Kingsway Theatre

Toronto Showtimes

Kingsway Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W Toronto, ON, M8X 1C4 (416) 232-1939

General Ratings

General Experience

1.9 user rating

Concession

2.0 user rating

Cleanliness

2.1 user rating

Theatre Presentation

1.9 user rating

Customer Service

1.9 user rating

27 Reviews for Kingsway Theatre

Sort by

MOLDY!!!!

If you have mold allergies or just do not want to sit in a moldy theatre do not go here. Should be gutted and renovated. Absolutely horrible.

Reviewed on: 09/15/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Great quirky cinema experience.

Beautiful old theatre with some eccentricities - video screen in lobby playing cat videos. Delicious popcorn, free refills on soft drinks. A great place to see a movie.

Reviewed on: 08/10/2018

Overall Rating

4.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Weird staff, lovely old cinema.

Go to support an old cinema, but something wrong there...I called for info, as the website link I clicked on took me to a fake copy-cat site, and the person on the phone said I shouldn't have called them, that there was a website! I explained that their link was going to a fake site, and was told they know! Hmmm...My guess is they love cinema and wanted to rescue an old theatre, but hate people...(Had good experience being served food in bar area by differently-abled person, during street festival)...If you go to support old cinema, be prepared for anything...

Reviewed on: 07/16/2018

Overall Rating

3.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

These people are jerks

If you want to have the worst experience in a) projection b) freezing your ads off c) abusive customer service, feel free to go to this theatre. Oh, and they charge you 1.5 tines the cost of a real movie theatre.

Reviewed on: 04/28/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Great theatre experience!

Great selection of movies. What you miss at downtown independent cinemas you can pick up at the Kingsway.

Reviewed on: 03/16/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Great theater

Love this place, the people are always so friendly and it's always really clean. Shows start on time and the concession choices are amazing. I will be back!

Reviewed on: 03/06/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

No No No at The Kingsway

On March 2 my husband and I visited The Kingsway cinema, anticipating an enjoyable evening. While my husband parked, I entered the lobby, noting the signs stating that no food or drink nor backpacks were permitted in the theatre. Before I could ask for the tickets, the girl said curtly “no food or drink can be brought into the cinema” to which I said “OK, fine.” She repeated herself and told me to read the signs. I was puzzled at the tone and implication of her manner. I opened my arms wide and said “You can see that I have no food or drink with me. I am trying to buy food and tickets.” She dialed the manager, telling him “the customer does not like what I told her,” then saying to me she was instructed not to sell me any tickets! She again trotted out the “no food or drinks” mantra. Exasperated, I asked to see the manager/owner. When he appeared, without looking directly at me, he blurted out “This is a licensed establishment, it’s not negotiable.” (What?) He ran off, leaving me confused, angry, and embarrassed. Never have I been subjected to such a humiliating and uncalled-for experience in all the years I have gone to a cinema. What kind of establishment treats patrons this way? I found the whole display of an uncaring attitude, shoddy rudeness, and arrogant disdain towards a customer to be quite unbelievable. I did not fall into any of the “NO” categories on the signs and, even if I did, is this your idea of customer relations, Kingsway? When my husband returned and went into the theatre to determine why I had been treated so badly, he got the same response from the owner as I had, plus a warning about calling the police (before again scurrying off). Hello, I think we have a problem here. We rented the movie and watched it at home later that evening, saving the $60 or so we would have gladly spent at The Kingsway had we been welcome there. There are always other cinemas to visit, but never again The Kingsway.

Reviewed on: 03/06/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Gorgeous theatre; terrible customer service

The Kingsway Theatre was apparently built in 1939. It's a quaint, lovely building at Royal York and Bloor. As someone who loves old buildings, I think it's great that it's not only still standing but still playing movies. Unfortunately the astoundingly rude customer service ruins the whole experience. Last night I was waiting in line to buy tickets. The girl at the concession stand was refusing to sell tickets to a customer because she somehow got it into her head that the customer was bringing food in. This was puzzling as the woman in question had a very small purse and no food or drink in sight. She was waving her money trying to explain that she didn't have food on her and in fact wanted to BUY food at the concession stand and a movie ticket. Meanwhile the line was growing and instead of just taking care of business and selling the woman a ticket and food, the concession girl dug in her heels. The woman asked to speak to a manager who was shockingly rude to her. He didn't seem to care about customer service at all. Embarrassed, the woman left. Both myself and my partner felt bad for her and we agreed never to go to this theatre again. The movie started about 15 - 20 min late b/c of the staff arguing with the would-be customer. When we went into the theatre, there was trash all over the floor. Plus the tickets were sixteen bucks - more expensive than a regular professional theatre. Won't be going back until it's under new management.

Reviewed on: 03/03/2018

Overall Rating

1.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Terrible customer service.

I was very disappointed in my experience at this theatre, I had not been in a couple of years, it has really deteriorated. The customer service was atrocious.

Reviewed on: 01/20/2018

Overall Rating

1.25 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    not rated

Great experience

Offers movies no one else has, I always have a great experience here and appreciate that I can see lesser known films here that no one else is showing anywhere in the GTA in addition to all the big releases.

Reviewed on: 01/16/2018

Overall Rating

4.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating