Galaxy Cinemas Peterborough Square

Peterborough Showtimes

Galaxy Cinemas Peterborough Square

320 Water Street Peterborough, ON, K9H 7N9 (705) 749-2000

General Ratings

General Experience

2.3 user rating

Concession

2.1 user rating

Cleanliness

2.7 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.4 user rating

Customer Service

2.7 user rating

15 Reviews for Galaxy Cinemas Peterborough Square

Sort by

Always a good experience

We are regular (weekly) theatre goers, and our experience at Galaxy Peterborough has always been good to excellent. I simply don't understand the current rating of this venue on your website. It's the only movie theatre serving a large area population and gets a ton of traffic. All things considered, the place is clean, the service friendly, and the individual theares are comfortable with quality screen presentations. When compared to similar venues in say, Oshawa and Whitby, Galaxy Peterborough more than holds it's own. It is also the only location east of Toronto that has free indoor parking - a feature that should also be recognized. We have watched literally 100s of movies at the Galaxy and have always enjoyed a good experience.

Reviewed on: 12/01/2018

Overall Rating

4.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Pleasant experience, but im not sure you get what you pay for

It is generally decently clean. No complaints there. The workers are usually exceedingly friendly and helpful. The theatres look nice and have comfortable seating. The projectors rarely have messed up in all the years I've been going to see movies there. Maybe a couple of times? The volume is a bit loud, but thats probably pretty normal for most theatres tbh. Concession is a real kick in the pants. While the selection is good, the prices are ridiculous. They recently started charging for butter. -_- Wtf do I want popcorn without butter for? I'm neither on a diet nor am I 80. Just give me my friggin popcorn and stop nickle and dimeing me into oblivion!! I only complain about the popcorn b/c it is very much indicative of the biggest problem. The problem being the predatory pricing that goes on at this movie theatre. Everything else about it is very good. It has a fun arcade, good access to parking, good movies, everything is good... Except for the absolutely absurd prices. If you go, you'll probably have a good time... but you'll pay out the ass for that good time, no doubt. Is it worth it?... I'm not so sure. Go at your own risk.

Reviewed on: 09/21/2018

Overall Rating

3.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Dirty, smelly

The only good part was watching the movie. Concession stand prices are hideously high, men's bathrooms are smelly, dirty with wet counters and floors all the times I've been there. Lobby area is really dark , confusing layout, with directions and signs telling you to buy tickets at different locations. The seats in the theater need a good cleaning, pre-show adverts are unnecessarily loud. Parking during the day is costly, after 6pm it's free. Poor selection of films, only mainstream stuff, never much variety.

Reviewed on: 07/31/2018

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Our "go-to" theatre

We lived in the Peterborough area for 11 years and usually attended a Friday matinee at the Galaxy before moving south to Bowmanville. Although there are now several theatres closer to our new home, we find ourselves continually going back to the Galaxy in Peterborough. We appreciate the free covered parking (especially in winter) and just find the theatre well-run and an overall pleasant experience.

Reviewed on: 02/03/2018

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Never plays anything unless it's mainstream comedy, horror or superhero films

Hasn't had any of the 3 most anticipated films in the past few months, which they showed the trailers for including: Goodbye Christopher Robin, Lady Bird, Shape of Water and many more. If you want something other than a marvel film or another crappy comedy you have to go into Toronto now. They give 3 theaters to Thor but nothing else. It has really gone downhill in the last few years.

Reviewed on: 12/18/2017

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Needs improvements

We have found broken seats worn out seats. Not enough consession workers, to long wait in line up. AVX theatre #1 way to loud...we won't go to a movie in that theatre. On good side ticket price fair. If a manager reads this pleaseeeeee fix the sound!!!!

Reviewed on: 09/06/2017

Overall Rating

1.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

......bad

sigh

Reviewed on: 09/03/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

RIP OFF!!!!!!

Very unhappy with my experience going to a movie here!

Reviewed on: 09/03/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Gross!!!

This place looked awesome from the outside but once you go in it goes from awesome to terrible pretty fast. I could not believe how nasty the theater seats were!! Me and my husband had to try three diffrent times to try and find a seat a seat that wasn't covered in old food, and the food we did get was awful my husbands popcorn was terribly burnt!!!! and the pizza slice I got tasted like it was made hours ago couldn't even finish it. Very unimpressed with the whole experience

Reviewed on: 08/31/2017

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

TOO LOUD!!!!!

My husband and I went to the show last night and went to the preferred seating theatre. Lovely seats - Then the preview started. Very loud but thought like any commercial, they are always loud. The show started and the volume stayed the same. My husband is hearing impaired and wears hearing aids. Last night he did not have them on, plugged his ears with his fingers and could still hear the movie clearly. I have good hearing and plugged my ears as well but had to leave the show within 5 min , if that, because my ears were hurting. If I can't handle that level, what about the children in the show that are going to be damaged. There are industry standards in manufacturing that require ear protection for that decibel level.

Reviewed on: 07/05/2017

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating