True Grit

Thank you for rating this movie!

True Grit Movie Poster

4.19 / 5

User Rating User rating: 4.19

Based on 1272 votes and 456 reviews


  • User rating: 4.19 40.40%
  • User rating: 4.19 43.77%
  • User rating: 4.19 11.62%
  • User rating: 4.19 2.69%
  • User rating: 4.19 1.52%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 251 to 300 of 456

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2011

Great movie. Coen brothers did another amazing job. Even better than No Country For Old Men - and that one best picture. Really nice work by Barry Pepper too.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2011

Great movie. One of the best remakes of a movie I have seen in years! John Wayne won an oscar for the original and Jeff Bridges deserves on for this!

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2011

Great acting, well done for a remake. It is totally different from the original and great job by Jeff Bridges and the Coen brothers in making it their own. I forgot all about John Wayne as Rooster, one of his best acting jobs. You gave honours to the original and the cast and you braved new originality. Thank you.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2011

The movie was awsome. Have never seen the original but now want to.

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2011

Great western movie with great actors. Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon and Hailee Steinfeld, one word...Outstanding.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2011

Cowboy up...... good strong performance by Mr Bridges. Little tough on horse lovers, good ole rough and tumble.

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2011

I liked the movie, thought the acting was great, but was a little disappointed with the ending.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

One of the best movies I've seen all year! Jeff Bridges performance was amazing.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

I didn't think that this remake could match the original,but I was pleasantly surprised.Great acting by all,especially newcomer Hailee Steinfeld.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

A great light hearted romp through the old west. Great performances by Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

Awesome movie, who know westerns could be so entertaining.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

Great mixture of humour and action. This film was a lot better then I anticipated and would not necessarily recommend for the theatre but definitely a weekend renter.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

A good show. At first the roughly spoken characters were hard to understand, but once you caught onto the rhythm, it felt very realistic for how they lived back then. I left not regretting having spent the money.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

We would give this movie 4.5 stars, and think Jeff Bridges did a fantastic job of Rooster Cogburn - he was gruff and serious about his role. Hailee Steinfeld was excellent too. My husband didn't care for Matt Damon as much, but I did! It was entertaining, funny at times, and a bit graphic/gory, but fit with the storyline.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

This movie was awsome. Have never seen the original but now want to.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2011

i would rate it a 3, it was ok.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2011

it was long and not so good

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

Excellent movie very moving and realistically true to the era being depicted

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2011

SLOW

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

It was John Waynes' movie until Jeff Bridges made it his own.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2011

This was a great movie. Nothing beats the original John Wayne movie. But this is still worth seeing. "A great western movie, was a great date night movie!

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

An unexpected surprise. Well acted especially by Jeff Bridges. My wife enjoyed it as much.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

Very well done, a true western movie!! worth seeing... i'm not sure why Mat did this movie he was not that good in it, short part..

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

Just saw this movie in the theater this afternoon and really enjoyed it. Jeff Bridges was absolutely fantastic, very funny and played his character perfectly. I was kind of disappointed in the ending, but overall it was very good. I'm really disappointed that the main character (Maddie) isn't even listed on the movie poster, she totally made the film and her acting in this movie should really launch her career, she was fantastic!

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

I'm not usually a fan of Western flicks, but I was very impressed with this movie. The action was amazing, and the costumes and buildings were spot on. As always Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon delivered amazing performances and did not disappoint. The young Hailee Steinfeld definately stepped up to the plate in this role. She played this role better than any other celebrity could have down. She brought a toughness and independence to the character, but with a slight vulnerability. I know she will go far in the movie industry.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

good movie overall

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2011

Loved the movie, I usually like the books better however not in this case. TRUE GRIT is an awesome movie

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

Great movie. Accents were little hard to understand at times and there was a little too much horse killing but evrything else was pretty awesome.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

Loved the original - really enjoyed this one as well - Bridges did it proud

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

Was wonderfully entertaining, brought me back to the old spaghetti style westerns i used to love to watch.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

I enjoyed the movie very much, and though all actors did a good good, Bridges being exceptional. The one thing that did puzzle me, was the 'rude remake' the grown up girl makes, at the end of the movie, to an aging Frank James. There was not call, for this attack of the James Family, in my eyes, they were not even in the movie, and did her no harm. It did leave me puzzled.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

I enjoyed the remake. Although a big John Wayne fan, I thought this picture was done well, with good acting. There are far too few westerns done these days, and this one entertained my teenage son as well, which is hard to do with a movie. Bridges is doing some excellent acting these days, and I have found his movies to be above the normal grade, for hollywood.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

I enjoyed this remake. Very well played by all actors.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

As much as I did like the John Wayne version, this remake was much better. I was pleasantly suprised, and the characters were spot on.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2011

I never saw the original, but after seeing this version I now plan to. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. I thought Jeff Bridges was going to be annoying and hard to understand, but I was wrong. He was amazing in it

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2011

This movie was A-1 Excellent! I saw it with my wife, who is no great fan of westerns and is frankly sick to death of watching John Wayne flicks with me. I had low expectations, figuring that "Jeff Bridges is no John Wayne". Thankfully he doesn't try to be. He (and the Coen bros.) gives his own take on Rooster's character; and he delivers a great performance. The real stunner was the young lady who played Mattie Ross, as a richer and more interesting character than in the original film. Me and the little missuz walked out of the theatre stunned, having been thoroughly entertained. This was a "Classic Western"!

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

loved it. not as much as the original but as far as remakes go they did a very good job. a little hard to understand at times.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

It's hard to beat the origianl. John Wayne version, however, Jeff Bridges and the cast were stellar...very close 2nd

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

Wow! I always liked Jeff Bridges, but not Westerns. I was pleasantly surprised!!

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2011

Weak story line. Jeff Bridges is a wonderful actor and did a superb job once again!

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2011

Lailee Steinfeld's performance is right on the mark & somehow she manages to outshine even the great Jeff Bridges. She's amazing and deserves to be Best Actress Oscar nominated and not in the Best Supporting Actress category. Leave it to the Coen Brothers to turn hottie Jeff Bridges into a big shlub; Matt Damon & Josh Brolin didn't fare very well either. Good acting from everyone; my friend saw the first True Grit and told me this latest one was quite different. Read that this version was much closer to the book. Movie was O.K. & I would actually rate it as 3.5. Maybe just not my cuppa tea. Hated to see Jeff Bridges look so bad!

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

Hailee Steinfeld stole the show in this film - a little slow but the cinematography was breathtaking.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

John Wayne is hard to bet.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

Great movie. Jeff Bridges plays John Wayne's role well. If you haven't seen this movie yet, you must run to the theater and see it now.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

I LOVED THE ORIGINAL MOVIE! THIS VERSION WAS CLOSER TO THE BOOK (EARNED FULL MARKS)I FOUND THAT BRIDGES' ATTEMPT AT GROWL IN VOICE AND ACCENT MADE HIM HARD TO UNDERSTAND AT TIMES. BUT OVERALL GOOD PERFORMANCES FROM ALL INVOLVED.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2011

I thought it was a good movie, but I prefer the John Wayne version.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

VERY GOOD ADDAPTION OF THE BOOK AND WELL ACTED

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

Coen Brothers do it again!

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

Great western!! Bridges was superb

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

JUST AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: