SilverCity Thunder Bay

Thunder Bay Showtimes

SilverCity Thunder Bay

850 North May Street Thunder Bay, ON, P7C 6A5 (807) 628-8455

General Ratings

General Experience

2.4 user rating

Concession

1.9 user rating

Cleanliness

1.8 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.4 user rating

Customer Service

2.1 user rating

28 Reviews for SilverCity Thunder Bay

Sort by

Has Deteriorated in Recent Times

I've had a few bad experiences here of late. One time I ordered a hot dog with nachos and the worker gave me one that was too large, the wrong item (apparently). I had my hand on the edge of it obviously, and the worker rudely put his hand right on top of the food and grabbed it away. "Like they would be able to give it to another customer" and it would or should have been put in the garbage, so obviously they should have given it to me when they realized their mistake. Most recently, I sat at the back with my friend and there were two young men sitting there. They then proceeded to answer the phone and talk and take messages. I finally told them to quit it and they did, and they left within half an hour, not coming back. I can't prove it, but I think these two guys were employees waiting for their shift to start which explains why they left so soon. Also, it seems that all the employees working there before are no longer there, and there is different staff who are all one nationality. Thunder Bay is a multi-cultural city, where people are polite for the most part, and this business should reflect this in their staff and manner. I walk in there and I feel like I'm not even in Thunder Bay! Whenever I go it seems there aren't a lot of people there going to movies. One other problem is sitting in the back you often hear the workers talking in the camera room. Movies are sometimes too loud such as musicals. Speaking of food, I often don't eat there anymore because I feel ill afterwards, I think because of the oils they are using. I sure hope Thunder Bay doesn't lose its theatre like some other communities!! There used to be such good customer service there. Please show the family films here. I am disappointed that Overcomer is not coming to this theatre.

Reviewed on: 08/22/2019

Overall Rating

2.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    3 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

where is security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have had my vehicle vandalized two times, and everytime I approach the silvercity staff and management, they don't care. They refuse to do anything about it. How sad, as long as you're making money I guess that is all that matters, obviously not the safety of the people that keep you in business. On a regular basis there are ppl there who are wandering around checking peoples vehicle doors and even when it is locked they smash to gain accesses. SILVERCITY YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OR YOURSELVES, DONT BE SOOOO CHEAP AND GET SECURITY SO THE PEOPLE THAT WANT TO ENJOY A MOVIE CAN DO SO KNOWING THEY ARE SAFE.!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed on: 02/06/2019

Overall Rating

4.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

They need to use a better quality butter that's for sure they call it real butter but it tastes like crap

Reviewed on: 01/29/2019

Overall Rating

4.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Where are all the current movies that are playing everywhere else????

WHY IS THIS THEATRE NOT PLAYING MOVIES THAT ARE CURRENTLY PLAYING EVERYWHERE ELSE AND HAVE BEEN OUT FOR WEEKS NOW?????? COME ON SILVERCITY GET WITH THE PROGRAM, SOME OF USE WANT TO SEE MOVIES THAT HAVE ACTUALLY BEEN RATED AS DECENT MOVIES

Reviewed on: 01/05/2019

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Staff don’t listen

I pay for extra butter,and then I have to remind them to put it on. Some times I forgot to remind them and every time they forget. I get all comfy in my seat,start eating my popcorn and there again and again again every time. The staff doesn’t listen,Or maybe they just don’t give a dam,that I paid for extra butter. I go to the movies once a week,but am really considering staying home and watching Netflix or streaming a movie. It’s cheaper,Its warmer at my house,don’t have to get out of pyjames and I NEVER forget the butter on my popcorn. Plus the bathrooms you can smell the stench has you walk by.

Reviewed on: 10/08/2018

Overall Rating

2.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Why are decent movies being pulled early

I have on more than one occasion tried to se a movie only to find the Thunder Bay's ONLY theatre has pulled it only after a few weeks,AND in its place have put in movies that are played to death on tv, not fair since you chased out every other movie theatre in town. EX. Mama Mai, we tried a few times to see this movie but it was full, so we waited and only a few weeks later you pulled the movie, and replaced it with older movies that we can see anytime on tv, Thanks Silvercity you still suck,,, btw tell the ushers to acutally clean the theatre between movies, i was there a few weeks ago and it was disgusting, and the seats had grease all over them, about 7 of us had to move because we couldn't find a clean place to sit.

Reviewed on: 08/25/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Rude customer service

There was a power outage on Sunday July 29th before our movie started so we were told to hold onto our stubs and come back to exchange after sitting in the dark for a few minutes. We returned the following Sunday to see the movie and exchange our stubs for tickets. The girl working called over the manager which was a very rude lady with blue hair. She asked how much of our movie we missed which we said the whole thing. Her response was the power was only out for 15 minutes. She was extremely rude about it and reluctantly gave us passes to see the movie. She ruined the day for me, there was no reason to be so rude to a paying customer. We did what we were told and she flat out called us liars.

Reviewed on: 08/07/2018

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

A Standard Theater with Pleasant Staff

I'm a huge movie buff so I'm here almost every week. Out of the 50 times I've been there in my life the theater has been unacceptably unclean about 5-6 times. Concession prices are a rip off anywhere you go so that's nothing new. Every staff encounter has always been a friendly one and have never been spoken rudely to. I've had 5 movies start however without the lights in the cinema turing off where someone had to leave the movie to grab a staff member to turn off the lights. Overall my experience with Silvercity Thunder Bay has been a pleasant experience . 4/5

Reviewed on: 03/28/2018

Overall Rating

4.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

STAYHOME

Noisy dirty theater! People in thunder bay have NO ethics!?? Talking and using cell phones all through the movie, and NO ushers doing their jobs. You can't contact the management to complain !!!! Save your money, movie will be on Netflix soon enough.

Reviewed on: 12/20/2017

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Good times???? where is security.

Good Times??? Many people have spoken to management and workers and they keep saying its not their problem. But it is...if you have a business you are responsible for their safety . They don't seem to care as long as they're making money. So dont assume no one has said anything as they have many many times. and obviously you dont go as often as others, because most times the theatre is disgusting, the seats have popcorn grease all over them, and the floors are so sticky that your shoes stick to the floor. BTW management please bring back the security guard, i am sure you can afford it.

Reviewed on: 08/13/2017

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating