Genie nominations unveiled

This past year has been exceptional for Canadian cinema with films like A Dangerous Method and Monsieur Lazhar earning considerable praise from critics and audiences everywhere — that’s why this year’s Genie Awards are sure to be a tight race. The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced the nominees for the upcoming awards at a press conference held in Toronto earlier this morning. The romantic drama Café de Flore by Quebec director Jean-Marc Vallée topped the list with an impressive 13 nods, while A Dangerous Method received 11. Several Hollywood A-listers are also up for nominations, including Michael Fassbender, Michelle Williams, Viggo Mortensen, and Rachel Weisz. “There is huge respect for our Canadian creators, which attracts the talent,” said Helga Stephenson, interim CEO of the Academy, following today’s announcement. “2011 was a vintage year for Canadian films.” The 32nd Annual Genie Awards will be held at The Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto on Thursday March 8, 2012 and will be broadcast on CBC Television at 8 p.m. Below is the full list of Genie nominees:

Best Motion Picture
A Dangerous Method
Café de Flore
Monsieur Lazhar
The Whistleblower

Achievement in Direction
David CronenbergA Dangerous Method
Steven Silver – The Bang Bang Club
John-Marc Vallée – Café de Flore
Philippe Falardeau – Monsieur Lazhar
Larysa Kondracki – The Whistleblower

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Fellag – Monsieur Lazhar
Garret DillahuntOliver Sherman
Michael Fassbender – A Dangerous Method
Patrick Huard – Starbuck
Scott Speedman Edwin Boyd

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Antoine Bertrand – Starbuck
Kevin Durand – Edwin Boyd
Marin Gerrier – Café de Flore
Taylor KitschThe Bang Bang Club
Viggo Mortensen – A Dangerous Method

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Catherine De Lean – Nuit #1
Pascale Monpetit – The Girl in the White Coat
Vanessa Paradis – Café de Flore
Rachel Weisz – The Whistleblower
Michelle Williams – Take This Waltz

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Roxana Condurache – The Whistleblower
Hélène Florent – Café de Flore
Julie Lebreton – Starbuck
Sophie Nelisse – Monsieur Lazhar
Charlotte Sullivan – Edwin Boyd

Achievement in Art Direction/ Production Design
Jean Becotte – Funkytown
Aidan Leroux, Rob Hepburn – Edwin Boyd
James McAteer – A Dangerous Method
Patrice Vermette – Café de Flore
Emelia Weavind – The Bang Bang Club

Achievement in Cinematography
Miroslaw Baszak, C.S.C. – The Bang Bang Club
Pierre Cottereau – Café de Flore
Jon Joffin – Daydream Nation
Jean-François Lord – Snow & Ashes
Ronald Plante – Monsieur Lazhar

Achievement in Costume Design
Denise Cronenberg – A Dangerous Method
Farnaz Khaki-Sadigh – Afghan Luke
Ginette Magny, Emmanuelle Youchnovski – Café de Flore
Heather Neale – Keyhole
Marie-Chantale Vaillancourt – Funkytown

Achievement in Editing
Jean-François Bergeron – The Year Dolly Parton Was My Mom
Michael Czarnecki – In Darkness
Patrick Demers – Jaloux
Stéphane Lafleur – Monsieur Lazhar
Ronald Sanders, C.C.E. A.C.E. – A Dangerous Method

Achievement in Make-up
Christiane Fattori, Frederic Marin – Café de Flore
Amber Makar – Amazon Falls
Virginie Paré – BumRush
Tammy Lou Pate – Snow & Ashes
Leslie Ann Sebert, David R. Beecroft – Take This Waltz

Achievement in Music – Original Score
Ramachandra Borcar – Jaloux
Mychael Danna – The Whistleblower
Martin Léon – Monsieur Lazhar
Philip Miller – The Bang Bang Club
Howard Shore – A Dangerous Method

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Jay Brannan – Cloudburst – “My Love My Love”
Carole Facal – Starbuck – “Quelque part”
Malajube – Good Neighbours“Oeil pour Oeil”
Steven Page – French Immersion“A Different Sort of Solitude”
Jean Robitaille, Steve Gallucio – Funkytown – “Waiting for your Touch”

Achievement in Overall Sound
Marécages / Wetlands
Monsieur Lazhar
Café de Flore
The Bang Bang Club
A Dangerous Method

Achievement in Sound Editing
You Are Here
Marécages / Wetlands
A Dangerous Method
Café de Flore
In Darkness

Original Screenplay
Anne Émond – Nuit #1
Eilis Kirwan, Larysa Kondracki – The Whistleblower
Ken Scott, Martin Petit – Starbuck
Jean-Marc Vallee – Café de Flore
Ryan Ward, Matthew Heiti – Son of the Sunshine

Adapted Screenplay
Phillipe Falardeau – Monsieur Lazhar
Ryan Redford – Oliver Sherman
David Shamoon – In Darkness
Steven Silver – The Bang Bang Club

Achievement in Visual Effects
A Dangerous Method
Snow & Ashes
Café de Flore
Edwin Boyd

Best Feature Length Documentary
Beauty Day

Family Portrait in Black and White
The Guantanamo Trap
La Nuit, Elles Dansent / At Night, They Dance
Wiebo’s War

Best Short Documentary
75 Watts


Best Live Action Short Drama
Doubles With Slight Pepper

La Ronde

Best Animated Short
La Cité Entre Les Murs / Inner City
Muybridge’s Strings
Wild Life

Claude Jutra Award
Anne Émond – Nuit #1

Golden Reel Award
Starbuck – André Rouleau

Share this article:

Comments & Discussion

  1. There are no comments yet, why not be the first?

Join The Conversation:

Similar Articles

Trending Articles

Current Poll

  • What's your favorite Netflix original series?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...

You Might Also Like

Close Menu