Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

Winnipeg Showtimes

Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

817 St. James Street Winnipeg, MB, R3G 3L3 (204) 774-1001

General Ratings

General Experience

2.4 user rating

Concession

2.5 user rating

Cleanliness

2.9 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.9 user rating

Customer Service

2.5 user rating

30 Reviews for Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

Sort by

Why is the food so bad?

When someone pays a lot of money for food, one would usually expect at least some level of care in the flavour, texture, or even presentation and temperature of “hot food”; over cooked or even stale feeling chicken fingers or boneless wings, chicken sandwiches where the temperature varies throughout, pizza with an crust feeling. It has been on more than one occasion that the hot food area has poorly delivered anything reasonable other than regular fries. Seats are otherwise comfortable and buying movie tickets is smooth. Popcorn sales area is ok, but someone please take care of the hot food section.

Reviewed on: 09/08/2019

Overall Rating

2.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Promoting Hate

This theatre has made the terrible decision to show the movie "Unplanned" which has been described as a "hate propoganda against women and abortion providers". Avoid this theatre.

Reviewed on: 07/14/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    not rated

AVOID!

There is one theatre in Winnipeg that opted to show the controversial movie Unplanned. This is it! A review of this film in the Globe and Mail says the "Anti-abortion film Unplanned is a disgusting piece of propaganda that may endanger the health of women". One of the top critics on Rotten Tomatoes says "Unplanned will make you writhe in agony over how such an ugly, malicious and potentially dangerous piece of religious and political propaganda could have made its way into this world." I am disheartened by this theater's choice to promote such a film as entertainment and will no longer consider them an option for my movie-going outings. I would encourage you to follow suit!

Reviewed on: 07/14/2019

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

It reminds me of a garbage dump

I recently saw the movie “Yesterday”, great movie. Other than that, the experience was awful. For starters, as you make your way into the building, there are garage bins overflowing with trash. They are so full the trash is scattered everywhere. Next to one of the trash bins is a (rat)rodent trap. Inside they building is not any better. I would not pay to see a movie at a garbage dump, but that is exactly what I did going to this theatre.

Reviewed on: 07/07/2019

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Bravo Scotiabank theater

I went to see Shazam at Scotiabank theater . First off the lights stayed on in the theater for about 5 minutes into the film ,until another patron advised them of their goof . Then halfway into the film , the movie froze up , and then went black , never to come on again . This could've been a real piss off but ,to Scotiabank theaters credit they gave every patron 2 courtesy passes for future use . Bravo Scotia bank ! good move on your part .

Reviewed on: 05/05/2019

Overall Rating

4.5 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Don't waste your time and money

What a waste of time and money... Stay home is better..

Reviewed on: 03/31/2019

Overall Rating

3.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    4 user rating

Gone downhill

This theater has gone downhill big time . The staff are all a bunch of kids who seem to be less than motivated to say the least . My latest trip here ,the theater was so hot ,I thought I was going to have a stroke . But who do you complain to ... some kid who probably doesn't give a shit ? I've yet to see a manager or someone who looks like they are in charge . I'll take my movie buying money elsewhere .

Reviewed on: 03/29/2019

Overall Rating

2.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

manager always hiding....if there even is one! Pitiful.

sound level not properly set......I am not surprised! My main complaint is the total lack of management. bathrooms are usually filthy.

Reviewed on: 12/27/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Filthy

I haven't been to this theater in years and was shocked how dirty it was, common areas, bathroom and theater. I was not impressed.

Reviewed on: 09/08/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    not rated
  • Cleanliness

    not rated
  • Theatre Presentation

    not rated
  • Customer Service

    not rated

Public Service

What I appreciate most about this theater, and this chain, is the psa before the movie letting people know they're jerks for kicking the back of the seat and texting during the movie. Unfortunately, some jerks are still jerks, but at least the theater is trying to do something about it. PUT AWAY YOUR DAMN PHONE! STOP KICKING THE DAMN SEAT!

Reviewed on: 07/06/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating