Thank you for rating this theatre!

The 5 Drive-In

5 Drive-In

User rating: 3.34 25 votes and 17 reviews | Rate Theatre

2331 Ninth Line, Oakville, ON L9J 4Z2

(905) 257-8272 | View Map


3.34 / 5

User rating: 3.34

Based on 25 votes and 17 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.76
  • Concession User rating: 3.04545454545455
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.04166666666667
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.54166666666667
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.33333333333333

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service


Type the code:




Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 17

Always go there

November 15, 2014

Ive been going there since 1959 always my favorite

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Better than the regular cinemas

December 31, 2018

As others have sais, this place is cheap, great if you like to talk, volume can be adjusted, and there's a great playground for kids before the movie starts.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Excellent

February 08, 2018

Love this place. It’s always a great time. Food is good, staff is nice and competent. Dark nighttime scenes are sometimes hard to see on screen (however this is also dependent on weather) and the bathrooms could use a little love and care but it is still the #1 choice for date night every time.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

awesome way to get autistic kid to movie theater!

April 08, 2018

I've never been to a drive in theater before. I took my autistic son who cannot stand regular theatres and we had sooooo much fun! Having the privacy of being in our own car made all the difference. This was a night out that would have otherwise been impossible.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Great hangout

July 27, 2013

I've always enjoyed a night out at the drive in. The 5 has three screens and offers a variety of different movies typically admission is 11/person but they have a special price on Thursdays.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Great family option

July 29, 2017

Been coming here with my kids for over 10yrs and can say that there is no better bang for the buck. From the quality of the films to the play area for my little one. It's truley a family atmosphere. The "canteen" is reasonably priced for a theater. The kids working behind the counter are respectable and competent. I highly recommend this as a alternative to the theater for any larger family.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

5 drivein

January 18, 2018

I grew up seeing all my movies at the 400 drive-in and still fondly remember being the only one in my parents old red Galaxy 500 being awake when the death star exploded on the screen back in 1977. The food varies from drive in to drive in from great to terrible. No problem, we bring McDonalds when we go to one of those theaters. Bathrooms are filthy but the outdoor portable washrooms (not portapotties) make up for it. Service with a smile from teens working their first jobs. We park our truck at the back and have a proper view of the screen. I have a futon mattress in the back and a Dewalt rechargeable construction radio with good sound. I have no complaints about the comfort level. I love the drive in experience and it is my first choice as I don't have to deal with rude people on cell phones during first run movies on opening night. One real complaint I have is that they need to brighten the image on the screen. Night time scenes are constantly hard to see (annabell origins is one that comes to mind). Very hard to see whats going on. Overall experience is great and I am happy that this stuff is still around in a world of digital downloads and Blueray/DVD. er I would give anything to go back in time and re-watch Star Wars with my family at the 400 drive-in again!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

PEOPLE COMPLAIN TOO MUCH!

September 19, 2017

To all those who use this as a vehicle to complain - you quite obivously never attended any of the other drive ins that used to grace this fine province of ours (Elmvale, 400, 7/27, Huntsville etc. etc.) which are now sorrowfully defunct due to the tremendous rise in property values and an aging population of drive in owners with no one wishing to continue the tradition (Elmvale). As a child, youth, young adult and now a 45 year old, I have always loved going to the drive in and let me tell you this - none of the drive in theatre washrooms I have ever come across were ever anything much above a horse stall in their cleanliness, the concessions were always full of stale popcorn, lackadaisical teenage staff and food quality control that fell somewhere between non existent and something you would expect from a prison camp and anyone partaking of any of these amenities at any point in the history of the drive in and expecting more was in for a shock. All of this does nothing to dull the true drive in experience that the 5 drive in offers up in abundance in terms of the magic that going to see a movie in your own car delivers. Now with the digital projectors and the technological leaps and bounds that automotive sound systems have gone though since the days of single speaker AM radios (and even the horrid drive in lot post speakers) its better than ever and I for one would like to say bravo and tell all the complainers that if they want perfectly clean washrooms, great food choice, DTX dolby digital surround sound to stop complaining and stay home. Or, as one poster suggested - go spend $100++ for you and your family to see one move at a theatre. $25 for me, my family and two movies (sometimes as many as 4 during holiday summer weekend dusk till dawns) is a fantastic deal and nothing beats it period.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Convenient theatre location

May 28, 2019

Snack bar needs much much more self serve added in . Service is very highly inefficient . Only 10 to 12 people ahead of me in line and took a full 20 mins to get just a cup of coffee . Customers should be able to fill up their own drink cups ask for fries etc and have it handed to them straight off . Not wait for each person ahead of you to go through their entire order , this is very highly inefficient . Upon leaving the snack bar I spotted a group of cockroaches running along the edge of the wall and informed the staff . I've been to the 5 Drive In 3 times in 2019 and each time only 1 of 3 cubicles in the men's wash room was working and had toilet paper . The other 2 had no paper or were plugged.To do this job work is not big at all !

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

funn place

May 25, 2015

It's cool

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: