Anne with an E, Cardinal lead 2019 Canadian Screen Awards

By Tribute on April 1, 2019 | Leave a Comment

Anne With an EThe Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television concluded its week of festivities with the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards that aired Sunday night on CBC.

Contrary to previous years, the Broadcast Gala went hostless this time around. The awards show, which was aired live from Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, consciously made this decision as a way to experiment with the ceremony format.

The drama series Anne with an E, based on the classic novel Anne of Green Gables, tied with the Ontario-filmed crime series Cardinal: Blackfly, each taking home seven awards.

Other highlights of the evening include Deepa Mehta receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award, The Kids in the Hall winning the Academy Icon Award and Stephan James picking up the inaugural Radius Award.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television administers the awards, which honor Canadian talent in film, television and digital media in 135 categories. Check out the full list of winners in both film and television below. ~Emily Chavez



Best Motion Picture
A Colony | Une colonie — Fanny Drew, Sarah Mannering

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Théodore Pellerin — Family First | Chien de garde

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Émilie Bierre — A Colony | Une colonie

Achievement in Direction
Jasmin Mozaffari — Firecrackers

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary
Sponsor | Rogers Group of Funds
Anthropocene: The Human Epoch — Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier, Edward Burtynsky


Best Comedy Series
Schitt’s Creek (CBC)
Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, Ben Feigin

Best Drama Series
Anne with an E (CBC)
Miranda de Pencier, Moira Walley-Beckett

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada (CTV)
John Brunton, Barbara Bowlby, Mark Lysakowski, Mike Bickerton, Sarah James, Kyle Martin, Robyn Bigue, Ann Camilleri, Guy Clarkson, Catherine Petersen

Best Lead Actor, Drama Program or Limited Series
Cardinal: Blackfly Season (CTV)
Billy Campbell

Best Lead Actress, Drama Program or Limited Series
Cardinal: Blackfly Season (CTV)
Karine Vanasse

Best Lead Actor, Comedy
Letterkenny (Crave)
Jared Keeso

Best Lead Actress, Comedy
Schitt’s Creek (CBC)
Catherine O’Hara

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series
Bad Blood (City)
Kim Coates

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series
Anne with an E (CBC)
Amybeth McNulty

Best Writing, Comedy
Letterkenny – Letterkenny Spelling Bee (Crave)
Jared Keeso, Jacob Tierney


Academy Icon Award
The Kids in the Hall

Lifetime Achievement Award
Deepa Mehta

Earle Grey Award
Mary Walsh

Radius Award Presented by MADE | NOUS
Stephan James

Cogeco Fund Audience Choice Award
Dominique Provost-Chalkley


Comments & Discussion

  1. There are no comments yet, why not be the first?

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Antigone wins best picture at 2020 Canadian Screen Awards

May 29, 2020 | Leave a Comment

The refugee drama Antigone won best motion picture at the 2020 Canadian Screen Awards. Check out the list of the winners of the major film and TV categories.

A Day in the Life of Earth wins annual Rob Stewart Award

May 27, 2020 | 2 Comments

The third annual Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series at the Canadian Screen Awards goes to A Day in the Life of Earth.

Rob Stewart Award goes to Equus: Story of the Horse

March 27, 2019 | 1 Comment

The Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series went to Equus: Story of the Horse last night at the Canadian Screen Awards.

 Change Location