Algonquin Cinemas

Pembroke Showtimes

Algonquin Cinemas

1100 Pembroke St. E Pembroke, ON, K8A 6Y7 (613) 735-8318

General Ratings

General Experience

2.5 user rating

Concession

2.3 user rating

Cleanliness

2.5 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.4 user rating

Customer Service

2.6 user rating

64 Reviews for Algonquin Cinemas

Sort by

Great Popcorn

Good movie Theater

Reviewed on: 06/16/2017

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

March Break

Being the only theater in town do they not realize just because children are on March break parents still work they do not have one children's movie that is not a matinee so if you decide to take your younger children to see a movie I guess you have to take a day off work

Reviewed on: 03/14/2017

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Poor Seats

The seating set up is not the best. The theater is not on enough of a slope and the seats are not staggered enough so if someone taller sits in front of you there goes your view ! Also the seats themselves are not very comfortable. The cost is high for a poor experience.

Reviewed on: 02/02/2017

Overall Rating

2.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Not Worth It

I went to this theatre for years because there was nothing else in town. It is no longer worth it. The staff are not pleasant, the entire establishment is dirty, the video and sound quality are sorely subpar, and the seats are uncomfortable and often broken. Considering that they charge as much as a "real" cinema, I now make the drive to Renfrew whenever I want to see a movie. Would love to see this place updated, and will revisit if that ever happens.

Reviewed on: 01/02/2017

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Falling apart

Can only use cash at concession. Lights burnt out on theatre floor. Seats broken. Can hear movies next to you. Needs a complete update. People drive to Ottawa or Renfrew instead.

Reviewed on: 12/30/2016

Overall Rating

2.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Time for a change

I have been going to this theater on and off for over 30 years by myself and with my children and all I can say is that "its done its time" I have read some reviews below about how its a great small town business etc etc but that's like saying your 15 inch black and white TV is still a great model and still has a picture. We live in a time where movies are being made to be shown on big screens, comfortable stadium seating and full digital sound. I paid almost $12 for a movie and forget about the non existent selection at the concession. Staff were so-so friendly and I believe staying at home and watching the movie on my large HD television is a better experience. No excuse for this to be the only game in town when just down the road in Kanata are the silver Screen Theaters.

Reviewed on: 12/29/2016

Overall Rating

2.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

Needs a total upgrade.

Everything is dirt and worn. Owners are not friendly. Would rather drive to renfrew

Reviewed on: 12/17/2016

Overall Rating

1 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    1 user rating

Always a great experience!

I attend this theater often. It is consistently friendly, clean, courteous and a great experience every time I attend! Thank you for your courteous service, and continued effort to keep theater movies in Pembroke with often failing attendance.

Reviewed on: 11/10/2016

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

It gets you out of the house.

It's a small town theatre and one shouldn't expect state-of-the-art equipment. The staff are nice and very much obliging. The seats however need to be replaced. Don't care how good the movie is if the seats are worn out. The sound system could probably use an upgrade as well, but if funds are limited, then let's get comfy first!

Reviewed on: 10/22/2016

Overall Rating

3.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Good Small Town Theatre

The Algonquin is a good small town movie theatre. The prices are comparable to theatres elsewhere. The staff is friendly. Sound bleed is an issue but it is an issue faced by many theatres. I have noticed worse sound bleed in the large cineplexes in Ottawa. I wish that there was a better variety of movies but I suppose that the movies offered are the ones that will sell in a place the size of Pembroke. Pembroke isn't New York or even Ottawa.

Reviewed on: 09/27/2016

Overall Rating

4.8 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating