Scotiabank Theatre Chinook

Calgary Showtimes

Scotiabank Theatre Chinook

6455 MacLeod Trail S.W. Calgary, AB, T2H 0K4 (403) 212-8994

General Ratings

General Experience

2.7 user rating

Concession

2.4 user rating

Cleanliness

2.5 user rating

Theatre Presentation

2.9 user rating

Customer Service

2.5 user rating

22 Reviews for Scotiabank Theatre Chinook

Sort by

Big Dot in Middle of Screen

Went to see John Wick 3 with my son this afternoon. Theatre 8 if anyone's curious. Throughout the movie, there was a bright white dot in the middle of the screen the size of a golf ball. No way they couldn't have known about it, yet they were OK charging people full admission. Kind of hard to get into the movie, kind of crappy for a company to think this is passable for their customers. I told a few people in line (to see John Wick 3) on my way out, and they were thankful.

Reviewed on: 06/28/2019

Overall Rating

2.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    3 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    3 user rating

They need Reno's done . .

Super dirty still popcorn from last movie on my seat ... and no recliners

Reviewed on: 06/17/2019

Overall Rating

1.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Charge way too much for fake butter

I was charged an extra $2.00 for topping they called butter. Then the topping leaked through the bag, staining my pants. What a shitty theater experience. Never going back.

Reviewed on: 12/18/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Entitled millenials at the concession

I was at the concession stand waiting in line. Two concession workers Raine and Kyle D. stood there talking to each other not serving anyone or asking if anyone needed help. Another cashier finally did usher me to his register. I mentioned to this cashier, "what's the matter with those two workers"? Got my popcorn and went to watch my movie. I was however impressed with the ticket taker, who was a young man with a disability. He was pleasant, direct and eager to take my ticket. Nice young man.

Reviewed on: 10/11/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Please hire a new cleaning co. that believes in "SOAP" with water!!

SOAP and water people. Hire a "great" cleaning co. The one you use now is slacking off SERIOUSLY!!!! YUCK !!

Reviewed on: 04/02/2018

Overall Rating

1.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    1 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Needs Modernisation

This cinema needs a major overhaul. It is grubby and tatty. It is not kept clean. The decor is outdated and the lobby is uninspiring. Considering that it is in a more central part of Calgary this should be a flagship place of visual entertainment. The other Cineplex cinemas are much better. Also like all the cinemas here the staff checking the tickets need to be more aware of children sneeking into showings that are not suitable for their age. Many a time have we gone to see a film with adult content and there are young children watching. They are usually noisy and disruptive and some are even with their parents. Mention this to the attendant and you get a shrug back because they don’t care. Chinook is bad for this. They need to have attendants at each door to the auditorium really.

Reviewed on: 01/14/2018

Overall Rating

2 user rating
  • General Experience

    2 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    2 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Cineplex does Not accept their gift cards!

Have received a number of xmas gift cards from some friends purchased from grocery and drug stores. Wanted to purchase Chinook Cineplex ticket package that includes popcorn (about $40.00) in freebies etc . Went to Chinook they said I had to purchase the Christmas tickets direct from them. (Two ticket agents and a supervisor). Could not use their gift cards. if you are planning to purchase a Cineplex gift card buy it direct from Cineplex if you want the Xmas Cineplex freebies Chinook Theatre is great .

Reviewed on: 12/22/2017

Overall Rating

3.6 user rating
  • General Experience

    4 user rating
  • Concession

    4 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    4 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    4 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Money

What a dump,pay big dollars to see the movie It with my wife,cost way to much for popcorn and a pop with a tiny bag of m and m's Washrooms are filthy and staff are limited Waste of time and the movie is crap

Reviewed on: 09/17/2017

Overall Rating

1.4 user rating
  • General Experience

    1 user rating
  • Concession

    1 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    2 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating

Excellent service all over.

Reviewed on: 07/25/2017

Overall Rating

5 user rating
  • General Experience

    5 user rating
  • Concession

    5 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    5 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    5 user rating
  • Customer Service

    5 user rating

no butter for popcorn for more than a month, dirty washrooms FOREVER

I have been going to this theatre for at least 10 years as I live almost next door. It obviously is bringing in money so why can they not hire staff to clean the washrooms? I know they have renos underway but no butter for the popcorn? WHAT????

Reviewed on: 05/23/2017

Overall Rating

2.2 user rating
  • General Experience

    3 user rating
  • Concession

    2 user rating
  • Cleanliness

    1 user rating
  • Theatre Presentation

    3 user rating
  • Customer Service

    2 user rating