The Banshees of Inisherin - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.71 / 5

User Rating User rating: 3.71

Based on 74 votes and 26 reviews


  • User rating: 3.71 54.29%
  • User rating: 3.71 11.43%
  • User rating: 3.71 8.57%
  • User rating: 3.71 2.86%
  • User rating: 3.71 22.86%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 26 of 26

User review rating: 2 February 02, 2023

I hated it. Wished I'd never seen it. Guy flick... Worst kind.. ick. Loved Colin Ferrel and he acted well in it but the story is just awful.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2023

Set against the macro story of the Irish troubles, friends live the micro stories of their art, their frustrations, their optimism or lack of it, and the ways they survive or not. Brutal and poignant. Don’t miss it!

User review rating: 3 January 24, 2023

it is a slow burner type of movie, with great expectations... and then either you continue to expect and like that feeling for the entire movie... or you start getting bored, as nothing sensible or meaningful happens... kind of slice of life but too impossible to adhere to.... actors are fine yes, but nothing out of the extraordinary for these 2 guys... too linear... the finger thing kind of make no sense. the scenery is great yes, but eventually a cheap support to this weird story

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2023

Great scenery and great actors can't save a disturbing and unfunny story. Don't waste your time ... I did!

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2022

Way too depressing of a movie. The funny parts are overshadowed by the overall heartbreak.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2022

don't miss this

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2022

I loved the hilarious way this projected peoples insecurities, intelligence and intentions. I must admit I felt a little sick after all the emotion. Definitely a movie that lets your mind go in as deep as you want to go. That’s why I go to the movies to be moved

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2022

Breathtaking scenery. Yes, a bit gloomy, but that made the humour all the more surprising, welcoming and effective. My date and I laughed out loud quite a lot. We both loved it. The actors were excellent - all of them. Definitely a film worth seeing.

User review rating: 1 November 27, 2022

Men are stupid, for anyone who missed the memo.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2022

Like a fable about the dark side of human beings but told with humor and great acting. I loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2022

One always like happy endings but this is a great portrayal of the unique character of some Irish people

User review rating: 1 November 17, 2022

Starts out as a charming period piece, then turns into a bloody, disturbing horror of a film. Not reccomended.

User review rating: 1 November 17, 2022

The Emperor has no clothes, common sense, logic or sympathy for any characters except for the animals. Pretentious, deliberately depressive, a purposeless "arthouse", gore fest that left this viewer wanting a story that at least made sense. The Irish scenery deserved better too comparing a similar setting to Ryan's Daughter which gave us a riveting, emotional stirring drama from start to finish. Banshees is at best silly, worthless and at it's worst an example of the paucity of great small independent films in 2022. Even the Irish Coast, great leading men couldn't save it from itself.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2022

Colin Farrell was outstanding as the Irish Simpleton. The movie is a parable for the Irish civil war but also explores the lack of depth in male friendships. It’s original and worth seeing.

User review rating: 3 November 09, 2022

A shocking portrayal of the reality of isolation and self absorption. Beautiful scenery, Great acting. Profoundly disturbing.

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2022

Hmmm….hard to rate this one. Excellent acting, some funny parts, but also dark and heartbreaking. I wouldn’t recommend it for a date night or a light night out, but that certainly doesn’t mean it’s not worth watching.

User review rating: 4 November 06, 2022

I've never seen anything quite like this...powerful

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2022

Great Story-Deep Layers -Soulful.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

Love watching Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell together in another movie. Some dark and heartbreaking parts, but I also heard the voices of my family through some of the conversations, those made me laugh. I do love that country and the Irish people. Spectacular scenery.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

takes me back to the old country A harsh time to live

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2022

friends are everything

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

take me back to simpler times

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

good story line

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

beautiful places

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2022

Emotional, dark, and smart. Lowest common denominator need not apply.

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2022

Don’t even waste your time

Change Location
* required!
* required!
Type the code: