Mary Queen of Scots

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.16 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.16

Based on 64 votes and 24 reviews


  • User rating: 3.16 21.88%
  • User rating: 3.16 21.88%
  • User rating: 3.16 28.13%
  • User rating: 3.16 6.25%
  • User rating: 3.16 21.88%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 24 of 24

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2019

Elizabeth was in fact scarred by smallpox. She then started using copious amounts of makeup which contained lead in it. After years of absorbing lead into her body, it is the likely cause of her death. The rest of it is bs

User review rating: 1 March 12, 2019

I was very disappointed with this film. There were too many discrepancies between history and this movie. Both queens were inadequately presented. I found it hard to believe that Elizabeth was scarred or that Mary was realistically portrayed. I expected more than this from the reviews and was very disenchanted with the whole movie. Reality took a back seat and even the beautiful costuming couldn’t save it.

User review rating: 1 March 05, 2019

Absolutely horrible! First scene is a black guy in ruffles in some important position...there were no blacks in England or EU at that time. Then all PC LGBT inserts; making people gay who wern't. This is one silly PC hack job and should be in the bargain bin the day it was shot. Of course the brainwashed will enjoy this, not knowing how absurd it all is.

User review rating: 1 February 19, 2019

Another idiotic politically corrected fake history movie, with black actor dressed up like Sir Walter Raliegh. No negroes were anywhere in the world until the negroes started selling each other to the arabs then to the portuguese first then spaniards back in the late 1500's, after the Spaniards and Portugese ran out of indians having killed most of them in the new world. And....you know a movie is going to be bad when it starts off with a dream sequence; the hallmark of bad direction and bad writing.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

Great movie.Depicts the "Brutality " of its time.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2019

A devout Catholic there is no way Mary was enlightened toward homosexuals as Hollywood would have us believe and there is no way she would have welcomed a homosexual man into her Inner Circle. In reality Lord Darnley was suspicious that Mary was having an affair with Riccio, which is why they killed him. Oh my how far Hollywood has strayed from the truth.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2019

There were zero black or even Asian people in Scotland at this time and very very few in England--why are the producers and the BBC always trying to show that black people had important roles in UK history--this spoils the whole movie---they may as well have been using motor cars rather than horses. Also anything LGBT did not play a part in this historical story.

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2019

I normally love movies about royals and read a lot of historical novels as a result. This movie strayed too far from factual. I'm weary of the movie industry introducing gay characters (and too often vulgar language) into so many films these days but to do so in a historical film falsely is more than troubling, I'm not at all pleased with what's happening within the film industry these days and I'm beginning to boycott more and more movies as a result. I'm also boycotting more and more actors/actresses because of hateful public political rhetoric which is insulting to half their film viewers. Actors and Actresses should avoid political statements and concentrate on appearing in decent clean-cut films that touch the hearts of everyone without offending anyone.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2019

Superb acting. Fictional history but believable. Great scenery.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2019

Good period piece. I'm sure it had some inaccuracies but the acting was quite good.

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2019

History as told by The Movies. Entertaining and PC (Politically Correct) just not HC (Historically Correct).

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2019

Great film but too many historical inaccuracies, including: 1. Mary did not have a scottish accent. She lived in France from 5-18. 2. Her assistants were not diverse (african, chinese, gay) 3. Rizzio was not gay: lord darnley was not gay 4. The 2 queens never met. But a great film nonetheless.

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2019

Great film. But yes, some historical inaccuracy. Namely, Mary's private secretary, Italian David Rizzio, was not gay. In fact, Mary's husband at the time, Lord Darnley, is said to have been jealous of their friendship, because of rumours that he had impregnated Mary. This is why he was killed, not because the queen's counsel was anti-lgbtq. Mary did not catch her husband in bed with Rizzio - another lie, and the scene where Mary forgives Rizzio because he was only acting out what was natural to him, ie being gay, is too much made-up englightenment for this cowboy to bear. Holywood, why are you so preoccupied with lgbtq?

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2019

Revisionist BBC multicultural trash, sorry I wasted $ and time on this. Save your $ and time.

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2019

Revisionist history, poorly written, poorly directed and poorly produced.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2019

Very very good... so detailed.... will be seeing it Again for sure...

User review rating: 3 December 29, 2018

Kind of boring

User review rating: 4 December 27, 2018

Fabulous acting by both women stars, as well as the conniving men who advise them. Sets and costuming are beautiful, Scottish countryside is haunting. The story of Mary’s political hardship, even before going to Elizabeth’s court and her protection, was information I’d never heard before. Enjoyable historical drama.

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2018

Very boring.

User review rating: 2 December 25, 2018

Not anything to be excited about. Had it been historically accurate it would have been much better. Of course, Hollywood had to throw in the liberalism and add the gay bent. I only wnet to burn points before they expire. I would have been really upset had I paid for this lackluster waste of film.

User review rating: 3 December 23, 2018

Performances good; historiography weak. Darnley wasn't the wimp portrayed and the breach with Mary was over sharing power not Rizzio. Darnley did Rizzio in but the pact was between Bothwell and protestant lords after Darnley's murder. Darnley and Mary were 1st cousins via Darnley's mother, a niece of Henry VIII. Darnley supplied the Stuart line to son James. James became VI because Mary was descended from James V. Story skips much drama after Bothwell's fall, when Mary escapes Loch Leven Castle with aid of-- Darnley's Douglas relatives-- and raises an army, is defeated and only then flees to 'ol Liz's fateful protection. Ahh but truth is the stranger.

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2018

Great movie based on historical facts with a little fiction. Powerfully acted & beautifully filmed. Saiorse deserves the Oscar for Best Actress as Mary.The scene where Mary & Elizabeth meet for the first time whether its fact or fiction is dynamic!!! Two thumbs way up!!

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2018

Torn between who gave the greater performance, Ronin or Robbie! Excellent story, cinematography and costumes. Oscar worthy film.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2018

Riveting plot. Intensely great acting. Captivating and thought - provoking stories of power, betrayal, and strength of history. Breathtaking sceneries of Scotland. CompIementing scores. I would give it a 5+ star if I could.

Change Location
* required!
* required!