ALL THEATRES ARE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE, DUE TO COVID-19.

The Promise

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.84 / 5

User Rating User rating: 4.84

Based on 574 votes and 147 reviews


  • User rating: 4.84 91.95%
  • User rating: 4.84 5.08%
  • User rating: 4.84 0.42%
  • User rating: 4.84 0.42%
  • User rating: 4.84 2.12%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 101 to 147 of 147

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie every one should watch it

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

A must see movie!!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing !

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Totally wonderful portrayal of Armenian genocide. Great casting, excellent follow through.

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2017

Two thumbs up. Great film and worth going to see on the big screen. Thrilling to see Star Wars hottie Oscar Isaac in the lead in a much meatier, more intense role! Nice chemistry with him the co-stars Charlotte Le Bon from 100 Foot Journey and Christian Bale, who will always be the kid from Empire of the Sun to me (he is great in just about anything). Given the setting and the subject matter this movie is compelling but hard to watch at times. There are moments that show that how chilling these events from a century ago foretold WWII and resonate in the mess that is Europe/the Middle East today, just turn on the news. You don't have to be Armenian to be moved by this, just human. Be warned, bring a couple of Kleenex. A girl in my row at the theatre was bawling her eyes out. An important story that deserves to be heard.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie… must see!! Could not stop crying at the end. I am Armenian myself and the movie did reveal in general what happened during that period, however it is far worse than what was filmed in the movie. My father used to tell me stories and it was all horrific and no one could ever imagine that it could happen!! Yes the Turks till this moment, deny the Genocide of Armenian Christian. They wanted to exterminate, eliminate and wipe out our nation (Armenian Christians). We are here still and we want to show the whole world that we still EXIST and will reveal the truth about the history and what happened was cruel and not describable. Proud being Armenian Christian.

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie… must see!! Could not stop crying at the end. I am Armenian myself and the movie did reveal in general what happened during that period, however it is far worse than what was filmed in the movie. My father used to tell me stories and it was all horrific and no one could ever imagine that it could happen!! Yes the Turks till this moment, deny the Genocide of Armenian Christian. They wanted to exterminate, eliminate and wipe out our nation (Armenian Christians). We are here still and we want to show the whole world that we still EXIST and will reveal the truth about the history and what happened was cruel and not describable. Proud being Armenian Christian. The Islamic Leadership countries are still doing the same and no one is doing anything to stop them. Wonder when!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent movie and a story that needs to be told...don't let the movie critics so so reviews stop you from seeing this well done film about the systematic murder of Christians by the Turks of the Ottoman Empire. The Germans had their hands dirty in the Armenian Genocide and to this day the Turks (Islamists) deny it ever occurred.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent ! Historically true story, very touching movie. You must see it.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Top notch performance from Oscar Isaac and Christian Bale. This amazing historical movie depicts what's still happening today in different part of the world: the genocide of Christians under Muslim rules(Islamic) and the obliteration of people. EXCELLENT movie!

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

The film should make us all proud as Canadians. US gov't archives are full of eye witness accounts of diplomats, missionaries, doctors, nurses, relief workers but the Canadian gov't was first to " call a spade a spade ".

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

I wish they teach this horrible crime in schools. I know some Armenians whose grandparents don't want to talk too much about this incident,

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

This movie was so inspiring. What an amazing group of people to have gone through this horror but to have survived. I wish this piece of history were taught in schools.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Incredible movie! So many people didn't realize what the Armenians had to go through under the last days of the Ottoman Empire and then "modern" Turkey. Must See. Genocide of the Christians under Muslim rules are happening again today, 102 years after this Genocide.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Amazing movie ..

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

An incident which represents one of the few pockets of resistance ( against the unarmed mobilization and liquidation of able body Armenians with the pretext of WWI ).

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2017

Great movie, a must-see... Spreading some light onto the darkest pages of human history, the Armenian genocide in Turkey in 1915...The truth has one face... The more people and countries recognize and condemn the Armenian genocide, the higher the chances of preventing new atrocities and genocides against humanity...

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Fantastic movie, true to history, excellent acting

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Amazing movie great history must see

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

perfect movie,

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

I know many people who's grandparents were from that place. Glad this movie came out. I don't trust people from Turkey.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

What and important historical story to tell, many people today do not know the history of this race. The story of Turkey attempting to annihilate the Armeian people. This is much like what is happening today in Turkey. Everyone should see this movie. it is horrific, touching, lovely, sad....it has all the human emotional ingredients.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

What a beautiful, historically tragic true story of the plight of the Areminan people. People need to see this movie. it is moving, beautifully done, a tale of love, sorrow, war, survival....much like what is happening in Syria. Excellent, a must see!

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Wow! Love the cast! Must see ??

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

must see Great movie....

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Amazing! Learned much of real history, and watched a great movie.

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2017

After seeing this film , just ask any Armenian " were your relatives born in Asia Minor and what happened to them ".

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Great movie crafted brilliantly.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

A brilliantly crafted film. Fantastic movie.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Must see!!! Very well made movie.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

Dark themes as the Armenian genocide plays out against the backdrop of WW I. Countering are love, family, self-sacrifice, and the enduring human spirit. A brilliantly crafted film....guru bob

User review rating: 4 April 20, 2017

A compelling story the world needs to know. Great acting.

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2017

Difficult to process, this wasn't just a movie. The Armenian people endured the unimaginable.

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2017

So sad. I didn't know Turks were this barbaric. Very well made movie.

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2017

a must see for all

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2017

MUST SEE!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2017

LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS MOVIE !

User review rating: 5 April 17, 2017

A fantastic movie that tells the tragedy that armenian people had in 1915.

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2017

Similar to the Titanic - this movie illustrates a love story while it portrays a historic tragedy. Well done!

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2017

Amazing!

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2017

Grate movie,don't miss it!

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2017

Great movie!! Saw it in Toronto and can't wait to see it again as it premiers nationwide on April 21, 2017

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

Amazing cast!

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2017

Great global plotline/theme, fine acting, heart-wrenching...Don't miss it!

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2017

Fantastic cast! This gem headlined the Toronto International Film Festival and the reception was incredible. Standing ovations at every showing!

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2016

great movie saw it at TIFF in Toronto fantastic cast and directing. A sure winner

Change Location
* required!
* required!