Galaxy Cinemas Brantford

Brantford Showtimes

Galaxy Cinemas Brantford

300 King George Road Brantford, ON, N3R 5L8 519-759-7011

General Ratings

General Experience

3.0 user rating

Concession

3.0 user rating

Cleanliness

3.0 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.6 user rating

Customer Service

3.0 user rating

12 Reviews for Galaxy Cinemas Brantford

Sort by

Won't be back

My husband and I came to this theatre because we wanted a late show of Halloween on Sunday and Woodstock theatre didn't have one. The concession is way over priced and an extra dollar for butter ?! Which they just put on top- not all the way through. The popcorn did not taste good. The hallway smelled of disgusting rotten feet and even more where we decided to sit Seats are VERY uncomfortable. In normal position, you are sitting too forward and when reclined, which needs pressure to stay back, the seat sinks back and you're almost stuck. The lights for the stairs were missing front plates so we had a light shining in our face the whole time When we came out, the hallway smelled like rotten seafood ?! We unfortunately will not be back to this theatre.

Reviewed on: 10/29/2018

Overall Rating

1.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Great sound, great popcorn but wish management did more

Great theater, great sound, huge screens! However people are so rude and put their disgusting feet on the headrest of the chair in front when watching a movie or if bored talk the entire time or play on their huge phones. I wish management would send ushers in like the old days and remind people they are being rude and inconsiderate to others. Many people have no clue they are clueless and ignorant. I have never seen a movie in Brantford where an employee does not come in and check a sign in sheet BUT they never turn around and walk the isles and whisper to the jerks in the theater to take their disgusting feet down, put their phones away and just watch the movie. Nobody needs or cares what you have to talk loudly about the movie for. I know that is hard to manage and people cannot help to be rude. If Galaxy Cinemas even let their employees watch the movies for a 10 min a night some rude people might perk up and take their feet down and turn off their phones. Thank you. Great theater and always great sound I know management is trying their best.

Reviewed on: 07/06/2018

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Worst popcorn

I find all theatre popcorn to be difficult to swallow. Too many husks in popcorn making it difficult not to choke. Line up for tickets hardly ever open and you need to line up at concession for both making wait even longer if you are a senior. Seats are uncomfortable. Only use this theatre so I don't have to travel

Reviewed on: 07/01/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Disappointed with sound.

Went to see Game Night last week and was really disappointed with the sound level. During the movie we could hear the explosions and action scenes of the movies on either side over the low volume of the movie I paid for. I go to the movies for the "big sound" big movie experience. To be fair Brantford Galaxy Cinemas has given that to my wife and I on many of our visits there but last week the "auto movie" player or manager or staff could not be bothered to see is the sound level right in this theater? Oh well this week we are going to see a movie and first choice not to go is Brantford Galaxy Cinemas. We will try again in a couple of months maybe things will improve.

Reviewed on: 03/15/2018

Overall Rating

2.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

When are you going to get movies for adult population and not for children.

Have not been to the Brantford cinemas in quite a while as there is never a movie that warrants paying for. Simply get some current movies and have them last longer than a a week or else. Other movies remain at the theatre for weeks such as paddington, stars wars what about the other part of the Brantford and surrounding areas that would like an evening out to watch a movie. I have a scene card but might as well destroy it because I can’t seem to use it.

Reviewed on: 01/22/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

How about watching a movie in 2D?

It's become recently apparent that Brantford will not allow us to watch our movies in 2D. Want to? There's 1 showing on saturday and sunday around 4pm. And that's usually a week after it has already been out. 3D has been nothing except an extra $2/ticket. If you want an extra $2, add another stupid car commercial. The experience is nauseating, and if you're already wearing glasses; the 3D glasses only add to the discomfort. Not since Avatar have we had a movie that NEEDS 3D. It's a horrible, insidious practice, and I have stopped going to Brantford entirely. I'll drive to Toronto if I have to. This cinema is terrible. Top that off with bad popcorn, and call it a day.

Reviewed on: 12/10/2017

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

way too expensive don't buy

THis theatre has not had any good movies for adults . Most are for kids and teens. Who chooses the movies for this theatre Cambridge and Ancaster seem to get the best up to date movies and Brantford doesn't. My friends and I go to a lot of movies and we have been very disappointed the last few months . Brantford seems to double up on movies not leaving room for other movies . There is a lot of room for other movies if you don't double up some movies.

Reviewed on: 08/24/2017

Overall Rating

1.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Smell was horrible!

We hadn't been to this theatre for a while, and definitely will NOT come back. The whole theatre smelled like urine. Not only the theatre but the hallways too.. It wasn't just us, we heard a couple other people mention it. It was so bad I had to watch most of the movie with my shirt pulled over my nose. Made the experience not very enjoyable.

Reviewed on: 02/21/2017

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

No heat

I like loud but actually too loud a movie experience. Theater #1 in Brantford Thursday Feb 2 had a broken heat but in a bad way. It was so uncomfortably hot the movie was brutal to watch as I sweat. My wife complained to the usher who simply said "yes we know but nothing we can do until tomorrow". Just disappointed with the management of Galaxy Cinemas Brantford for not putting a sign outside saying "this will be a terrible experience due to the broken heat". Instead they took my money and too bad for me and my wife.

Reviewed on: 02/06/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    not rated

Have to go out of town to not see a movie in 3D

Good theater, good sound, sometimes noisy people, sometimes personal cell phone glare from people in fron, many many times people chair kick but people are what they are so you accept it or wait and rent the move and watch it at home. My annoyance is why does the Brantford Theater force me to drive out of town so I don't have to see a movie in 3D? Clearly 3D is just a way to up sell tickets and force me to pay for something I don't really want. There should be non 3D viewing options for big movies like Star Trek in the evenings when most people see movies. Instead the only option is 4:30pm for non 3D viewing option and if you go at night you must pay for 3D which always sucks with the crappy glasses. Just disappointing. I can appreciate it makes sense to milk an audience for more money and I have the option to drive to Kitchener to see the movie if I don't want to have to pay to see it in 3D. However customers that drive elsewhere can continue to go elsewhere and it costs the local theater revenue. Most of my friends, peers, co-workers agree 3D usually sucks and it is not worth the additional cash grab theaters like the one in Brantford force on movie patrons. Just disappointed that I will drive out of town to see Star Trek tonight. I would rather see it locally and support my local movie theater but clearly they would rather dig deeper into my pocket and force me to watch it in 3D in the evenings.

Reviewed on: 07/28/2016

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating