Jojo Rabbit

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.68 / 5

User Rating User rating: 4.68

Based on 64 votes and 28 reviews


  • User rating: 4.68 80.65%
  • User rating: 4.68 12.90%
  • User rating: 4.68 3.23%
  • User rating: 4.68 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.68 3.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 28 of 28

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2019

One of the most thoughtful films to have come out in years. The real message that saves Jo Jo in the end is his mothers which comes back to him that 'Love is more powerful than hate - it is the most powerful thing in the world'. The last half of the film is where the deeper question arises which is: Not if Jo Jo is capable of loving others and the world but are they capable of loving him. A great Holiday film and a thoughtful meditation on Germany in the 1950's when Germans had to try to figure out who they were after two decades of being lost to self. BY far the best film I have seen in the past 5 years.

User review rating: 3 December 03, 2019

I don’t know how I feel about this movie. My parents went through this during the war and it wasn’t funny. I know many Germans didn’t agree with the third Reich but couldn’t speak out for fear of death. One way of dealing with pain is with humor and I think this film is avoiding the pain with humor.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

A wonderful film that reminds one to trust ones inner compass and never to forget to be counterculture one has to take a stand the opposite of ones media and the larger trends where society is moving towards. Jo Jo is everyones story as we ultimately are the only caretakers of our soul. Jo Jo Rabbit is a reminder that unless we are adding to the love and freedom in the world we are creating a cage.

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2019

Such a well written movie with great characters. Whenever Taika Waititi puts out a new movie, its one I have to see.

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2019

If you want to laugh and cry in a film this is the film you need to see. The acting and story is beyond anything I have seen in years.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2019

The narrowest of genres. A wartime comedy. But, through humour you see absurdities much more clearly. Those absurdities being a mindless devotion or a fanatical obsession. This film demonstrated those qualities with a perfect note.Taika Waititi has made another wonderful poignant film.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

I cried at the end of the film it was so powerful. The story reminded me so much of a friend of mine named Alfons Heck who passed away over two decades ago but had been one of the leads of the Hitler Youth and spent much of the rest of his life touring with a Jewish friend of his who survived the camp. Heck himself lived much of this story though Jo Jo is a composite of many voices and makes it clear how odd the late 40's and 1950's were in Germany when the emerging German young adults had to make sense of their ideal of self. If Alfons Heck were alive today he would ask every parent to take their son or daughter to this film.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

I wish everyone could could see this film. The best film I have seen in many years and a film that will be considered a classic. Jo Jo is a bit of all of us, often born into a world where our beliefs and ideology is stamped on us by our community and where we are pushed and shoved to forward an ideology that more often or not is not one in our best interest. We see this everywhere to today from the police battling students in Hong Kong to the highest levels of the Fbi and the NSA where the Jim Comey's and James Clapper's spin narratives that are untrue. Jo Jo in this story gets the name rabbit because his own moral compass points in another direction and he learns to run like a rabbit until the end when the rabbit finds he is trapped and his own hole is being invaded and where the rabbit finds his courage and awakens from a bad dream into a nightmare but one where he finds his own footing and lives a life that is his own and not someone elses. Perhaps the greatest point of the film is a strong message to the young is to find your own compass in life and don't borrow somebody elses and trust your gut and higher self and be prepared to be the one who swims against the current because to be counterculture in anytime is to oppose the state and it's media and educational institutions. Jo Jo rabbit will make a fine novel and a play and hopefully very soon I will be able to enjoy both. A must see film for young people.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

Best movie of TIFF

User review rating: 4 November 22, 2019

Not having knowledge of the story before settling into my seat, I was at first sick to my stomac during the training scene of those beautiful, innocent youngsters. But then the beauty of the story unfolded and the true meaning of love; putting your life on the line for others. Not a commonplace event. Hitler, needless to say, was a hoot. Finely told saga we are all too familiar with. Let's hope for an end to war and a resurgence of acceptance.

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2019

Horrifying to see a child forced to kill a rabbit, being bullied, people hung in the streets, and yes, I know this really happened, but to see it made into a comedy was more than we could handle. My friend and I left after seeing these scenes early on, followed by another woman. Couldn't make it longer to see the fine acting.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2019

Amazing movie

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2019

A film like Jo Jo Rabbit reminds me of many of the indy films out of Germany in the 80's and 90's but it caught me by surprise by not being a German film at all. Not since the film The Tin Drum have we seen anything this good. One cannot help but fall in love with Jo Jo since he is boyhood and humanity in one bundle. We all know Jo Jo is really a soft rabbit and ready to love and run free but it is not so much a question if Jo Jo can accept and love that which is different but can a world learn to love Jo Jo and see that he to is a human being. This might well be the crux of the issue as acceptance of differences has to flow both ways, a lesson we still have yet to learn in America in 2019, and for that matter, the entire world. A masterpiece every parent should take their kids to see.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2019

It's natural for people to joke and parody the very things that scare us the most, or to ridicule the vilest of people. And that is precisely what JoJo Rabbit does so well. From the opening to a German version of "A Hard Day's Night", accompanied by archival footage of throngs of people screaming at Hitler, you know you're in for a lot of fun. The film doesn't try to minimize the true horror of WWII, nor does it try to get into the Holocaust. Instead, it focuses on the last year of the war in Germany, as seen through the eyes of a 10 year-old boy, who is surrounded by discouraged soldiers, Germans who long for the war to end and children being encouraged to "die for Hitler". In other words, it's the theater of the absurd. And this is why, Jojo's imaginary playmate - an incredibly animated version of Hitler - fits right in. Don't look for any deep meanings here. This is simply a boy trying to make sense of the nonsensical.

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2019

A fun and entertaining movie from start to finish . Well acted as well. A type of movie you might want to see again .

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2019

A satire on war, nationalism, and the brainwashing of children. It's a dark comedy where a sort of imagined fun-loving Hitler turns bad in the end, and a drunken German soldier (Sam Rockwell) turns good. A 10 year old Nazi enthusiast is changed by the Jewish teenager being hidden by the boy's liberal, humanitarian mother. The child actor is brilliant!! GuruBob says,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,83/100

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2019

I'd give it 10 stars if I could. It's rare that a movie of this quality comes around. Mainly a comedy with only a few distressing scenes which pass quickly. This is not a historically accurate documentary but is a fictional account of one boy's attempt to deal with the times he has been born into. Perfect casting of all the major characters makes it all the better. If this film doesn't win an Academy Award then it proves that Hollywood is corrupt.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

It very epic, tikita waitika can do no wrong

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Loved every minute. Funny, touching, well written, well cast, and well acted. Truly heartwarming. I rarely say "must see in theatres" but this film deserves it as it's beautifully shot.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2019

Truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. Brilliant job of taking a very difficult subject and focusing on the human aspect of living in a time of great uncertainty.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

This movie is a "10"

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

This is one of the BEST movies of the year or the last few years.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2019

Really good movie. Saw it with my 2 girls 21 and 17 and they loved it as well. Funny, sad, well acted, all around a great movie to see with a great story.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2019

Good movie to watch with a packed audience. All the actors are superb. The difficult subject matter weaves into comedy and seriousness effortlessly. The musical choices were also well done.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2019

My 21 yo son texted that he ‘cried like a man’ at the end of this movie. He said it is among the best he he’s seen. When he told me that a friend of JoJo Rabbit “stole the show” I was curious if the movie might be somehow a comedy that normalized or was sympathetic to the racist nationalism that led to WWII. He said, “No, not at all. It was sympathetic to the real lives of people who actually lived and died in that horrible time.” The parallels to life today are frightening. That kids and families all over are experiencing the same realities in similar violence is sobering.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2019

Genius writing! Awesome satire of the Natzi plague. The little historic details weaved into this script are as good as it gets. Movie Entertainment at it's best, look out Oscar her comes JoJo.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2019

So funny, but surprisingly, quite heartwarming as well. So many hilarious performances, from Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi as an imaginary version of Hitler, Alfie Allen, Sam Rockwell, who really surprises in his role, and really, the entire cast.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2019

This is one of the best movies I have seen ..... ever! The writing is fantastic acting amazing and the comedic-dramatic balance is perfect. Everyone in high school and up should see this as a reminder of what happens when small minds, lies and fake news are allowed to fester and spread. This is a most fitting reminder of what comes next if we don't correct our current course.

Change Location
* required!
* required!