Kingsway Theatre

Toronto Showtimes

Kingsway Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W Toronto, ON, M8X 1C4 (416) 232-1939

General Ratings

General Experience

3.1 user rating

Concession

3.1 user rating

Cleanliness

3.2 user rating

Theatre Presentation

3.0 user rating

Customer Service

3.0 user rating

33 Reviews for Kingsway Theatre

Sort by

More Appalling Customer Service - Choose another theatre!

Went straight from work and had my backpack with me with laptop. Was told that I must leave my backpack in staff room. When I asked how many staff there were and who had access to the room, the woman who works there told me she wasn't going to tell me how many staff there were and that she was going to make it real easy for me and not sell me a ticket.

Reviewed on: 06/25/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Appalling Customer Service

I am so sad to be writing this review, as I have loved coming here in the past years and supporting a small business. Last night, I went to the theatre and when I walked into the building, I was finishing about a quarter of a bagel. Stuffing it in my face as I wanted to get more food. The girl working had came up to me and said her manager has asked me to finish the food outside. So I walked back to the door all while continuing to chew fast and shoving it in my face as I didn't want to miss the movie. As I got to the outside door, she came back again and said my manager has asked again you finish it outside. I said I just shoved it in my mouth so I am chewing fast! I then went back in line, no food in hand, and waited to pay for a ticket. She then came back to me and said my manager has asked that you leave the premise. I asked why, and she said because you were eating. I mentioned that I ate it as fast as I could and respected that I needed to finish it before entering. As I left, I called the manager as he wouldn't come down and speak to me. And he picked up and yelled at me and then hung up. I called back 2 more times to fully understand (I am in customer service, and this is appalling) to which he continued to not take my call and just hang up. How sad is this? When a local is trying to support this business and get turned away so rudely and abruptly. I then turned around and went to see a movie at Cineplex. I am devastated about this experience but after reading the other reviews, it seems pretty common :(

Reviewed on: 05/29/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

I love neighbourhood theatres

I love neighbourhood theatres. we should have more of them like in the olden days.

Reviewed on: 04/20/2019

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Very Cold

Dont go unless its hot outside. Very damp & cold inside. Poor picture quality Very grainy Felt totally ripped We were the only 2 people in the theatre

Reviewed on: 04/14/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Cold, dirty, pathetic and rude

Staff are unbelievably idiotic and rude. Both theatres are cold, dank, sticky and dirty. The upstairs theatre feels claustrophic. The waiting area is cramped, not to mention bizarre. My experience at the Kingsway was pathetic.

Reviewed on: 03/04/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Decrepit building but shows interesting movies

I wish the owner could find the money to fix the fabric of this building up. It has the potential to be charming and retro, but at the moment it's only retro! The movies shown are a little different from the mainstream, which I really appreciate.

Reviewed on: 02/17/2019

Overall Rating

3.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

MOLDY!!!!

If you have mold allergies or just do not want to sit in a moldy theatre do not go here. Should be gutted and renovated. Absolutely horrible.

Reviewed on: 09/15/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Great quirky cinema experience.

Beautiful old theatre with some eccentricities - video screen in lobby playing cat videos. Delicious popcorn, free refills on soft drinks. A great place to see a movie.

Reviewed on: 08/10/2018

Overall Rating

4.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Weird staff, lovely old cinema.

Go to support an old cinema, but something wrong there...I called for info, as the website link I clicked on took me to a fake copy-cat site, and the person on the phone said I shouldn't have called them, that there was a website! I explained that their link was going to a fake site, and was told they know! Hmmm...My guess is they love cinema and wanted to rescue an old theatre, but hate people...(Had good experience being served food in bar area by differently-abled person, during street festival)...If you go to support old cinema, be prepared for anything...

Reviewed on: 07/16/2018

Overall Rating

3.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

These people are jerks

If you want to have the worst experience in a) projection b) freezing your ads off c) abusive customer service, feel free to go to this theatre. Oh, and they charge you 1.5 tines the cost of a real movie theatre.

Reviewed on: 04/28/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating