. We need some competition in Cape Breton to force change.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Overpriced & Dirty

November 06, 2014

The dirtiness, completely overpriced concession and tickets, and awful customer service are one of the reasons I made my own theatre room. Cineplex, you can kiss my money (and all of my friends' and family's money) goodbye.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Empire Theatre Giftcard

September 23, 2014

Cineplex, Sydney would not honor my $30.00 Empire giftcard even though the huge "Empire Theatre" sign still hung above the front entrance; also (I had no previous knowledge about Empire being taken over by Cineplex); I phoned the telephone number 1-877-330-7333 that was given to my husband by the Manager and was promised that they would get back to me shortly; when asked by the representative for the number of my Gift Card, I made the grave mistake of disclosing the card number; when I called 8-plus weeks later (3 times) each time leaving a courteous message, no return calls came from them; what I did find out was that they had cancelled "my" card....(soo, much for our $30.00 gift card)....soo folks, beware.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Abuse of a monopoly

September 07, 2014

This is the only theater in the city. The place is always filthy, the popcorn is rediculously overpriced, there's no refills on fountain drinks, and the movie showings are generally small. Real good customer service, concessions aside. The employees were all kind and did their job. Can't blame them for a bad job done by Cineplex.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

only theatre in town.exttortion prices

July 19, 2014

Broadway Theatre prices for a dump. We would go every week if it was reasonably priced. We go once a year.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

dirty, overpriced

July 10, 2014

The theatre seats are very dirty and uncomfortable and in need of an upgrade very badly. Concession prices are sky high and no more refills on large popcorn...?!? The only theatre in CB so what choice do we have?

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Filthy since Ceneplex took over.

June 30, 2014

The time I was there for a late show the theatre had not been cleaned since the earlier showing. The seats are stained and dirty. I recommend arriving for your movie during the dozen or so advertisements before the movie (that you pay to see) so that you don't have to actually see the seats. Ignorance is bliss. The concession prices have sky rocketed. They no longer offer free refills on large sized popcorn and pop which is insane considering how little overhead there is for popcorn kernels and fountain pop.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Movies never change

May 05, 2014

Concession prices excessive with smaller portions. Popcorn prices ridiculous!!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

concession

April 05, 2014

best popcorn ever

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

War Horse Fabulous!!

March 29, 2014

My husband and I attended War Horse on Saturday afternoon, March 22. I was absolutely brilliant and such a treat to feel that you had a London Theatre experience here in Sydney, NS. There were only 7 people in the theatre! Many friends I spoke with later had no idea that our local theatre offered such quality performances. Why are they not listed in the paper with the other movies of the week?? I feel the operas and ballets should also be listed or we stand to lose something very unique to this area.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4
Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: