Port Hope Drive-In Theatre

Cobourg Showtimes

Port Hope Drive-In Theatre

2141 Theatre Rd. South Cobourg, ON, K9A 4J7 (905) 434-8233

General Ratings

General Experience

3.0 user rating

Concession

3.1 user rating

Cleanliness

1.9 user rating

Theatre Presentation

3.1 user rating

Customer Service

2.5 user rating

12 Reviews for Port Hope Drive-In Theatre

Sort by

Wow

Haven't been there for years,after reading the reviews ain't going there tonight,guess we will go elsewhere, fix the problems people.

Reviewed on: 06/25/2016

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Best popcorn ever

Please put kid movies out!!!!!

Reviewed on: 06/04/2016

Overall Rating

3.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Love the drive in experience but the staff here is TERRIBLE!!!

Staff rudely searched car on the way in for...contraband? No, outside food! We bought popcorn from the concession stand and it was terrible. Tasted like it came from a bag...not fresh popped. Prices comparable to going to any other theater so the price was fine but the quality is unbelievable. Staff is the worst. They threaten you from the moment you are there about the rules. Place seems dirty and you feel generally like they are tolerating you being there. Bizarre. I love the drive in experience. This one is the closest to home, may have to drive further to experience others. Such a shame.

Reviewed on: 09/25/2015

Overall Rating

1.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Rude, filthy, food quality not worth price

I brought my daughter to this theatre for a treat. The concession is filthy. The bathrooms as well. The gates open so late that by the time you get through the concession line you've missed the first half of the first movie. They don't allow outside food, but only provide unhealthy snacks and drinks which aren't suitable for kids. Our burgers were charred and the popcorn over salted (likely to get people to buy more overpriced drinks). This place is poorly run. It'd be nice to see the health department rating. Also, I think it's very inappropriate that they use their security cameras to view people in the privacy of their own cars. Perhaps the local police should be looking into this. We won't be returning. It's worth the drive to the farther drive in to have a more sanitary and stress free experience.

Reviewed on: 09/08/2015

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Young People Don't Get It

Growing up, drive ins were always the place parents go with the kids because it affords privacy and a lot of fun especially when you're there in a group. Clean bathrooms, concession stand cleanliness... Give me a break. IT'S A DRIVE IN! If you had seen some of the drive ins we used to go for entertainment 30 years ago, you'd realize they haven't changed a bit! You go for the fun, the nostalgia, the CHEAP admittance to some great flicks! We paid $7 per person! Been to a theatre in GTA and surrounding areas? $17 to $19 per person and the washrooms are even worse not to mention the idiot that keeps talking or the moron with a boufonne hairdo in front of you, and how about the kids that won't shut the heck up because modern day parents don't believe in discipline. I will drive any day the 50 minutes it takes to get to the Port Hope Drive In knowing I am in my own comfortable space with great surround sound in my MODERN vehicle with no interruptions and the only noise you hear is me and my date kissing between flicks. The people that want the champagne experience, stay or go to the big city and leave space in the centre aisle for those of us that appreciate the true drive in experience.

Reviewed on: 09/08/2015

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Please Sell

I wish they would sell and let someone else take over. Not operated very well. I live locally but have to make a long distance call to get the show times. The problem in this area is the cobourg theatre is also low quality so they have little competition. So there is little motivation to improve. I go out of town it's worth the drive and the extra money. The bathrooms are the worst which makes you wonder what the kitchen is like where they cook the food. Movie selection is terrible!

Reviewed on: 07/28/2015

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

great place

Awesome!

Reviewed on: 06/05/2015

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

same movies over and over again

For the last three years the movie selection is horrible. They play the same main feature for three weeks or more. This long weekend the Avengers is playing again. It's the third or fourth week now. If you want people to come to the drive in then change it up more often.

Reviewed on: 05/15/2015

Overall Rating

2.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Ignorant Staff

My boyfriend and I drove 45 minutes to try the Port Hope drive in for the first time. We had a plastic bag in the back seat with two small snacks, a water and a pop. I bought these snacks because I have severe allergies to gluten and corn which is in everything they sell at concession stands. He bluntly asked me to empty the bag 3 times. I ended up giving it to him and paying the $20 to get in. We parked our car and sat there talking about how ridiculous it was to get treated like that by some rude kid. We figured he would be the type to go through vehicles during the movie and after reading the review below I guess it's normal practice at this place. We drove out walked up to the guy and got our money and stuff back with a smart remark from the guy of course. We left and will never go back. If you're thinking about going to a drive in I suggest you go anywhere but here, unless you enjoy being disrespected by a bunch of kids.

Reviewed on: 09/22/2014

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Extremely rude and not understanding

We are staying at a cottage. Packed the kids up with a few treats from Dollarama and was unable to enter due to our snacks. A family of four was turned away ahead of us as well. I have NEVER been treated like this and they lost out on two full cars that may have purchased something from the concession stand anyway. The staff is very rude, unhelpful and apparently does not care about making money or having a good reputation.

Reviewed on: 08/12/2014

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating