Hyland Cinema

London Showtimes

Hyland Cinema

240 Wharncliffe Rd. S. London, ON, N6J 2L4 (519) 913-0313

General Ratings

General Experience

4.7 user rating

Concession

4.6 user rating

Cleanliness

4.6 user rating

Theatre Presentation

4.5 user rating

Customer Service

4.9 user rating

14 Reviews for Hyland Cinema

Sort by

A Taste of Yesteryear

It's like stepping back in time when going to the movies was s real treat. This is my Go To Movie Theatre as they have best selection of movies & documentaries. Great customer service and the BEST Popcorn in town

Reviewed on: 05/06/2019

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Friendliest Staff!! Great Choice of Movies!

We seldom go to any other movie theatre. Wonderful choice of movies that always start on time with no loud commercials and movie previews. Reasonable price, especially with a subscription. Very friendly, efficient staff; accessible parking behind the theatre. We are regulars!!

Reviewed on: 08/25/2018

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Best movies in town

We are very fortunate to have this theatre in London. Otherwise there would mainly be blockbusters and indie films would have to be seen on a small screen.

Reviewed on: 08/17/2018

Overall Rating

4.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Favorite theater in town

Wonderful little independent, super clean washrooms, parking and fresh popcorn. See the independent films that make Hollywood look like amateurs. Seats are old school but with no previews you shave a half hour off of "regular" movie time in the seat. I have seen Winter, Book Thief, A man named Ove, Safety not guaranteed, Moonrise Kingdom, Grand Bhudapest, Birdman, Tariq and a few others that would have missed otherwise. Always go at Christmas for a classic or two.

Reviewed on: 10/24/2017

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Bravo Hyland! Best movies you'll see outside the standard formula.

Great choices and a chance for Londoners to see great artful movies that don't follow the obnoxious Hollywood formula. Thank you Hyland! Buy a subscription, it's very reasonable and worth every penny!! Support our small, local movie houses!

Reviewed on: 05/30/2017

Overall Rating

4.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

My Favorite Theater Experience

I love going to the Hyland because of the quality films - foreign, art, documentaries that are not available elsewhere in London. The staff is mature and friendly. The concessions good - love the popcorn and cappaccinos. The atmosphere is comfortable and cosy. The prices very reasonable

Reviewed on: 09/11/2016

Overall Rating

4.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

I Don't Miss Pre-Shows

It's an older theatre without fancy recliner seats....but that is offset and outdone by the lack of obnoxious pre-show ads with extra loud ear deafening volumes that go on forever in mainstream theatres Staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. We like viewing movies that aren't found in the chain theatres.

Reviewed on: 07/17/2015

Overall Rating

4.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Unique of it's kind.

I always watch for Highland's choices first and seldom attend any of the other theaters. Excellent for documentaries and true story movies.

Reviewed on: 08/27/2014

Overall Rating

4.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

Worthy of our support

The Hyland consistently offers quality movies that would otherwise be missed due to being overshadowed by all the latest blockbusters. We've been to the Hyland many times to see movies simply because they looked interesting. We've never been disappointed. Admittedly, the seats aren't as comfortable as the big cushy ones in the major cinemas, but all things considered, the Hyland is worth the trip. In fact... we're going again tonight!

Reviewed on: 07/19/2014

Overall Rating

4.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

A London Ont Treasure

Cannot see these movies anywhere else in London. For several years, the Hyland has been providing the richness of non mainstream movies. Excellent, and appreciated

Reviewed on: 04/06/2014

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating