Galaxy Cinemas Elgin Mall

St. Thomas Showtimes

Galaxy Cinemas Elgin Mall

417 Wellington Street St. Thomas, ON, N5R 5J5 (519) 631-2261

General Ratings

General Experience

3.7 user rating

Concession

3.7 user rating

Cleanliness

4.3 user rating

Theatre Presentation

3.3 user rating

Customer Service

4.1 user rating

17 Reviews for Galaxy Cinemas Elgin Mall

Sort by

St. Thomas theatre complaints with the loud sound system

I have yet to learn if anyone at Galaxy Cinemas actually reads the reviews on the theatre as reported by patrons and has any action been taken to correct the problem with the loud sound system?

Reviewed on: 12/16/2018

Overall Rating

2.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

We are lucky to have such a fine multiplex facility.

I enjoy going to the theatre here and would enjoy it much more if I didn't find the sound system so loud during the pre-show clips and particularly, the commercials (maybe, the popcorn concession commercial is the worst). I have to plug my ears until the main feature comes on. My wife no longer will go to the theatre because of it being so loud. I believe that the decibel level is hazardous to ones hearing and should be reported to the Department of Health and Safety.

Reviewed on: 10/12/2018

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Volume ridiculously too high!!

My first issue is the excessive volume - do you not have any control over it? I'm sure it is beyond the legal limit . . . The cleanliness of the theatre and washrooms is not great and when you try to address either of these issues with staff, they're too busy and claim there is nothing they can do about it - that's "not their job". Concession staff are busy with young trying to get their 'overpriced' popcorn out to them and there really is no-one 'available' to hear your complaints. Yes it is nice to have a multiplex theatre so close to home but . . . is it really that difficult to get something done about a few issues that can turn this place around so you could make this a golden opportunity where young and old would enjoy the entertainment and suggest their friends to join them - there are a lot of seniors in this area (as well as kids) - maybe we could look at one special that seniors would enjoy - a golden oldies type of movie once a week. Think it - just a thought to revive this mall in St. Thomas!! You deserve a much higher rating for being the only theatre in St. Thomas - let's do something about it!

Reviewed on: 05/27/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

best customer service

if you are looking for a theatre that is not as busy as the rest this is the one. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Reviewed on: 04/06/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Sound system?

Why so loud during the intro before the featured movie begins? I believe that the sound system is so loud that it damages your hearing. I have to plug my ears until the sound level is tolerable.

Reviewed on: 03/19/2018

Overall Rating

3.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Good experiences

All around good experiences. Sound could be slightly lower and of course the concession prices are very high.

Reviewed on: 03/04/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

No real cashiers, concession to expensive, too loud, no decent problem solving, bankers hours

What can I say only theater in town so no competition for Galaxy to set higher standards for the theater..sound system too loud....Concession stand too pricey....hours are horrible, thought that idea of moving theater to mall was for accessibility , movie basically playing all the time, joke. they only open when it suits them. No cashier buy tickets through their little stand by interact or go without. No complaint forum, if you are lucky enough to tell a manager why you are dissatisfied, they feel compelled to tell you bull crap instead of fixing the issue. Highly unsatisfied with this theater, but you know you have to take what you can get when they are the only ones.

Reviewed on: 01/17/2018

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Too Loud

This theatre has in my experience always had its audio set too loud...the pre-movie ads have catastrophic sound levels. I have sat through a few movies with my husband because he did not want to leave(he had decreased hearing) but I have not been there for approximately two years, Instead, I have travelled to London for movies. Last week I broke down and decided to support local and tried a matinee movie on Sunday. The audio was even louder than I remembered. Three minutes after the actual movie started, I left and asked for a refund because I had started to develop a headache and nausea. If this movie theatre was a workplace, all patrons would have to wear ear protection. ..Incidentally, when I had previously had attended movies here, male patrons had shouted out "Turn it down!" with effect but that had obviously not resulted in a change of audio level.

Reviewed on: 03/12/2017

Overall Rating

2.5 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Falling apart

During a visit to theater , screen 5 to be exact , on way up stairs to seat , used handrail for support , and IT FELL OFF, causing me to fall and land on my elbow, spill my food and drink and public humiliation .... After I gathered my mess up , went to front area and informed them that handrail was loose and I had fell .... All I got was " oh .... Ok we will look at it and get it fixed "

Reviewed on: 03/11/2016

Overall Rating

2.5 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Repetitious commercial messages

Is it necessary to show the same Milk farm commercial 4-times before the movie is shown?

Reviewed on: 01/02/2016

Overall Rating

3.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating