Bryce Dallas Howard biography

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Bryce Dallas Howard

Date of Birth: March 2, 1981

The daughter of famed director and former child star Ron Howard and writer Cheryl Howard, Bryce Dallas Howard grew up in Connecticut and Westchester, N.Y. The oldest of four children, in her late teens, she played a small role in her father's film, Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000).

She then went on to study at New York University's Tisch School of the Arts, where she gained valuable theater experience. She played Marianne in the Roundabout's Broadway production of Tartuffe, Sally Platt in the Manhattan Theater Club's production House/Garden and Emily in the Bay Street Theater Festival's Our Town. Dallas also appeared in the independent film Book of Love, which screened at the Sundance Film Festival in January 2004.

After seeing her perform as Rosalind in the off-Broadway production As You Like It in April 2003, film director M. Night Shyamalan went backstage to introduce himself to Bryce. Three weeks later, he invited her to lunch and gave her the script for his upcoming movie, asking her to play the lead. She accepted the role of Ivy in The Village (2004), replacing Kirsten Dunst, who'd bowed out due to scheduling conflicts. Her performance was applauded by critics, and she received nominations for Breakthrough Performance from the Online Film Critics Society Awards and the MTV Movie Awards, and for Best Actress and Best Newcomer from the Empire Awards.

She took on the role of Grace in Manderlay (2005), directed by Lars von Trier, when Nicole Kidman dropped out. In 2005, she received a Rising Star Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival. Howard received a 2008 Golden Globe nomination for her work as Rosalind in the TV production As You Like It, directed by Kenneth Branagh. There's no question: Howard's career is on an exceptional route. Her father must be very proud.

In 2009, she was announced as the replacement to play the evil vampire Victoria in The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010), when the original actress had a scheduling conflict. More recently, she starred in Jurassic World (2015) Pete's Dragon (2016), the sci-fi series Black Mirror (2016) and the drama Gold (2016) with Matthew McConaughey.

Bryce and her husband, actor Seth Gabel, live in Los Angeles with their son Theo and daughter Beatrice, as well as several pets.

Bryce Dallas Howard Filmography


Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Genre:  Action/Adventure
Running Time:  128 min.
Release Date: June 22, 2018
VOD/Digital: September 4, 2018
DVD/Blu-ray: September 18, 2018

Current rating: Rating: 3.65
based on 392 votes and 105 reviews
Rate Movie | Read all user reviews

Cast: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Rafe Spall, Justice Smith, Daniella Pineda, James Cromwell, Toby Jones, Ted Levine, B.D. Wong, Geraldine Chaplin, Jeff Goldblum