Oppenheimer - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.93 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.93

Based on 316 votes and 115 reviews


  • User rating: 3.93 54.43%
  • User rating: 3.93 16.46%
  • User rating: 3.93 8.86%
  • User rating: 3.93 8.23%
  • User rating: 3.93 12.03%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 115

User review rating: 4 February 19, 2024

absolutely one of the best movies i have ever attended. If your English is not good, You will be board.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2024

After reading the book "American Prometheus", I was interested to see how it would be translated on the big screen. It's nearly 900 pages! The winning duo - Nolan and Murphy - were able to capture Oppenheimer and his changing mental landscape at all stages of his life - schooling, career, legal hearing, and final portions of his professional life - in such a way that we see the mental turmoil laid bare after the arrogance of intelligence created a weapon that could not be contained. The troupe is incredible. The lead man (Cillian Murphy) is undeniably gifted and Robert Downey Jr. is unrecognizable and stunning. Incredible film. I do recommend either reading the book or a synopsis before watching. In addition, I've now seen it more than once and easily picked up on so many other details each rewatch.

User review rating: 1 December 09, 2023

Boring, constant loud noises, loud music, thumping constantly you couldn't hear any dialogue. Two of us stopped at 1.5 hours, couldn't believe another 1 hour, he left, I suffered till the end. What I got from this? Oppie was an rain man, otherwise an idiot. And you can see the usual useful suspects who just LOVED this movie, below.

User review rating: 1 December 08, 2023

Not interesting

User review rating: 2 November 14, 2023

Fell asleep at one time during the movie. Hard to follow.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2023

See it on the big screen, IMAX if possible. Acting esp. by lead was superb. I had loved his work before as the Scarecrow in Batman. Great history lesson too. Long, but it flew by.

User review rating: 2 September 23, 2023

3 hours too long.....very flat and boring with sex part of the movie it male u laugh of how pointless it was .......Nolan.film is not his best .....better than tenet and not better than Dunkirk, Momento and Batman trilogy. ...... thev silver lining of Oppenheimer was the actors doing their part specially Robert Downey Jr. And not worth watching it in IMAX FILM .....if you're going to see it just regular theater

User review rating: 4 September 22, 2023

Interesting movie to watch. I thought the sex scenes were unnecessary though and the bomb explosion was beyond lame. The lousy special effects on that was why I deducted a star. They had to try and make up for it with loud noise instead.

User review rating: 5 September 21, 2023

This is the fastest three hours I’ve ever experienced. A cerebral siege and orgasm, Have come back to see it 7 times. Can’t get enough. Masterpiece. Except nudity during interview sequence. Didn’t need it. Otherwise flawless. Kaboom MF. p.s. Folks who said it was long and boring… stop eating paste. You’re a grown-up now

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2023

There is no cure

User review rating: 3 September 09, 2023

Very long movie. The person in front of me got bored and went on his phone (the light from which was annoying). And sometimes, especially in the beginning, the speech was indecipherable -- I wished for subtitles. Oppenheimer seemed such a virtuoso, the only thing missing was a dance scene. The female characters could have been fuller -- Jean Tatlock especially. It wasn't clear in the movie she was a psychiatrist.

User review rating: 1 September 02, 2023

absolutely one of the worst movies i have ever attended. Big time boring !!!

User review rating: 5 August 30, 2023

Flawless technique and performance wise. A masterpiece. SEE IT

User review rating: 5 August 30, 2023

The best movie of the year not eligible to win Best Picture.

User review rating: 5 August 30, 2023

Very informative. Lots of twists and history to remember

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2023

I left the theater speechless. I already knew much of the story. I have read several books on the development of fission and thermonuclear bombs. This film is a magnum opus. It may be one of the best films I have ever seen in my life and I am 76. Go, watch it. If you don’t follow all of it the first time, go again. For good, or bad, it is a part of all of us.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2023

Very interesting and well done

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2023

Loved all the information revealed in this film that somehow I was never aware of. And exciting insight to some info that Stephen Falcon would have enjoyed.

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2023

Needed to see this movie twice so I could research the characters and better understand the motivations of those people. The actors did an amazing job bringing these true-life individuals to life. At the very end, Oppenheimer's musings about what he and those scientists created should give us pause to reflect...especially those who claim boredom.

User review rating: 1 August 25, 2023

It was incredibly boring, long and focused on the trial for wayyyyy too long in the movie...I can say I hated this movie and couldnt wait for it to end..

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2023

Not at all entertaining. Boring too long . Should be X Rated. for sex and nude scenes. Save your money .

User review rating: 5 August 23, 2023

a factual movie,good acting,a newsworthy story well written but a bit too political for me.

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2023

The history was very close to the real events of the time. Another movie should be made about the following years the Navy was was used for testing the bomb at Bakeni Atoll. Many Navy guys were exposed to radiation and died.

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2023

Waaaaaaaay too long !!! Not at all what we expected. Sex/nudity scenes were so unnecessary! Stupid !!! Sorry to have paid $ to see this.

User review rating: 4 August 21, 2023

Florence pugh’s performance was titalating

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2023

Didn't seem too long because the story was so engaging. I'm a history buff and this movie filled in a lot of the blanks I wasn't taught in school. Incredible acting by a great cast across the board. Hopefully some awards are forthcoming.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2023

As a movie buff, & musician/sound critic, my analysis; Having seen Oppy on the 3 formats regular, Imax, & dolbly formats the dialog in Dolby was the most clear. In regularr & iMAX The surround tracks were too loud over powering the dialog in addition to, I think the dialog being, maybe, some what garbled. The sound track greatly enhances the dynamics of the video on the screen, but it has to be balanced. It was either original faulty editing OR, the theater didn't have their l/r & rear sound channels setup correctly. Powerful, compelling performances/story by all is what made the 3 hour movie seem much shorter. rh

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2023

Powerful and insightful.

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2023

I love true stories and this movie covers everything!! Great cast!

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2023

Way too much hype about this movie and unnecessarily too long. This most certainly IS NOT a date movie. I would not punish my date with it. Way, way too much dialogue/historical background, unnecessary gratuitous nude scenes, his communist friends, and certainly not enough given to the real problems the scientists faced out in New Mexico. The documentaries on Youtube should be seen beforehand. There was little tension I felt to the prelude to the ramifications of the explosion and then the big bang was over. I thought to myself "that's it? Certainly will not see this again. I have better things to do with my time.

User review rating: 5 August 16, 2023

i give florence pugh two thumbs up, waaaaaaaaaaaaay up

User review rating: 1 August 15, 2023

Movie jumped around too much and the sex scenes were vulgar and unnecessary to the story line....They just cheapened the movie... I'm not a prude, but the sex was in very bad taste.

User review rating: 3 August 14, 2023

The acting was the best part of the movie. Too loud when he had an A-bomb moment. zigzagging around with actors and scenes made it had to follow. I had to watch the documentaryt on youtube to figure what chess piece the actors were playing. Not my favorite movie.

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2023

Excellent cast; captured a truly crucial chapter in 20th century American, and world, history; writing, cast and period backgrounds crucially spot-on; should be required viewing (with concomitant extensive reading list) for everyone.

User review rating: 2 August 14, 2023

Just how lacking in invention Nolan's movie actually is, one has only to view the PBS documentary, THE TRIALS OF J. ROBERT OPPENHEIMER, which tells in linear fashion, without all jigsaw jerkiness, the explosions and deafening so-called music, the basic story, ending with the recitation of an Oppenheimer poem of lucid beauty.

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2023

Interesting, historical, and biographical not family friendly but good for parents

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2023

It was good fun.

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2023

This is a good movie. However, having a fundamental understanding of the events depicted is a prerequisite to remaining interested. It is long but it basically covers three stories with an outcome somewhat like the Wizard of Oz. The cast is great. Yes, there is loudness. There is some nudity and foul language. All are necessary for the character arc. They cleverly avoid overt biases regarding the political philosophies portrayed but do seem to resort to the usual douchebag “capitalist” caricature of the villain. They ironically do not focus on the bomb itself and don’t pull up the usual stock footage of the Trinity and Bikini tests to dazzle you. In fact, they seem to avoid useless visual effects except where they demonstrate a metaphor for the emotional and morale destruction that is suggested. The only thing I came away with was a question. Why did they make this now?

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2023

Go See It - everybody.....

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2023

Very well done. Three hours went by quickly. Such a nice change from the drivel seen in theaters these days.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2023

More meaningful for audiences who are well-informed historically about the politicians in 1940's D.C., the military situation in the Pacific Theater, and the physicists in the Manhattan Project. Ignorant movie-goers and critics will wax philosophically and religiously without understanding the severe consequences in human life of invading Japan, which were barely mentioned in the film, nor the delay in its execution which would have allowed the Soviet Union to play a much larger role in occupying the Japanese islands than its meager role in the war against Japan merited! Several excellent performances help the lengthy film move along!

User review rating: 2 August 10, 2023

This movie was more or less about egos of men who have no understanding of the God of the Bible and where they fit in on the grand scheme of things.

User review rating: 3 August 09, 2023

SO MUCH UNNECESSARY NOISE. BOOM THIS BOOM THAT WITH THE SUB WOOFER AT MAX. SOOOO MUCH LOUD MUSIC DROWNING OUT THE DIALOG. OTHER PEOPLE IN THE AUDIENCE WERE STRUGGLING JUST LIKE ME TO HEAR WHAT THE ACTORS WERE SAYING. TURN DOWN THE DAMM NOISE.

User review rating: 3 August 09, 2023

…not to mention the New Mexico residents who lived downwind of the Trinity test site, thus in the fall-out region, completely ignored in the movie as they were in real life. They apparently didn’t receive any warning and suffered decades of cancer and subsequent early deaths.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2023

Somewhat mixed here. After seeing Oppenheimer, I felt compelled to watch the made-for-TV 1983 movie "The day after" again (coincidentally its 40th anniversary). It has what I was missing in the 2023 movie, the display of the overwhelming force of a nuclear explosion and especially its inexcusable consequences for the civilian population. Yes, those are shown here much from Oppenheimer’s perspective, but in the end rather too abstract to really feel it, and to emotionally connect to the "prevent all future wars" rationale supposedly justifying dropping the bombs, which they evidently failed to accomplish. On the plus side, great insights into his life, personal affairs, and the politics behind the scenes.

User review rating: 2 August 08, 2023

too long and boring...sex scenes were the best part of the movie.. i gave it two stars.... a star for each breast...

User review rating: 4 August 07, 2023

In today's world we seem to be inundated with violence of all degrees. This is a reminder how extreme man can be with his own justification.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2023

Well worth seeing. Everyone should see this movie..

User review rating: 4 August 06, 2023

Epic plays the sound so loud it's almost criminal.Even with ear plugs used for power tools,I still needed to cup my hands over my ears.The storyline would have been far easier to follow, without the constant need to ready oneself for the loudness.Not sure if Epic theatres are where I want to view such an important film. Tone it down Epic.

User review rating: 2 August 05, 2023

As a retired high school socia studies teacher, I was really looking forward to seeing this movie. Unfortunately, the movie was one hour too long, it spent too much time covering Oppenheimer's involvement with communists, and way too little time on his achievement, whether or not you agree with the bombing. Instead of seeing a detailed story of how he developed the bomb, we got to see the obligatory nude scene, which was not necessary, and little effort went into the Manhattan Project.

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: