West Side Story - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.63 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.63

Based on 128 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 3.63 51.67%
  • User rating: 3.63 6.67%
  • User rating: 3.63 15.00%
  • User rating: 3.63 6.67%
  • User rating: 3.63 20.00%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2022

I waited for 2 years to see this and it did not disappoint in any way! shot beautifully - great cast, punched up script from the original - but still very real and authentic. BEST PICTURE FOR SURE! The young Maria and Bernardo and Anita were off the charts fabulous and all got Golden Globe noms! A real love story with incredible dancing - go see it on the big screen while you still can!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2022

Wonderful to see real environs, hear Spanish and see Latino actors beautifully singing and dancing.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2022

can't beat the story line and the music. Flashback to my youth.... Found the background buildings in this version depressing and staged. 2 thumbs up for the revisited feelings!

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2022

Fabulous, best cast and direction , will see again.

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2022

Shoulda left the original alone.

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2022

Maria stole the show. Liked everyone except Tony who seemed miscast. Rita M was also a treasure. Dancing was fabulous.

User review rating: 3 January 02, 2022

Liked the old cars! Would have liked a better Tony, Bernardo and Riff tho. Dancing was very good. Loved Rita Moreno! Only 9 people in theater. Regal in Clarence was very dirty!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2021

I'm not a musical kind of guy but I was so impressed by the whole package under Steven Spielberg's direction. Choreography, execution, the mixing of the music and sequences, the actors as Tony and Maria, and the gangs and the cops. Really drew me in. I hadn't paid attention to West Side Story since grade school. This version has the old one beat. I recommend it.

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2021

Everything!

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2021

I love this movie! It was so moving and well done! Anyone who loved the original, should see this one!

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2021

I loved the music, dancing, and story. You have to appreciate the original story and the times to get the full effect. Enjoyed it more then Spiderboy!

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2021

Loved the dialogue and the expanded backstory of the main characters. The acting, singing, costumes, direction, sound editing, and dancing were outstanding. Spielberg managed to take an old musical and make it feel modern-honoring its past while updating it for the present. There were lines in Spanish that I didn’t fully understand but it mirrored beautifully the experience of trying to adapt in another’s environment/culture. I’ve traveled a lot and often been in a country where I didn’t understand what was being said. The choice to include Spanish dialogue served to remind English speakers of the experience of non-native speakers. A story deals with topics that are still relevant today: toxic masculinity, anti-immigration, transphobia, and interracial relationships. Oscar worthy picture.

User review rating: 1 December 25, 2021

Common people , with so much Spanish spoken but no subtitles many of my friends who did not speak could not speak Spanish could not follow.

User review rating: 1 December 25, 2021

As a New Yorker , Puerto Rican & from growing up in the 50/60’s in NY I know first hand the life in the ghetto streets. The original , while flawed in several areas portrayed the life and anger of the streets. This re-creation badly missed its mark. Various actors were mis casted: riff was a mouse voiced guy, Bernardo and several other Hispanic actors were obviously in their late 20’s to 30’s. Maria & Anita were effective. Rita Moreno took an interesting role as the shop keeper. The real anger and hatred that each group had fir each other was missing. All in all it tried to re-create the past but it had no soul.

User review rating: 2 December 24, 2021

Save your money, very dreary, and u miss a lot if you don't understand Spanish

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2021

The "one star" idiots are at it again. I saw the original - great score, dancing & humor thrown in. Very much looking forward to seeing the remake today.RH

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2021

Wonderful casting, beautiful music and great dancing. The themes are timeless from Shakespeare's time to the present. Love knows no boundaries, but outsiders who hate anyone who doesn't represent another version of themselves will resent those who look beyond differences or find them reasons to love, not hate someone else. Loved this timeless tale.

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2021

Great film....you can tell by the comments here that many people had no idea what they were actually watching or the history behind it, but felt compelled to make non-sensical comments anyways. It is a quality film, a great musical. Well done!

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2021

Spielberg's retelling of West Side Story is brilliant. The screenplay by Tony Kushner, the acting, the dancing, the vocas, the cinematography are all superb. What a great afternoon at the cinemas.

User review rating: 3 December 21, 2021

I appreciate the effort that went into making this, but there was simply no reason this story had to be told as a musical.

User review rating: 2 December 20, 2021

Whenever the movie looked like it was going to get interesting the cast would break into song. I also found it difficult to believe a bunch of street toughs would have such an affinity for dance.

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2021

Boring boring boring. Of the 5 people in the theatre 3 fell asleep and one actually snored. Terribly dull film. No chemistry between the actors.

User review rating: 3 December 19, 2021

Just ok -- reminded me of an earlier version of the same Story.

User review rating: 2 December 19, 2021

It was okay I guess. Too many minorities.

User review rating: 4 December 19, 2021

Would make a great double-bill with The Cobbler.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2021

Just see it.

User review rating: 3 December 18, 2021

Fine Holiday fare! Wish Spielberg had been bold enough to use Shakespeare's original text but apart from that this is fine Holiday fare!

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2021

Quality of singing and orchestration; dance; acting. Great story line applicable to tensions today. Attention to detail. Faithful to Bernstein and Sondheim original with a focus on realism.

User review rating: 2 December 17, 2021

just boring, hardly worth the ticket

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2021

Rita Moreno rocks!

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2021

Better than House of Gucci and Encanto combined!

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2021

The movie followed the original story line closely, although the sequence of events changed slightly and some songs were sung by different characters. The ending was more emotional for me this time. I left the theater crying.

User review rating: 3 December 14, 2021

The original is still best! The remake was too graphic and the dance scenes not a good.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2021

As a teenager, I saw the original production on Broadway & a half-century later, this version of the classic tale was just as thrilling!

User review rating: 3 December 13, 2021

I saw this movie because I just had to know what they were going to do with Maria.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2021

Simply The Jets!

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2021

The Southroads AMC customer service was awful. The IMAX seats are uncomfortable.

User review rating: 3 November 30, 2021

I've never seen this at the theater so I suppose it's now or never...

User review rating: 3 April 26, 2021

If you've seen the original you know what happens.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: