Doctor Sleep

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.61 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.61

Based on 52 votes and 19 reviews


  • User rating: 3.61 34.78%
  • User rating: 3.61 30.43%
  • User rating: 3.61 8.70%
  • User rating: 3.61 13.04%
  • User rating: 3.61 13.04%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 19 of 19

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2019

*Spoiler alert* Overall okay I was expecting more since I loved shining. It's another movie yet again showing witches as dark oriented and the part where they were torturing a child and feeding off of him was unnecessarily long and honestly disgusting.Nothing about it was "scary" and it only forces you to sit through and see a child tortured. It as irrelevant to go to the hotel again it didn't make any sense and was kind of stupid imo. Also, hollywood is trying so hard to show dark magic and child abuse wherever they can to normalize it and make it seem cool. Not cool pedowood, pretty lame actually.

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2019

Overall, this is a pretty satisfying follow-up to The Shining, and better than it had any right to be. Mike Flanagan, who is in my opinion the best contemporary director of horror films makes this one work by taking King's source novel and making the adaptation one that acknowledges and reveres Kubrick's masterpiece of modern horror. King's story deals with a "family" of supernatural predators who prey on he innocent and deed on their pain and fear. It's an old archetypical standard for King, and like his other stories it's shopworn, dog-eared and wonky as hell. I believe that the elements that don't work as well here come from King, while what works great comes from Flanagan (and Kubrick). Rebecca Ferguson is very good and aesthetically pleasing.

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2019

Found it to be a movie could not figure the ending and great overall experience

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2019

Awesome movie. Will eventually be a cult classic. Follows the book closely. If you don’t know the book, read it! Great performances by all. Don’t listen to the haters and go see for yourself

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2019

Really enjoyed this movie, not quite as good as the book, but they never are. It was a really good story and a good sequel to The Shining... You can’t beat Stephen King.

User review rating: 1 November 11, 2019

There is no comparison to THE SHINING, not even close. It is an awful movie, the storyline is not easy to follow, it is all fantasy and cheap and silly horror scenes. Don't waste your money and two plus hours.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2019

An excellent sequel to The Shining!!

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2019

Not a show for kids but I really liked it! Great modernized sequel to the shining! I do agree with the last comment tho. The killing of a child was very unsettling!!

User review rating: 1 November 11, 2019

Really slow at the beginning, I had a 40 minute nap and so I have no idea what Ewan McGregor was doing, other than being Doctor Sleep (which btw, his name has nothing to do with the rest of the movie). The only bright point was the girl who played Abra. Again, Jacob Tremblay's parents show very little concern for his mental wellbeing in having him play a boy who is tortured slowly by very sick adults.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2019

I am a Steven King fan for many years. Unfortunately, I had to draw the line on this movie. I walked out because I was so disgusted by the scene in which a little boy child is murdered by the “witches” who are all adults. The scene is very graphic and they say pain and fear are beneficial from the boy as it enhances the “steam” which is released by the dying child! The adults breathe in the steam to remain strong and healthy as they stab the boy repeatedly with blood all over the child and themselves. I am not a stuck up prude but Is this just wrong and sick or is it just me? In this day and age with shootings, mass murderers and abductions - shame on Steven King. Sickening

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2019

Very strong follow up to continue the Shining storyline with strong characters on either side of the "good" and "bad" guys. The "look-a-like" characters were a bit distracting for me, but the main characters were easy to root for and I definitely would like the storyline to follow Abra's journey.

User review rating: 2 November 10, 2019

Crap.

User review rating: 2 November 10, 2019

I can see why it took so long for someone to make a sequel. You can't improve on perfection and shouldn't try. Love Stephen King and all of his work. The book was probably great but didn't come off well on the screen. Ewan and Rebecca were good in their performances and the little girl was good too. I guess if you expect what the first movie was then you get your hopes up. Sorry had a good cat nap thoug

User review rating: 2 November 09, 2019

Way too long, acting pedestrian at best except for Kyliegh Curran, who was good. Story line stuffed with unnecessary and sometimes silly diversions. Regardless of whether Stephen King cranks out pages just for the money these days, this production just isn't good. It certainly doesn't hold a candle to good movies made based upon his better writing, including The Shining.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

I liked this movie. I thought of it as a psychological/horror thriller. The plot was smart, the acting was incredible and the timing of the movie was just right. One of the best movies I’ve seen all year.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

I liked this movie. I thought of it as a psychological/horror thriller. The plot was smart, the acting was incredible and the timing of the movie was just right. One of the best movies I’ve seen all year.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Doctor Sleep is another amazing Stephen King story.

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2019

Really good👍

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2019

Good sequel to The Shining. All the actors performed well and a good message about how to handle the predators in our lives.

Change Location
* required!
* required!