Scotiabank Theatre St. John's

St. John's Showtimes

Scotiabank Theatre St. John's

48 Kenmount Road St. John's, NL, A1B 1W3 (709) 722-5763

General Ratings

General Experience

3.0 user rating

Concession

2.9 user rating

Cleanliness

3.5 user rating

Theatre Presentation

3.7 user rating

Customer Service

3.4 user rating

25 Reviews for Scotiabank Theatre St. John's

Sort by

Customer service

Best customer service hands down! I had a issue with my movie and the manager (Michelle) was very pleasant and help me and my family.. we will definitely be back.

Reviewed on: 03/09/2018

Overall Rating

3 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Poor Service for Handicap People

My brother has an access card so I can not get a free ticket on line. Now when we go to the movies there is at least a 20 minute wait if not longer waiting in the concession line to purchase a ticket. We do not purchase any food but have to wait in the same lineup as people purchasing food. I've called and asked why you couldn't have a line up there just for people buying tickets and no one has gotten back to me.

Reviewed on: 01/02/2018

Overall Rating

2.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Not enough staff. ....so poor management

The service counter is never open. There are never enough concessions open. I went to a matinee last week and only one concession was open and the line was so long I would have missed my movie. Why is it always so cold in the theatres?

Reviewed on: 10/24/2017

Overall Rating

2.67 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    not rated

Not as bad as some say.

I attend at least 2 movies a week. I enjoy. I don't purchase food as it is way over priced. The theater is fine, clean, warm and I find the air condition does work when it should. Great enjoyable past time. Complainers...stop complaining! St. John's theater is just as great as across Canada. I've been in many as well.

Reviewed on: 09/15/2017

Overall Rating

4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Deafening

The audio is wayyy too loud. I bring ear plugs now. I'm not the only one who thinks this, I've had several people say to me about the audio. Please adjust it. You should have left concession stands on both sides, instead of all on one side, and having the secondary pick up window was a bad idea. Who wants to line up twice? Much too long getting snacks.

Reviewed on: 08/01/2017

Overall Rating

3 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Denied Entry

I bought a ticket for a film a few months ago, only to be stopped by the manager. He told me I was not allowed in the theater and when I asked why he wouldn't tell me. I had not been to a movie since 2014 and the last time I was there I didn't cause any disturbances (nor have I ever) or break any rules, such as sneaking into a movie without paying for it (I have seen people do this in the past). The tickets are overpriced and so is the food; it takes a VERY LONG TIME TO GET THE FOOD - a friend of mine told me he was once going to buy poutine for a movie but twenty minutes later the person ahead of him was still being served; he ended up not buying anything since his movie would start soon. I did challenge the manager when he told me I wasn't welcome; his response was "there were complaints" and when I asked from who he would not disclose that information to me - once again I had not been to the theatre since 2014 and that experience was good, so there must be some mistake. I decided not to pursue it since I don't need the aggravation and it's not much of a loss on my part - I will be saving money and not having to deal with seat-kickers or people who won't be quiet during the movie. I can just wait until the movie is available for rent on TV for only $5.99 - which is cheaper than paying $15.99 at the theatre, not including the cost of food! If Scotiabank Theatres wants to lose their customers, they are doing the right thing. If they want to keep their customers, they need to change some of the issues (such as wait time for food, prices, and the way they treat customers)!

Reviewed on: 11/18/2016

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

theatre good

Food good but way overpriced. Seating good if you get there early. Sound too loud for certain movies

Reviewed on: 10/03/2016

Overall Rating

3.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Great theatre

O.K.

Reviewed on: 09/09/2016

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Waaaaay to slow

Went to Scotiabank Theatre in St. John's last night. The line up to get tickets was a bit long so I told my husband I would get into the line up for concessions and wait for him. Well it was a good thing I did..... He got the tickets and joined me in the line up and we waited 45 minutes. All the lineups were slow not just ours. In fact there were some ladies who sat behind us in the movie and they missed 15 minutes of the movie (not the trailers the actual movie) and I saw them only a few places behind us in the line. You have made things waaaaay to complicated. Popcorn, wings, pizza, pulled pork sandwiches and on and on. What happened to going to a movie and getting popcorn and a drink? Not all lines were open. Even if you added one more person to help get drinks or popcorn for the each of the cashiers or something. No one seemed to care.

Reviewed on: 08/08/2016

Overall Rating

2.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Ticket Kiosk are NEVER Open when i go to buy my ticket! I would like to purchase my ticket at the counter not the self serve machine especially when the movie is IMAX, because everyone wants me to purchase there tickets so the seats are together! I am not a ATM hahaha! Any love and enjoy the movies once a week! But i will never get the 2 hours back i wasted on 10 Cloverfield Lane (Worst Movie of My Lifetime) But that is Not Your Fault Hahaha! Picture and Sounds are *Perfect* Thank you!!

Reviewed on: 03/29/2016

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating