Thank you for rating this theatre!

Scotiabank Theatre Halifax

Formerly Cineplex Cinemas Bayers Lake

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 2.40 42 votes and 38 reviews | Rate Theatre

190 Chain Lake Drive, Halifax, NS B3S 1C5

(902) 422-2022 | View Map


2.40 / 5

User rating: 2.40

Based on 42 votes and 38 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.28571428571429
  • Concession User rating: 2.21951219512195
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.43589743589744
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.6
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.46341463414634

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 31 to 38 of 38

Worst movie experience I ever had.

August 11, 2014

My wife and I went to see into the storm on Friday night. First off I called in the afternoon to make sure my Empire tickets that I had received as a Christmas gift was valid and not considered a pass. I was told yes they are valid and I can use them for the movie. Now my wife and I go to the theater and get in the lineup for treats and drinks. We ended up getting in the slowest possible lineup as the person behind the counter was slower than the hinges of you know what. I complained to someone regarding this however she continued to stay and her speed did not get any better after 25 minutes of waiting in her lineup and there were 7 to 8 people in front of us we moved to a second lineup. we actually ended up getting served before the person who was in front of us in the slower line - absolutely ridiculous and terrible service. now we order our food and I present our tickets and guess what I am told that these tickets are no longer any good I said why not they have an expiring date of June 2015 and I was advised they no longer honor tickets purchased in the name of Empire theaters. This is ridiculous Cineplex purchased Empire theaters and should automatically honor all tickets sold in the name of Empire. This is just the another way for them to make money by not honoring these tickets and making you buy new tickets. I said no I want to speak to management I never did get to speak to management because they then decided to give my wife and I free complementary tickets to the movie. Now they are trying to save face because several people from several lines have been watching and listening to what was being said. Time since we entered the theater has now taken longer than one half hour. Anyway we also ordered two poutines and proceeded to the counter to pick them up. there we waited for over 10 minutes. Time now has exceeded 40 minutes since coming into the theater. again worst movie experience we ever had. We were very embarrassed by the way we were treated

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Convenient and great theatre optione

June 10, 2014

Love the movies

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Very disappointing!!!

May 19, 2014

The graphics in the movie was fantastic but the service was terrible and very disappointing. First off, I was told that my daughter, 13 years old, had to pay the adult fee which is not what the website says. I even got the clerk to ask the manager and he said she had to pay $14.99 for a 3d film. Then the girl forgot to scan my scene card and when I mentioned it to her, she said I would have to do it myself online because she had already finish the transaction. Which also meant, that I lost my 10 percent discount on the popcorn and two pop I purchased. The theater wasnt cleaned so we were told me would wait 10 minutes to get in which turned out to be 30 minutes. And to top it all off, the power went out during the movie so we sat about 10 minutes listening to the movie and not watching it. When the movie was rewound, it wasn't rewound to the part that it stopped, so we missed a very critical point to the movie. No one came in to offer us a free pass for another movie or even explain to the crowd what had taken place. If i my business like that, I would be "out" of business! I would to be compensated for tonight's movie!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Thank you!

December 27, 2013

Thank you for buying the awful Empire theatres! Now I can finally collect Scene points again and enjoy movies like I used to. It's the same staff, so anyone who says the service is worse is an idiot.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

worst designed website

December 25, 2013

All I want to know is the price of a senior movie ticket and what age do you consider a seniors age requirement. Your website is not user friendly to seniors. What are you going to do when all the baby boomers are seniors?

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Cineplex is Awful!

December 11, 2013

Horrible prices, terrible staff and just an overall terrible experience!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

October 22, 2013

nice big modern theatre with great theatre rooms. good for birthday parties. good parking. reataurants nearby

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

October 08, 2013

thank you for making it an experience. love the new seating, more space,

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4
Change Location
* required!
* required!