Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.12 32 votes and 30 reviews | Rate Theatre

850 N. May St, Thunder Bay, ON P7C 6A5

807-628-8445 | View Map


2.12 / 5

User rating: 2.12

Based on 32 votes and 30 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.40625
  • Concession User rating: 1.83870967741935
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.86666666666667
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.45161290322581
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.03225806451613

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service


Type the code:




Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 30

January 29, 2019

They need to use a better quality butter that's for sure they call it real butter but it tastes like crap

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

where is security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

February 06, 2019

I have had my vehicle vandalized two times, and everytime I approach the silvercity staff and management, they don't care. They refuse to do anything about it. How sad, as long as you're making money I guess that is all that matters, obviously not the safety of the people that keep you in business. On a regular basis there are ppl there who are wandering around checking peoples vehicle doors and even when it is locked they smash to gain accesses. SILVERCITY YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OR YOURSELVES, DONT BE SOOOO CHEAP AND GET SECURITY SO THE PEOPLE THAT WANT TO ENJOY A MOVIE CAN DO SO KNOWING THEY ARE SAFE.!!!!!!!!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

A Standard Theater with Pleasant Staff

March 28, 2018

I'm a huge movie buff so I'm here almost every week. Out of the 50 times I've been there in my life the theater has been unacceptably unclean about 5-6 times. Concession prices are a rip off anywhere you go so that's nothing new. Every staff encounter has always been a friendly one and have never been spoken rudely to. I've had 5 movies start however without the lights in the cinema turing off where someone had to leave the movie to grab a staff member to turn off the lights. Overall my experience with Silvercity Thunder Bay has been a pleasant experience . 4/5

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

BEST JUNK FOOD IN TOWN!

February 15, 2015

Me and my friends very enjoy this theatre one thing u could change would be showing showtimes 1 week before the general audience wants to go! Me and my friends are getting on our nerves because we want to go to see a movie on saturday february 21 and we are very axtions to see the sponge bob movie btw i am 4 years old bye bye love u

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Good times

June 06, 2017

Never experienced most of the issues people are complaining about, except for the odd persons having their cell phones out. Been to several movie theatres around Canada and the U.S. And this theatre is on par with or in better shape than most. There aren't many theatres where you can see movies at this low of admission prices. The concession stand prices are no higher than anywhere else either. If people have concerns about security then they should speak to a manager or the police if they have been threatened or have their vehicles broken into.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Need to Review Pandemic Protocols

September 27, 2020

Sadly their overly strict protocol is not encouraging people to come to the theatre during the pandemic. There were only 4 people in our theatre, and the worker came in and accosted us about sitting one row further back which of course was even further from the other 2 people. Tickets should be scanned as people are coming in and not while people are seated as physical distancing is not being respected. The food outlets were not open for the most part. I think they should check to make sure everyone is spaced within theatres, but they should not be quibbling about small variations. Also, why can't the back row be available for heaven's sake. Anyway, I can't see myself going back for a long time after this very negative experience. Perhaps Cineplex could learn from Landmark who is doing quite a good job based on my experience in Manitoba during the summer.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

March 02, 2016

Not exactly the best. Rather pricey for the food, I see they clean after every movie but it still could be more tidy. Friendly service and my fiancee and I do enjoy the short movies they have before the featured film, we find they are age appropriate for the film we're there to see. We also enjoy the trivia and I enjoy the magazines but for the price of the drinks and food, one would hope to get at least a "complimentary" souvenir cup and whatever dish the food comes in. My family and I do really love that they kept their customers comfort in mind when designing the theater rooms. Rounded screens, convenient cup holders and comfy seats:-)Although I wish this theater was located in a safer area. I prefer night shows but I would go during the day when it's safer. Having lived in the area once before, my fiancee and I have been approached by many unsavory people asking for things and offering favors which should only be mentioned to people who are in a relationship of that sort with that individual. I would strongly suggest security to help keep your customers safe from danger, their vehicles from vandalism, including robbery. Hard to keep customers if they keep getting attacked by gangs and crazies with knives. How many families avoid coming here to keep their children safe? We won't bring our daughter here and the baby we're expecting won't be going either. -4 right there, times that by 20 families who haven't commented. But we really do like the decor hanging in the main lobby.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

August 28, 2013

enjoy the place

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Has Deteriorated in Recent Times

August 22, 2019

I've had a few bad experiences here of late. One time I ordered a hot dog with nachos and the worker gave me one that was too large, the wrong item (apparently). I had my hand on the edge of it obviously, and the worker rudely put his hand right on top of the food and grabbed it away. "Like they would be able to give it to another customer" and it would or should have been put in the garbage, so obviously they should have given it to me when they realized their mistake. Most recently, I sat at the back with my friend and there were two young men sitting there. They then proceeded to answer the phone and talk and take messages. I finally told them to quit it and they did, and they left within half an hour, not coming back. I can't prove it, but I think these two guys were employees waiting for their shift to start which explains why they left so soon. Also, it seems that all the employees working there before are no longer there, and there is different staff who are all one nationality. Thunder Bay is a multi-cultural city, where people are polite for the most part, and this business should reflect this in their staff and manner. I walk in there and I feel like I'm not even in Thunder Bay! Whenever I go it seems there aren't a lot of people there going to movies. One other problem is sitting in the back you often hear the workers talking in the camera room. Movies are sometimes too loud such as musicals. Speaking of food, I often don't eat there anymore because I feel ill afterwards, I think because of the oils they are using. I sure hope Thunder Bay doesn't lose its theatre like some other communities!! There used to be such good customer service there. Please show the family films here. I am disappointed that Overcomer is not coming to this theatre.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Staff don’t listen

October 08, 2018

I pay for extra butter,and then I have to remind them to put it on. Some times I forgot to remind them and every time they forget. I get all comfy in my seat,start eating my popcorn and there again and again again every time. The staff doesn’t listen,Or maybe they just don’t give a dam,that I paid for extra butter. I go to the movies once a week,but am really considering staying home and watching Netflix or streaming a movie. It’s cheaper,Its warmer at my house,don’t have to get out of pyjames and I NEVER forget the butter on my popcorn. Plus the bathrooms you can smell the stench has you walk by.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: