Rialto Theatre, Courtenay

Courtenay Showtimes

Rialto Theatre, Courtenay

2655 Cliffe Avenue Courtenay, BC, V9N 2L8 (250) 338-5550

General Ratings

General Experience

1.8 user rating

Concession

1.9 user rating

Cleanliness

1.8 user rating

Theatre Presentation

1.9 user rating

Customer Service

2.3 user rating

144 Reviews for Rialto Theatre, Courtenay

Sort by

Worst theater on the Island

This place is the worst, they haven't even listed the films on the marque for the last year, no one would ever go here if there were any other options. The management of this theater needs to figure this out.

Reviewed on: 12/15/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Courtenay

All is good for me, except that after watching a movie for an hour or so, I feel that seats are not comfortable and try to place myself in a better /different position. I do not understand why people give so low rating as we are a small town and I am already happy that we have a theatre. the more so they have specials/ discounts. I just try to go to a late show as last time it was a group of teens who were very loud and laughing a lot absolutely in appropriate places ( it was a horror movie and a very good one) . But it is not about the theatre itself, so I give quite a high rating. I hope that chairs can be replaced by better ones, but again - who knows if they get enough money flow from us, local people as in most cases there are not much of audience.

Reviewed on: 11/18/2017

Overall Rating

4.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Worst seats in town

The seats need to be upgraded very uncomfortable

Reviewed on: 10/20/2017

Overall Rating

2.25 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

The courtenay theatre is a disgraceful dump!

When you enter, you feel as if you should have a long coat on and wear dark glasses! It’s disgusting and filthy..nothing has been updated since it opened. And you have to walk around to find a seat that’s not tilted to either side or that doesn’t have some sort of gross yuk on it!!

Reviewed on: 09/27/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

City of Courtenay should close it

No sane person would stay five minutes in this dump.

Reviewed on: 09/23/2017

Overall Rating

1.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

I like this quaint theatre

This quiant theatre has character not found in the new theatres. Sadly, landmatk needs to start paying attention to upkeep. It feels like they have given up on this theatre ... a theatre that could be a gem with staff more dedicated to daily upkeep and a bit of extra building maintenance.

Reviewed on: 08/15/2017

Overall Rating

3.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Yikes

It's a wonder that movie studios would even lease their movies to this disgraceful edifice. A hazmat suit is the only suitable attire once you enter the building. Every ceiling is encrusted with some indescribable mould, the seats are only suitable for Yogis that have been practising transandental meditation on a bed of nails and the sound system is worse than Fred Flinstones bird playing a gramophone with it's beak. Needless to say my advice is to stay well away, maybe we will get lucky and the whole shamefull mess will implode into a smouldering ruin.

Reviewed on: 08/12/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

1980 seats with 1990 decor/colour.

For the amount they charge for admission, you'd think upgrading the seats, or at least replacing the foam, would be a priority. Especially since customer comfort will keep 'em coming back, or turn 'em away forever. Nanaimo is only an hour away and my family is willing to travel to not endure the numbness this theatre's seats inflict 15min into a movie. My advice when anybody asks; stay away, Rialto is dying and owner says do not resuscitate!

Reviewed on: 08/09/2017

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

worst theatre on Vancouver Island....Needs to make its high prices reflect a much better experience.

Seats are uncomfortable, whole theatre and sound system need a complete updated renovation. Theatre manager is too lazy to put up the movies on the outside display! Would much rather travel to Nanaimo (1.25 hr drive) to see a movie!!!! will not bother to sign up with Tribute because I cannot go to Courtenay's Movie Theatre....if the theatre is loosing money...maybe it is because of the way Landmark has shamefully let the threatre go down hill!

Reviewed on: 08/01/2017

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Landmark should be ashamed!

Compared to the Country Hills location in Calgary this location should be condemned! We live in Courtenay but went to the Calgary location while on vacation in July, paid the same price for a ticket as Courtenay but got roomy reclining chairs with tons of legroom, & friendly customer service! We will NEVER return to the Rialto in Courtenay unless Landmark upgrades... it is old, dirty & uncomfortable. Are the folks at Landmark even aware if this... reflects poorly on their brand!

Reviewed on: 07/27/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating