Motherless Brooklyn

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.72 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.72

Based on 60 votes and 27 reviews


  • User rating: 3.72 48.28%
  • User rating: 3.72 13.79%
  • User rating: 3.72 13.79%
  • User rating: 3.72 10.34%
  • User rating: 3.72 13.79%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 27 of 27

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2019

This was well done old style detective film. Love the style and the actors did a great job. I felt I was there. this is Based on real historical happening in the city of new York.. Corruption has always been a part of new York... It is a long story but it builds to a great ending. Would see it again.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2019

Great movie

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2019

I would give it 4 stars, but in today's dearth of good movies, I offer it 5 as a relative score for movies in recent times. Norton writes the screen play, and not a bad outcome. He is always on target as an actor. And in fact, that is why I went to the movie. Yea, does it drag? For a young audience in the era of attention deficit disorder... perhaps, but for those of use that are accustomed to complex themes, and convoluted plot twist that challenge the wit, it is just right. I have no regrets, and would even see it again, if the popcorn is good.

User review rating: 1 November 13, 2019

Slow, long, and boring. Worse movie I had the displeasure of watching in a long time. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 2 November 11, 2019

Ed Norton should have directed Ed Norton better. REALLY SLOW!

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2019

Liked unwinding of mystery. Acting was brilliant. Must see!

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2019

Edward Norton was excellent. Enjoyed the storyline but found the movie slow moving at times and difficult to follow. Ending good and left some questions unanswered.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

Ed Norton was fantastic in his character.

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

Found this to be a cheap shot at President Trump from Norton and Baldwin. Such egotistical jerks. It was long and slow and would never tell anyone to see it.

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

How people give this 5 stars I don’t know. That means it’s on pace for best picture. Slow, boring, it sucks

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Intriguing, clever, witty. . .Such talent !!!!

User review rating: 3 November 07, 2019

Go for the ride. Lead actor very good. Brilliant mystery trying to put the pieces of the puzzle in place. Love the Ending.

User review rating: 3 November 07, 2019

Too long & drawn out

User review rating: 4 November 05, 2019

Absorbing crime mystery. Patience is rewarded, but I was able to follow it all the way through. Good acting and score. Better than I expected.

User review rating: 3 November 05, 2019

There were really good actors in this movie, and they did a good job, but this would’ve been a better movie to watch at home, very slow, not much excitement, basically a detective movie.

User review rating: 2 November 04, 2019

A good movie just very very slow

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2019

It's this year's Blue Velvet.

User review rating: 5 November 03, 2019

Great movie along with great acting a must see funny and great story

User review rating: 5 November 03, 2019

Really enjoyed everything about the movie...held my interest throughout the whole movie! Great acting.

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2019

So slow. Walked out half way through.

User review rating: 5 November 03, 2019

The plot was intricate and fascinating, revealing the sordid sides of city politics and corruption and how it affects "the little guy" and minorities. There were many nuances in the movie, and one does need to pay attention, but contrary to some reviews, it did have a satisfying ending, and was far from boring throughout (and I'm a senior, too!). The acting was superb. Perhaps the reason the main character had such a handicap was to showcase that in spite of it, he was brilliant and caring and successful.

User review rating: 3 November 03, 2019

Slow, long, and a little hard to follow for a senior. My senior sister slept through part of it. Enjoyed watching Edward Norton perform a character with Tourette Syndrome. Such great acting. I am not fond of movies from the 50,s but this is a sweet love story.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

Did not see where it was going . Good ride

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

Well written story that unfolds over time. Lots of nuances to pay attention to, the plot isn’t given away all at once. Classic ending as in older movies where they allude to what may have happened but the viewer is left to fill in the blanks as they wish. The main character’s Tourette’s showcases the difficulty someone trying to blend in and not attract attention may have when set off by circumstances uncontrolled by him.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2019

I really enjoyed this movie. I liked the period feel of the 40’s and thought Edward Norton was great in all respects - writing, dialogue, Tourette’s. Good movie.

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

The language was horrible. Classic movies didn't need all this excess..we get it. There were a lot of big stars, but the movie still fell flat....if you hear a review that says it awesome..typical sales/Hollywood propaganda Its slow, boring.....and doesn't even come together in the end, you leave the theatre disappointed.

User review rating: 2 November 01, 2019

Ok, so Intake it this movie was made to replicate a l940's classic....it was ok but missed the mark The main character has turette's syndrome, don't know why they even put that in, perhaps to allow for all the excessive language (over the top). It was slow moving, long, actually a touch away from boring in parts, and the ending is so very disappointing-it doesn't wrap the story up. Glad I got a seniors discount price I wouldn't recommend this movie All the star power and yet it was not that good.

Change Location
* required!
* required!